WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight (http://www.Wattflyer.com/forums/index.php)
-   RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros (http://www.Wattflyer.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=68)
-   -   Futaba + Spektrum???? (http://www.Wattflyer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=73592)

LSP972 04-19-2014 04:53 PM

Futaba + Spektrum????
 
I don't want to seem like an idiot here… but I just read something that has me wondering.

I fly Futaba stuff; mainly a 12Z, with a few models still on an old 9Z upgraded to 2.4 but still have the 72mHz module. I used to fly JR, and know that you canno mix the two on 72mHz. So I assumed the same was true of 2.4gHz.

Then I read just now, in the manual of the E-Flite UMX Radian mini-glider… "When using a Spektrum DSM with a Futaba transmitter, you must reverse the throttle channel and re-bind."

WHAT??? You can fly a Spektrum receiver with a Futaba transmitter on 2.4?

I'm relatively new to 2.4, so sorry if this is common knowledge. And apologies for not searching… but I want to fly this thing today, and if I can set it up on my 12Z, I can not open the DX5E transmitter only I bought for it and get a full refund.

.

xmech2k 04-19-2014 04:59 PM

It would have to have a DSM module. You can't mix 2.4 'languages'.

JetPlaneFlyer 04-19-2014 05:00 PM

Yes, Spektrum compatible DSM2 / DSMX modules are available for other brands of radio.

For instance: http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...mpatible_.html

LSP972 04-19-2014 05:48 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by xmech2k (Post 945901)
It would have to have a DSM module. You can't mix 2.4 'languages'.

That's what I thought; sounded too good to be true.

Thanks.

.

LSP972 04-19-2014 05:52 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetPlaneFlyer (Post 945902)
Yes, Spektrum compatible DSM2 / DSMX modules are available for other brands of radio.

For instance: http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...mpatible_.html

Interesting. But the DX5e transmitter by itself was only 50 bucks... So I think I'll stay with apples/apples and limes/limes.

Thanks, guys, I learned a few things here.

.

JetPlaneFlyer 04-19-2014 06:14 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by LSP972 (Post 945916)
Interesting. But the DX5e transmitter by itself was only 50 bucks... So I think I'll stay with apples/apples and limes/limes.

But with a DX5e you don't get the channels, programming features and model memories etc that your higher end transmitters offer. All of those 'fancy features' are available if you use the module option.

fhhuber 04-19-2014 07:12 PM

The whole purose of the module (or Tactic's "Any Link") is to get you using that brand of RX, which makes it more likely that you'll eventually buy that brand of TX.

I like "RX-Ready" better than "Bind N Fly" because it allows the purchaser to use the radio system of their choice without having to figure out what to do with an RX they don't want.

JetPlaneFlyer 04-19-2014 07:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by fhhuber (Post 945930)
I like "RX-Ready" better than "Bind N Fly" because it allows the purchaser to use the radio system of their choice without having to figure out what to do with an RX they don't want.

Cant do that with Ultra-Micros as the OP is talking about, as they have integrated 'brick' type receiver/ESC/servo units that don't come in Futaba flavour.

kyleservicetech 04-19-2014 08:21 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by LSP972 (Post 945900)
I don't want to seem like an idiot here… but I just read something that has me wondering.

I fly Futaba stuff; mainly a 12Z, with a few models still on an old 9Z upgraded to 2.4 but still have the 72mHz module. I used to fly JR, and know that you canno mix the two on 72mHz. So I assumed the same was true of 2.4gHz.

Then I read just now, in the manual of the E-Flite UMX Radian mini-glider… "When using a Spektrum DSM with a Futaba transmitter, you must reverse the throttle channel and re-bind."

WHAT??? You can fly a Spektrum receiver with a Futaba transmitter on 2.4?

I'm relatively new to 2.4, so sorry if this is common knowledge. And apologies for not searching… but I want to fly this thing today, and if I can set it up on my 12Z, I can not open the DX5E transmitter only I bought for it and get a full refund.

.

Yeah, as others have indicated in this thread, you can not mix transmitter and receivers between brands. It's like trying to mix English and Spanish. Both are communication types, but they don't mix.

Should you be looking to buy a new radio in the near or far future, here is what people are using. As for my club membership, it's 98% Spektrum radios.

