Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > R/C Electric Topics - General > RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Thank you for your support (hide ads)
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-27-2014, 08:34 PM   #1
solentlife
Super Contributor
 
solentlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ex UK Brit now in Latvia west coast - Ventspils
Posts: 5,973
View solentlife's Gallery47
Thanked 245 Times in 242 Posts
Club: Founder Member Ventspils RC Club. Ex Waltham Chase and Meon Valley Soaring.
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Scratchbuilders Award  Outstanding Contributor Award  125mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (15)
Default 9xr Chip 64 or 128 ?

Can anyone tell me how to check whether I have the 128 or 64 in my 9xr ??
I don't have radio at hand - so cant check physically .. would be nice if someone can say what to look for when I get home.

I have a signature error on avrdude that could be due to incorrect setting but don't want too brick my radio if I can help it !!

Nigel

222kph PKJ,EDF Concorde, Mini4,Mig3,T45,PKJ twin,ME109,Edge540,Cessna182,Skymaster Biplane,F15,F16,Badius,Ultimate,SE5,Qbee10,450 Heli,V911,J3 Cub Founder 9x forum: http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Flysky_RC_radio/
- Subscribe my Youtube: "solentlifeuk"
solentlife is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2014, 11:55 PM   #2
pmullen503
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 827
Thanked 69 Times in 68 Posts
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (3)
Default

Unless it's a very early (> year old) 9XR it has the 128. You won't brick the 9XR by trying to flash the wrong version. A good reason to flash the latest firmware is that you can use the 128's larger memory. You can just open it up and read the numbers on the chip.

It's never too late to have a happy childhood.
pmullen503 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2014, 06:21 AM   #3
solentlife
Super Contributor
 
solentlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ex UK Brit now in Latvia west coast - Ventspils
Posts: 5,973
View solentlife's Gallery47
Thanked 245 Times in 242 Posts
Club: Founder Member Ventspils RC Club. Ex Waltham Chase and Meon Valley Soaring.
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Scratchbuilders Award  Outstanding Contributor Award  125mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (15)
Default

I've been trying to get to the reason why my avrdude comes up with a fault - Signature does not match. This means to do anything I need to add the -F switch.
I don't like over-riding what is in effect a safety check, and 9xrforum - one post mentioned possible brick'g the radio with it.
I have used the -F switch .. it works ... but I'm not comfortable using it anyway.

Once home - I will try the 128 parameter.

Nigel

222kph PKJ,EDF Concorde, Mini4,Mig3,T45,PKJ twin,ME109,Edge540,Cessna182,Skymaster Biplane,F15,F16,Badius,Ultimate,SE5,Qbee10,450 Heli,V911,J3 Cub Founder 9x forum: http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Flysky_RC_radio/
- Subscribe my Youtube: "solentlifeuk"
solentlife is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2014, 12:47 PM   #4
pmullen503
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 827
Thanked 69 Times in 68 Posts
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (3)
Default

The -F switch can be dangerous to use as it allow you to flash the wrong firmware. Try the 128 version (without -F switch) and see if that works.

It's never too late to have a happy childhood.
pmullen503 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2014, 02:50 PM   #5
solentlife
Super Contributor
 
solentlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ex UK Brit now in Latvia west coast - Ventspils
Posts: 5,973
View solentlife's Gallery47
Thanked 245 Times in 242 Posts
Club: Founder Member Ventspils RC Club. Ex Waltham Chase and Meon Valley Soaring.
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Scratchbuilders Award  Outstanding Contributor Award  125mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (15)
Default

Originally Posted by pmullen503 View Post
The -F switch can be dangerous to use as it allow you to flash the wrong firmware. Try the 128 version (without -F switch) and see if that works.
As I said - I am not at home and was asking so I can have info at hand fir when I get back.

As you say - I was not happy using the F switch .. and realise it's risks.

Nigel

222kph PKJ,EDF Concorde, Mini4,Mig3,T45,PKJ twin,ME109,Edge540,Cessna182,Skymaster Biplane,F15,F16,Badius,Ultimate,SE5,Qbee10,450 Heli,V911,J3 Cub Founder 9x forum: http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Flysky_RC_radio/
- Subscribe my Youtube: "solentlifeuk"
solentlife is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2014, 09:46 AM   #6
Panther
Member
 
Panther's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Queensland, Australia
Posts: 234
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

The only way is to open it up and have a look.
Mine has the 64 chip. I bought 12th May 2012. I think they changed within a month or so after that to the larger one.
Panther is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2014, 09:52 AM   #7
solentlife
Super Contributor
 
solentlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ex UK Brit now in Latvia west coast - Ventspils
Posts: 5,973
View solentlife's Gallery47
Thanked 245 Times in 242 Posts
Club: Founder Member Ventspils RC Club. Ex Waltham Chase and Meon Valley Soaring.
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Scratchbuilders Award  Outstanding Contributor Award  125mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (15)
Default

I've seen a few posts that say the chip is not always the 128 ... that it's not g'teed just because its a later 9xr ..

My 9xr's are from November 2013 to March 2014 .. I have a number of them. Of course no-one can tell me actual production date ... but that's when I ordered from HK (Nov 2013) and the replacements they sent under warranty (Mar 2014). I assume they were current because the 9xr is often on Backorder ..

Nigel

222kph PKJ,EDF Concorde, Mini4,Mig3,T45,PKJ twin,ME109,Edge540,Cessna182,Skymaster Biplane,F15,F16,Badius,Ultimate,SE5,Qbee10,450 Heli,V911,J3 Cub Founder 9x forum: http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Flysky_RC_radio/
- Subscribe my Youtube: "solentlifeuk"
solentlife is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Reply

  WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > R/C Electric Topics - General > RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
9xr purpose designed LiPo or not ? solentlife RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros 17 06-09-2014 04:09 PM
Turnigy 9XR everyman review Wrongway-Feldman RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros 13 04-12-2014 08:35 PM
My 9xr stopped working ! solentlife RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros 72 04-12-2014 01:37 PM
Have your set-up your 450 on 9xr .. (mode 2 / er9x) solentlife General RC E-Heli Talk 9 04-10-2014 09:31 AM
9xr + USB board + PC solentlife RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros 2 11-19-2013 08:03 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:37 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 WattfFlyer.com
RCU Eflight HQ

Charities we support Select: Yorkie Rescue  ::  Crohn's & Colitis Foundation



Page generated in 0.21418 seconds with 31 queries