WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight (http://www.Wattflyer.com/forums/index.php)
-   Beginners (http://www.Wattflyer.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=7)
-   -   Phantom RC40 Quad Copter (http://www.Wattflyer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=74396)

liberty4us 08-30-2014 01:47 AM

Phantom RC40 Quad Copter

Just joined today and had a few questions. I'm a retired Pilot and am
not new to the game of RC's. I have built a few years ago and in April 2014 I purchased this Phantom RC40 quadcopter. I have about 200 hours flying it at 10 minutes a charge on the batteries (3). I have an idea (that might work) of building a RC all electric quad copter with motors big enough for 2 people
to ride in it! My question is whats the largest brushless motors being built?
It would take 4 at 75 to 100 HP with built in altinators to power this Brain
Storm. It would be about 40' in diamiter and be controled from the ground Or in the cockpit. Any ideas out there on brushless motors. :rolleyes:

pizzano 08-30-2014 03:08 AM

Are you referring to the Phantom FC 40.........?....very nice quad.

Your (quad) idea is not a new one....and to date, no one has succesfully accomplished that commercially that I'm aware of......for two main reasons:

It will require power storage (batteries or capacitor driven), regardless of alternator supplied, which means additional weight and carrying capacity.

Brushless motors of the size required to maintain lift and flight altitude would be very large and also add to the weight......which also means Power Efficiency will be compromised.

Getting an FAA permit (certificate under USUA FAR103) to even fly such a thing as a "hobby" craft or "experimental" (like ultralights) would be impossible due to the lack of current "approved" engineering design and materials protocol, recognized and approved testing parameters...............see:

http://www.usua.org/Rules/faa103.htm