Spektrum has one of the best warranties in the business.

http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=71276

solentlife 04-19-2014 08:50 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by fhhuber (Post 945930)
The whole purose of the module (or Tactic's "Any Link") is to get you using that brand of RX, which makes it more likely that you'll eventually buy that brand of TX.

I like "RX-Ready" better than "Bind N Fly" because it allows the purchaser to use the radio system of their choice without having to figure out what to do with an RX they don't want.

I'm also of the same mind ... I don't like being told what brand I have to buy ... I like to choose myself.

But it's a brilliant marketing strategy - the BnF concept. Not much use though if you don't want or don't like Spekie gear !!

But of course being a 9x & 9xr user - DSM is now available to be fitted to them ... courtesy of that big Model House in the East ...

Nigel

JetPlaneFlyer 04-19-2014 10:16 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by solentlife (Post 945946)
But of course being a 9x & 9xr user - DSM is now available to be fitted to them ... courtesy of that big Model House in the East ...

Nigel

If you can find a 9XR that works;)

And if I recall correctly, it's not a solution for the Horizon Hobby branded Ultra Micros such as the OP is talking about, because the channel assignment is wrong and cant be changed at the RX end due to the 'brick' type Rx.

LSP972 04-20-2014 02:22 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetPlaneFlyer (Post 945922)
But with a DX5e you don't get the channels, programming features and model memories etc that your higher end transmitters offer. All of those 'fancy features' are available if you use the module option.

Yeah, this DX5e is certainly a bare-bones radio. But no worries, as this little three-channel baby model "doan need no steenkin' fancy features"!

As you pointed out, the module probably would not work with the special micro electronics anyway. They got you coming and going.

.

Larry3215 04-20-2014 02:34 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by LSP972 (Post 945974)
Yeah, this DX5e is certainly a bare-bones radio. But no worries, as this little three-channel baby model "doan need no steenkin' fancy features"!

As you pointed out, the module probably would not work with the special micro electronics anyway. They got you coming and going.

.

If you put a Spektrum module in your Futaba tx, then any Spektrum rx or bind and fly "brick" will work just fine. It makes your Futaba into a Spektrum tx :)

LSP972 04-20-2014 02:37 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by fhhuber (Post 945930)
The whole purose of the module (or Tactic's "Any Link") is to get you using that brand of RX, which makes it more likely that you'll eventually buy that brand of TX.

Horizon is bad about this; very few of their electric models come with out a receiver.

In this case, the thing is so darn tiny a regular receiver (even a park flyer size) would be too large. I can see the electronics package just behind the motor; the whole thing (receiver and ESC) is about two-thirds the size of a postage stamp.

And the servos are itty-bitty... and linear type!. Haven't seen that in I cannot remember when. Noisy, too… they make one heck of a racket. You can almost hear them above the screech of the brushed motor...:rolleyes:

I somehow doubt the longevity of this thing.

But you gotta hand it to Horizon. Who else could make a normal, coherent man spend $90 on a toy model airplane that has, at MOST, ten bucks worth of materials in it, and then plunk down another $50 for a transmitter that he will never use for any other purpose, and in fact is of a brand he has no particular use for???

Those guys are genuises.

.

kyleservicetech 04-20-2014 03:49 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by LSP972 (Post 945978)
Horizon is bad about this; very few of their electric models come with out a receiver.

In this case, the thing is so darn tiny a regular receiver (even a park flyer size) would be too large. I can see the electronics package just behind the motor; the whole thing (receiver and ESC) is about two-thirds the size of a postage stamp.

And the servos are itty-bitty... and linear type!. Haven't seen that in I cannot remember when. Noisy, too… they make one heck of a racket. You can almost hear them above the screech of the brushed motor...:rolleyes:

I somehow doubt the longevity of this thing.

But you gotta hand it to Horizon. Who else could make a normal, coherent man spend $90 on a toy model airplane that has, at MOST, ten bucks worth of materials in it, and then plunk down another $50 for a transmitter that he will never use for any other purpose, and in fact is of a brand he has no particular use for???

Those guys are genuises.

.

Yeah, the smaller they are the more $$$$ involved. :D :D I've got the UMX Beast 3D Bipe, a tiny little model. With a tiny little brushless motor. That thing has been flown in 15 MPH winds.

Rugged? I've dropped things on its wings that would have smashed some models. Didn't affect it at all. Luck I guess.

