Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric R/C Airplanes > Indoor & Micro Electric Planes
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

Indoor & Micro Electric Planes Talk about indoor & Micro electric powered flight here

Thank you for your support (hide ads)
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-22-2014, 04:15 AM   #1
nz builder
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 258
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (2)
Default AR6400 problem

Im having a problem with an AR6400. After a nose dive into the dirt (my Champ copy) the left onboard servo has been malfunctioning. What it does is that servo motor keeps pushing the control rod tab toward the end of the slot, without any input from me. It doesn't stay centered at all and wont respond to any commands from the TX. When the battery is unplugged I can turn the large gear and the tab moves easily up and down the slot. When I took off the large gear and plugged in the battery the servo motor goes full tilt without input. Id be curious to know if there is a fix for this, if not Im seriously thinking of cutting the wires that lead to the servo and using plug in servos on my next project.
nz builder is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2014, 04:19 AM   #2
pizzano
Behold The Renaissance
 
pizzano's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: So. Calif
Posts: 1,023
Thanked 64 Times in 62 Posts
Club: AMA, Marks, Pomona Valley, Prado Dam
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (3)
Default

Are you sure it's a Spektrum AR6400 reciever problem.....?

Curious how you determined the problem was reciever related...?

AMA 928214
pizzano is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2014, 06:27 AM   #3
nz builder
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 258
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (2)
Default

Originally Posted by pizzano View Post
Are you sure it's a Spektrum AR6400 reciever problem.....?

Curious how you determined the problem was reciever related...?
I didn't say that it is RX related.
nz builder is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2014, 04:44 PM   #4
pizzano
Behold The Renaissance
 
pizzano's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: So. Calif
Posts: 1,023
Thanked 64 Times in 62 Posts
Club: AMA, Marks, Pomona Valley, Prado Dam
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (3)
Default

Originally Posted by nz builder View Post
I didn't say that it is RX related.
You didn't state originally it wasn't an RX problem ........Yes, I was aware that the AR6400 is a combo unit....and as such, some what fragile when bounced around.......thus, the question related to the RX aspect..............like others have mentioned, the micro servo units have a history of failure over time and wear.......

Check out this link.....could be of use:

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1837318

AMA 928214
pizzano is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2014, 04:33 AM   #5
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 18,205
View CHELLIE's Gallery13
Thanked 2,109 Times in 2,019 Posts
Club: Chino Renegades RC Flying Club
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Scratchbuilders Award  Ambassador Award  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (4)
Friends: (305)
Default

plug in another good servo to the receiver to test the receiver, the problem could be a damaged servo, if the servo is not the problem, Trash the receiver, its hurt and unsafe, buy another receiver.

I may be getting Older, But I Refuse to grow Up I am Having to much Fun to Grow Up LOL
CHELLIE is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2014, 06:25 AM   #6
nz builder
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 258
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (2)
Default

The AR6400 is the brick with the RX and two servos as one unit. I cannot simply throw away the RX. The other servo on the brick works fine.
nz builder is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2014, 06:38 AM   #7
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 18,205
View CHELLIE's Gallery13
Thanked 2,109 Times in 2,019 Posts
Club: Chino Renegades RC Flying Club
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Scratchbuilders Award  Ambassador Award  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (4)
Friends: (305)
Default

Originally Posted by nz builder View Post
The AR6400 is the brick with the RX and two servos as one unit. I cannot simply throw away the RX. The other servo on the brick works fine.
Yep, your right send it to Horizon for repair, one of the FETs is bad in it, Take care, Chellie

I may be getting Older, But I Refuse to grow Up I am Having to much Fun to Grow Up LOL
CHELLIE is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2014, 07:03 AM   #8
nz builder
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 258
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (2)
Default

Originally Posted by CHELLIE View Post
Yep, your right send it to Horizon for repair, one of the FETs is bad in it, Take care, Chellie
Thanks Chellie, I thought it was an electronics issue.
nz builder is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2014, 09:29 AM   #9
fhhuber
Super Contributor
 
fhhuber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2,022
Thanked 196 Times in 187 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default

The micro servos used in the UM series aircraft are subject to an over-range error.

Power off
Hand wind the gears to center the servo.
Power on

Generally fixes it until the next incident that forces the tiny thing to over-range again.

**************

There is a repair kit to replace the gear, motor and wiper on the multifunction RX/servo/ESC unit also.
fhhuber is online now  
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2014, 09:53 AM   #10
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 18,205
View CHELLIE's Gallery13
Thanked 2,109 Times in 2,019 Posts
Club: Chino Renegades RC Flying Club
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Scratchbuilders Award  Ambassador Award  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (4)
Friends: (305)
Default

Originally Posted by fhhuber View Post
The micro servos used in the UM series aircraft are subject to an over-range error.

Power off
Hand wind the gears to center the servo.
Power on

Generally fixes it until the next incident that forces the tiny thing to over-range again.

**************

There is a repair kit to replace the gear, motor and wiper on the multifunction RX/servo/ESC unit also.
Great info, I will have to remember that

I may be getting Older, But I Refuse to grow Up I am Having to much Fun to Grow Up LOL
CHELLIE is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2014, 10:22 AM   #11
nz builder
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 258
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (2)
Default

Originally Posted by fhhuber View Post
The micro servos used in the UM series aircraft are subject to an over-range error.

Power off
Hand wind the gears to center the servo.
Power on

Generally fixes it until the next incident that forces the tiny thing to over-range again.

**************

There is a repair kit to replace the gear, motor and wiper on the multifunction RX/servo/ESC unit also.
Ive done the hand wind thing but when the power is on the servo will automatically return to it's farthest setting, not the default centre setting when the fingers are off the sticks. Its definitely an electronic rather than mechanical problem.
nz builder is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2014, 03:17 PM   #12
fhhuber
Super Contributor
 
fhhuber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2,022
Thanked 196 Times in 187 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default

Next... are you always using the same TX?

A failed pot (potentiometer) in the TX can do what you describe. Testing with a different RX can quickly check if the TX is the issue if you don't have another TX. A pot failure in the TX would cause it to drive the same channel to the same position with every RX and servo.

Pot failure means the pot itself or the wires between the pot (in the stick gimbal) and the circuit board.
Pot failures were common in one brand of TX I know of due to an error in manufacturing. The factory routed a wire (other than where the designer indicated) where it got cut by the sticks being moved. Repairing the wire and re-routing fixed it every time.

***********

And you can carefully pull the servo's white plastic off of the RX board to check for debris between the wiper and the contact surface it slides over. Debris there will have the servo sensing its position as being at one endpoint and it will go to the other.
Looking for pictures of how to remove/replace the servo mechanism... or my old RX with broken antenna and power lead... (repairable when I get around to it)
fhhuber is online now  
  Reply With Quote
Reply

  WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric R/C Airplanes > Indoor & Micro Electric Planes

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Serious problem with my pusher jet. abborgogna Power Systems 13 03-22-2014 02:42 AM
Problem with either LiPo's, ESC's, or BL motors... RC Fan Chris General Electric Discussions 14 06-13-2012 02:41 PM
HELP!!! RX problem!! wittpilot General Electric Discussions 13 10-11-2011 06:19 AM
Glitch / lock out problem!!!! Gee Power Systems 20 04-14-2011 03:29 AM
Unpossible servo problem mclarkson RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros 13 02-13-2011 12:45 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:50 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 WattfFlyer.com
RCU Eflight HQ

Charities we support Select: Yorkie Rescue  ::  Crohn's & Colitis Foundation



Page generated in 0.22590 seconds with 41 queries