Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric R/C Airplanes > General Electric Discussions
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

General Electric Discussions Talk about topics related to e-powered RC flying

Thank you for your support (hide ads)

Old 04-10-2014, 06:15 AM   #1
garyp1029

Friends: (0)
Default Charger/Power Supply Combo

As a beginner I am still charging my Apprentice's 3200 mah batteries with the included 2-3 cell charger using my truck battery, but am now considering a new, improved charger, probably the Icharger 106B+. Progressive offers the charger and a power supply combo for $115 (The charger by itself is @$90). Knowing very little about "power supplies" (and being totally incompetent concerning building one) my question is whether the power supply included with the 106B+ is sufficiently powerful. From power supply price comparisons I have found from various sources, Progressive's combo prices seem like a fairly good deal. What are your thoughts on this? Thanks. Gary
Old 04-10-2014, 06:57 AM   #2
DHC Beaver

Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award 
Friends: (1)

Gary,the Icharger 106B is certainly a very good choice for a charger,i'm very happy with mine.I'm not familiar with the power supply you mention,but you should aim for a minimum of 10Amps 12v output.
I use converted computer power supplies,which work very good with the average 4-button charger.My biggest battery packs are only 3000mah though,so if you use bigger packs,you may need a heavier supply.
regards.Hans.
Old 04-10-2014, 07:25 AM   #3
JetPlaneFlyer
Super Contributor

Awards Showcase

5kW  Outstanding Contributor Award  1kW 
Friends: (8)