As for me, I've standardized on Spektrum radios when they first came out, so compatibility isn't an issue.

solentlife 04-20-2014 07:35 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetPlaneFlyer (Post 945951)
If you can find a 9XR that works;)

And if I recall correctly, it's not a solution for the Horizon Hobby branded Ultra Micros such as the OP is talking about, because the channel assignment is wrong and cant be changed at the RX end due to the 'brick' type Rx.

Just a reply of the top of my bonce ... the 9xr has totally assignable ch's on the Tx ... so it might not be impossible with 9xr ...

Oi !! enough of that !! There are thousands of 9xr out there happily doing the required thing.;);););)

Nigel

JetPlaneFlyer 04-20-2014 10:06 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Larry3215 (Post 945977)
If you put a Spektrum module in your Futaba tx, then any Spektrum rx or bind and fly "brick" will work just fine. It makes your Futaba into a Spektrum tx :)

Not necessarily as the ultra-micro bricks use JR/Spektrum channel assignment. Futaba (and some others) are different so the channels are all mixed up. This isn't a problem with normal receivers as you just plug the servos into different outputs on the Rx, but on the UM bricks that isn't an option as they are hard wired.

JetPlaneFlyer 04-20-2014 10:08 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by solentlife (Post 946000)
Just a reply of the top of my bonce ... the 9xr has totally assignable ch's on the Tx ... so it might not be impossible with 9xr ...

Yes, you might well be right with the 9XR... 'If' the basic channels for the main stick outputs are assignable then that would get around the problem.

solentlife 04-20-2014 11:01 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetPlaneFlyer (Post 946009)
Yes, you might well be right with the 9XR... 'If' the basic channels for the main stick outputs are assignable then that would get around the problem.

According to the 'manual' - yes they are. You can have any ch on any button, pot or stick you wish.
The 9x can do it but only if later er9x etc. is flashed to it.

I'm not into crazy set-ups - so have to go by what the book says ..

Nigel

fhhuber 04-20-2014 04:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetPlaneFlyer (Post 946008)
Not necessarily as the ultra-micro bricks use JR/Spektrum channel assignment. Futaba (and some others) are different so the channels are all mixed up. This isn't a problem with normal receivers as you just plug the servos into different outputs on the Rx, but on the UM bricks that isn't an option as they are hard wired.

JPF... if you check you will find that the modules/adapters to use one brand TX with a different RX have the channel reassignment in the module.

They even made a BUDDY BOX CORD that allowed plugging Futaba to JR and having both operate the model correctly. Simple little circuit that swaps the pulse order.

JetPlaneFlyer 04-20-2014 05:56 PM

fhhubar,

I think if you check you might find that the adapters such as the 'Anylink' that plug into the buddy box do have channel re-assignment function as you describe, but not all of the DSM2/DSMX modules that simply plug into the module socket in the back of the Tx have it.

Here's a direct quote from one of the user feedback comments on the Orange DSMX module that fits the Futaba Tx:
Quote:

However, as noted by several people in the discussion board, it does not provide the channel mapping that is provided by the Spektrum module for Futaba radios SPMMSFUT720. This means that if you want to fly the ultra micro bind-n-fly models with brick type receivers you need a transmitter that has channel reassignment capabilities.
I think Turnigy had a modified firmware for some of their Tx's that allowed channel assignment to be changed and as Nigel says, the new 9XR appears to have full channel re-assignment functionality.

Larry3215 04-20-2014 07:52 PM

Im using a Horizon module in my Futaba and not one of the knock offs - it does the mapping correctly :)

JetPlaneFlyer 04-20-2014 08:00 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Larry3215 (Post 946059)
Im using a Horizon module in my Futaba and not one of the knock offs - it does the mapping correctly :)

Yep but at $110 it's not a cheap option, plus it's only available in DSM2, not DSMX.

Larry3215 04-20-2014 08:12 PM

I got mine on sale - $40 plus a free rx. They are often discounted, buy one get a free rx or two, etc.

I dont need DSMX - yet :)

Mostly though I dont believe in supporting thieves, ripoffs, knock offs, clones, etc.

Please dont take this the wrong way - I know Im in the minority on this - but it seems unethical to me.

Larry3215 04-20-2014 08:14 PM

Oh - and how good a deal is the cheap ripoff version when it often doesnt work at all or at best doesnt work correctly and has no support :) Im not sure I see the "value" in that kind of savings :)


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:20 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 WattfFlyer.com
RCU Eflight HQ

Page generated in 0.10246 seconds with 13 queries