Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric R/C Airplanes > ParkFlyers
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

ParkFlyers Talk about all backyard and parkflyer aircraft here

Thank you for your support (hide ads)

Old 12-16-2013, 05:46 AM   #1
Slappy

Friends: (0)
Default Mini Ultra Stick - Quad Flap / Motor / ESC Help

Hi WattFlyer community. I'm new to the electric flight world and return to RC flying after a long hiatus. I'm hoping you can help me out with a bit of a conundrum.

I'm flying a Mini Ultra Stick, which I recently converted to the quad flap setup.

I've setup the plane with:
EFlite Park 450
EFlite 20-Amp Brushless ESC (V2)
ParkBEC
EcoPower 3S 30C 2200mah
Spektrum A3030 servos

Now when I plug in the battery, everything seems normal. I take off and fly for a bit, then when I land, the motor continues to spin. It's almost like an idle type spinning of a glow engine, when the transmitter throttle lever is fully down. It's not enough thrust to move the plane and the throttle won't advance the speed of the motor.

Is this a sign of an overheating ESC?

I did attempt to fly with all 6 servos, before installing the ParkBEC. I quickly realized the error of my ways when the servos weren't happy. They were jumpy and had bad delays, but I managed to get back on the ground safely. Could that have damaged the ESC?

Thanks for any educated insight...
Old 12-16-2013, 06:07 AM   #2
mclarkson
Super Contributor

View mclarkson's Gallery4
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Outstanding Contributor Award 
Friends: (7)