WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight (http://www.Wattflyer.com/forums/index.php)
-   General Electric Discussions (http://www.Wattflyer.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Hawk Sky Help (http://www.Wattflyer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=73646)

jjay 04-28-2014 12:41 AM

Hawk Sky Help
 
I am new to the forum as I am looking for some help so forgive if I am posting in the wrong concussion board.

I recently purchased and built the Dynam Hawk Sky and have flown it a couple times but after a few days I am running into some problems...

When I turn on the plane, one of the servos now makes a strange noise but every servo still functions until I attempt to turn up the throttle--now only goes up to about 20% power-- which runs for five seconds and then the entire plane just shuts down....

I have no idea what is going on--maybe a busted battery or ESC???

Any advice??

kyleservicetech 04-28-2014 01:36 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jjay (Post 946697)
I am new to the forum as I am looking for some help so forgive if I am posting in the wrong concussion board.

I recently purchased and built the Dynam Hawk Sky and have flown it a couple times but after a few days I am running into some problems...

When I turn on the plane, one of the servos now makes a strange noise but every servo still functions until I attempt to turn up the throttle--now only goes up to about 20% power-- which runs for five seconds and then the entire plane just shuts down....

I have no idea what is going on--maybe a busted battery or ESC???

Any advice??

Do you have access to one of those wattmeters? That will give a LOT of information on how your motor/esc/battery is performing. If nothing else, check out one of those $5.00 digital multimeters from Harbor Freight. Low cost digital meters are available through a wide variety of places, including Wallyworld.

If you're not familiar with those digital multimeters, this might help:
Digital Multimeters
http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=52821
(Note that this meter only has a 10 Amp DC current range, and your electric power system likely pulls more than 10 Amps.)

Hobbyking is one supplier that has a decent unit.

Here is a 30 Amp HK unit.
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s..._Analyzer.html

Here is a 100 Amp HK unit
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...eter_100A.html

jjay 04-28-2014 01:42 AM

.

jjay 04-28-2014 01:42 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kyleservicetech (Post 946701)
Do you have access to one of those wattmeters? That will give a LOT of information on how your motor/esc/battery is performing. If nothing else, check out one of those $5.00 digital multimeters from Harbor Freight. Low cost digital meters are available through a wide variety of places, including Wallyworld.

Hobbyking is one supplier that has a decent unit.

Here is a 30 Amp HK unit.
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s..._Analyzer.html

Here is a 100 Amp HK unit
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...eter_100A.html

I will look into that thank you...

kyleservicetech 04-28-2014 01:45 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jjay (Post 946703)
I will look into that thank you...

(I've added a bit more to my posting!)

CHELLIE 04-28-2014 01:53 AM

1. Replace the battery, it may be bad, its best to start at the heart of the electronics.

2. the one servo may be bad, replace it and see what happens.

3. reset the throttle end points on the esc.

info from Nigel

Quite a few ESC need to see the FULL range of throttle stick movement ... so for setting it up :

a) Switch on TX
b) Put trim all way DOWN
c) Put stick all way UP to max throttle

d) Plug in model battery pack
e) Listen for beep
f) Return Tx throttle stick to DOWN minimum throttle position.
g) Listen for confirmation beep

Power of both.

Now test ...

1) Switch on Tx
2) Put throttle trim to mid point
3) Throttle stick to idle position
4) Connect battery to model

Listen for beeps / music if enabled.

Try throttle ... you should have full range now.

If not ... reverse Tx throttle and try above set-up again ....

It's always good as well if you have a Throttle Cut or Hold you can activate when connecting model battery's ... but this will inhibit arming of motor till switched of.


Nigel


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:56 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 WattfFlyer.com
RCU Eflight HQ

Page generated in 0.07909 seconds with 13 queries