WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight (http://www.Wattflyer.com/forums/index.php)
-   Power Systems (http://www.Wattflyer.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   Hacker A60-6XS and Castle Edge 100 (http://www.Wattflyer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=73571)

frankmo 04-17-2014 12:26 AM

Hacker A60-6XS and Castle Edge 100
 
I just purchased the above combo as recommended by Aero-Model. I just read in RC Groups that the Edge controllers are not working properly with 28 pole motors. This is listed as a long term problem that is still not resolved. I definitely want to get maximum performance.

I have not opened the Edge box yet, and wonder if anyone here can give me any advice or info. I'm pretty sure I can return it for a different controller.

Thanks, Frank

kyleservicetech 04-17-2014 12:43 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by frankmo (Post 945620)
I just purchased the above combo as recommended by Aero-Model. I just read in RC Groups that the Edge controllers are not working properly with 28 pole motors. This is listed as a long term problem that is still not resolved. I definitely want to get maximum performance.

I have not opened the Edge box yet, and wonder if anyone here can give me any advice or info. I'm pretty sure I can return it for a different controller.

Thanks, Frank

I think CC has a firmware update for this: There are some questions as to whether the problem has been resolved.
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1959809

http://www.castlecreations.com/downl...h-phoenix.html

frankmo 05-15-2014 03:43 PM

thank you
 
Thanks for your reply Dennis. That was the article I had seen. My thank you was delayed as I had heard a software fix was coming.

I gave up after 3 weeks and am getting a Hacker X-110.

Although they weren't able to solve the Castle problem, Aero-Model was very very helpful throughout. I had no problem with them exchanging the controllers.

A couple of years ago you helped me wire an A123 pack for a Great Planes Waco, which has been doing very well.

At the time you were big into Anderson Power Poles. I now have quite a few of them on hand, and used them throughout the Waco.

I see you have found an improved version. I think I'll order some of them. I do wonder though at what point is the Anderson version not enough?

kyleservicetech 05-15-2014 06:37 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by frankmo (Post 948459)
Thanks for your reply Dennis. That was the article I had seen. My thank you was delayed as I had heard a software fix was coming.

I gave up after 3 weeks and am getting a Hacker X-110.

Although they weren't able to solve the Castle problem, Aero-Model was very very helpful throughout. I had no problem with them exchanging the controllers.

A couple of years ago you helped me wire an A123 pack for a Great Planes Waco, which has been doing very well.

At the time you were big into Anderson Power Poles. I now have quite a few of them on hand, and used them throughout the Waco.

I see you have found an improved version. I think I'll order some of them. I do wonder though at what point is the Anderson version not enough?

I'm running my Allied Electronics Anderson Power Pole connectors at a constant 55 Amps with no problems.

We used those original connectors at work for decades before the cheaper versions came out. As a unit, the cheaper version will plug into the Allied version. But the individual pins are NOT interchangeable.

The original units along with the Allied Electronics units were rated at 45 Amps. The cheaper units are rated at 31 Amps. I've melted the cheaper unit while carrying a constant 50 Amps.
http://www.te.com/catalog/pn/en/53892-4?RQPN=53892-4

After looking around and around and around, Allied Electronics is the only place I could find that still carries the 0.035 inch thick copper pins with silver plating.

I'm running my Allied connectors at a measured maximum value of 75 Amps on my giant scale models with no problems. IMHO, go much over that, and you need to go to #10 wire, and those EC5 or similar type connectors.

Take a look at my thread on this connector.
http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=64539

http://www.alliedelec.com/catalog/pf.aspx?fn=1144.pdf (Note the different colors available for these units.)

frankmo 05-15-2014 08:03 PM

power poles
 
I did read that thread, which is how I found out about the better poles.

I just ordered some and will use them in future projects.

My query though was to ask if the 45 amp Anderson poles are still ok if you're not having any problems or heat issues.

The Waco is an A60-16M with 10s2p A123 and draws not more than 80 amps. It uses your wiring diagram. It would be a big job to replace the existing Anderson poles.

Thanks, Frank

kyleservicetech 05-15-2014 10:44 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by frankmo (Post 948476)
I did read that thread, which is how I found out about the better poles.

I just ordered some and will use them in future projects.

My query though was to ask if the 45 amp Anderson poles are still ok if you're not having any problems or heat issues.

The Waco is an A60-16M with 10s2p A123 and draws not more than 80 amps. It uses your wiring diagram. It would be a big job to replace the existing Anderson poles.

Thanks, Frank

Hi Frank
I'm running both a Hacker A60-16M on a 12S2P A123 and a Hacker A60-5S on a 10S2P A123 pack. Both are pulling a 19X12 APC-E wide blade prop. Current pulled by both motors is on the order of 75 Amps at full throttle.

I've only got about 30 flights on the A60-5S, its a new airplane this year. But, the A60-16M motor is on its fourth year, in two different airplanes, using the same exact 12S2P A123 pack.

Only had one issue with the Allied APP connectors on the four year old setup. The "top pin" of the arming battery connector was showing a little tarnishing from the arcing while plugging it into the ESC. I just re-terminated it for the heck of it.

frankmo 05-15-2014 11:17 PM

power poles
 
Thanks much again. You sure have been a big help to me.

kyleservicetech 05-16-2014 12:37 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by frankmo (Post 948494)
Thanks much again. You sure have been a big help to me.

You're welcome!

Just let us know how it flies when you get everything together. :D

Just a note here: If this is your first multi-kilowatt power setup, be absolutely certain to check your transmitter for the ability to program in a switch for a motor throttle kill function. Believe me, you don't want an accidental start up of a Hacker A60 class motor.

frankmo 06-30-2014 05:35 PM

flies great
 
Sorry for the belated reply. I now have several flights on the 76" Sebart Sukhoi, and it flies really nice.

The 1st flight had barely adequate power, short flight time, and the battery got hot. I had used the suggested Mejlick 20x11 wide prop.

I switched to an APCE 20x10, and it flies great with no excessive heat. I've flown a lot of good planes in competition, and this is one of the best.

My only disappointment was I tried to go light with the 6xs, but ended up having to add 6 ounces to the nose. I'm back in Wisconsin now, and plan to move the 2.5 ounce elevator servos from the tail into the wing area to see if I can get rid of the extra weight.

Even with the extra weight it flies really nice.

Thanks again, Frank


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:33 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 WattfFlyer.com
RCU Eflight HQ

Page generated in 0.09170 seconds with 13 queries