WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight (http://www.Wattflyer.com/forums/index.php)
-   General Electric Discussions (http://www.Wattflyer.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   DX6i and settings loss (http://www.Wattflyer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=74373)

rreid7 08-26-2014 06:55 PM

DX6i and settings loss
 
My DX6i just played a nasty game on me. I had a good morning flying on Sunday, finishing up with the Formosa. On Monday my wife told me my radio was beeping. Sure enough low batt alarm was going, must have left it on by mistake after the last flight. Charged it back up fully and brought it and the Formosa today (Tuesday) for some lunchtime flying.

When I plugged in the flight battery, the rudder went full lock to the right and the right aileron went full up. What the %^&$!!!, it didn't do the Sunday! I started looking at the settings: the timer was wrong, the dual rate and expo settings were wrong, the elevator was reversed, and worse, there was a strange rudder-throttle mix in Mix1 and Mix2. I set everything back right and flew without further problem.

In the heat of the moment those mixes didn't register, but on reflection I realized they looked like the throttle - rudder mixes I use on my P-38 to give some differential throttle control. Checking the P-38 settings confirmed this exactly. The D/R & Expo settings, the timer, and the reversed elevator servo, all normal for that plane, were what had shown up on the Formosa.

So it seems that when the radio battery got to a very low charge state, it lost the settings for the model last flown (Formosa) and grabbed settings from the next model in the list (P-38). I wouldn't have expected this, I would think that at worst it would go back to the defaults. At least those mixes caused obviously wrong control deflections that warned me off before I tried to launch. Has anyone else had anything like this happen?

kyleservicetech 08-26-2014 07:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by rreid7 (Post 955946)
My DX6i just played a nasty game on me. I had a good morning flying on Sunday, finishing up with the Formosa. On Monday my wife told me my radio was beeping. Sure enough low batt alarm was going, must have left it on by mistake after the last flight. Charged it back up fully and brought it and the Formosa today (Tuesday) for some lunchtime flying.

When I plugged in the flight battery, the rudder went full lock to the right and the right aileron went full up. What the %^&$!!!, it didn't do the Sunday! I started looking at the settings: the timer was wrong, the dual rate and expo settings were wrong, the elevator was reversed, and worse, there was a strange rudder-throttle mix in Mix1 and Mix2. I set everything back right and flew without further problem.

In the heat of the moment those mixes didn't register, but on reflection I realized they looked like the throttle - rudder mixes I use on my P-38 to give some differential throttle control. Checking the P-38 settings confirmed this exactly. The D/R & Expo settings, the timer, and the reversed elevator servo, all normal for that plane, were what had shown up on the Formosa.

So it seems that when the radio battery got to a very low charge state, it lost the settings for the model last flown (Formosa) and grabbed settings from the next model in the list (P-38). I wouldn't have expected this, I would think that at worst it would go back to the defaults. At least those mixes caused obviously wrong control deflections that warned me off before I tried to launch. Has anyone else had anything like this happen?


H'mmm

I'd contact Horizon Hobbies, and talk with their tech department.

I believe those settings would be stored in the DX6i flash memory, and should not be affected by a low battery voltage.

Heli Jim 08-26-2014 09:20 PM

I agree---call Horizon Tech support.

mclarkson 08-26-2014 10:29 PM

Agreed. It shouldn't lose settings, even if you pull the battery out of the back.

pizzano 08-26-2014 10:55 PM

"So it seems that when the radio battery got to a very low charge state, it lost the settings for the model last flown (Formosa) and grabbed settings from the next model in the list (P-38). I wouldn't have expected this, I would think that at worst it would go back to the defaults. At least those mixes caused obviously wrong control deflections that warned me off before I tried to launch. Has anyone else had anything like this happen?"

That is, assuming the Formosa settings were correctly SAVED and not just STORED after the initial cycle through the programming.

I've never had a loss of DX6i settings due to low battery discharge, but I have when settings were not SAVED after programming, and discovered it only after cyling through the other models later, after having turned off the TX.

Regardless.....I'd give it another chance....without flying, to try to duplicate the problem........if it repeats, give Horizon a call.

Turner 08-27-2014 01:34 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by pizzano (Post 955961)
...I've never had a loss of DX6i settings due to low battery discharge, but I have when settings were not SAVED after programming...

How do you save the settings? Never heard that before.

Karnsy 08-29-2014 01:13 AM

I know my DX6i saves all settings every time you shut it off !

Turner 08-29-2014 02:35 AM

That's what I would expect.

pizzano 08-29-2014 02:45 AM

Guess I should clairify......there are several settings that must be "activated" or engaged in order for the change to take effect. Turning off the TX does not "save" every setting if not activated. Just cycling through the rates you want is not enough....so, if you've turned the TX off after making changes and turn it back on (without activating various settings), you end up, basically, where you started........sorry for the confusion this may have given some of you.....:rolleyes:

Turner 08-29-2014 02:47 AM

And so how do you activate the new settings?

pizzano 08-29-2014 03:19 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Turner (Post 956097)
And so how do you activate the new settings?

I sense a little "chain yanking" here Turner..........:D

Help me out....some changes will require either Activate or Inhibit, so.... if you've only set the rate or trim (as examples) but forgot to activate/inhibit.....does it save what you were thinking rather than what you actually programmed.......?.........I've made this mistake early on when attempting to "copy" another models settings to a new model. Only to discover the issue after turning the TX on and off after making the changes to check what I had done.

Turner 08-29-2014 01:36 PM

You are kidding, right?

You make a strong claim and then can't answer a simple question to explain how. I don't equate choosing activate or inhibit with "saving settings" but if that's what you mean then I guess we understand.


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:21 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 WattfFlyer.com
RCU Eflight HQ

Page generated in 0.08620 seconds with 13 queries