Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric R/C Airplanes > 3D Flying
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

3D Flying Discuss everything related to "3D" flying including construction, power setups and flying techniques

Thank you for your support (hide ads)
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-20-2014, 11:27 PM   #1
dereckbc
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 317
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (3)
Default PZ Visionaire

Hey guys been a while. Moved down south to Panama and that has taken up a lot of my time. Anyway just got a brand new ParkzZone VisionAire and am confused about the receiver. It is similar to my Apprentice S with Safe Technology RX that can be switched from Beginner, Intermediate, Advance all the 3-position Flap channel.

With that said the book does not appear to address how to switch from Standard to 3D modes. I have Dual Rates and Expo set up on my DX7. I suspect it might be on Channel 5, the gear channel, but I do not know. Can someone save me an expensive LD call to HH and straighten me out.

What am I missing here?
dereckbc is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2014, 04:27 PM   #2
Pilot Error
Member
 
Pilot Error's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Florida
Posts: 139
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Club: Indian River Radio Control Club
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default

There should be a book for just the 635 RX in your packaging somewhere. IIRC it's the gear switch, depending on which TX you use. I have a DX6i. Easy way to test, but the battery in the plane, pick it up and move it around on one of it's axis. You will see and hear the control surface move. Now flip the switch and try it again. If you have the right channel switched it will still move the control surface, just not as much. Make sense?

I have my AS3X turned off in mine so I can't remember exactly, and I packed away the RX manual.

My avitar is Grumpy Cat saying, "Hasn't he crashed yet?"

My name is Mark and I approve this message.
Pilot Error is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2014, 04:38 PM   #3
dereckbc
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 317
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (3)
Default

Yes I understand as that is how the Apprentice S works. What bothers me is the Visionaire manual does not mention anything about tit and I do not have a separate book covering the RX.
dereckbc is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2014, 05:02 PM   #4
JetPlaneFlyer
Super Contributor
 
JetPlaneFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
Posts: 4,323
Thanked 477 Times in 445 Posts
Awards Showcase

5kW  Outstanding Contributor Award  1kW 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (8)
Default

Originally Posted by dereckbc View Post
I do not have a separate book covering the RX.
Easy fixed: http://www.horizonhobby.com/products...er-SPMAR635#t6
JetPlaneFlyer is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2014, 06:55 PM   #5
rcers
Community Moderator
 
rcers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Trophy Club TX
Posts: 6,160
View rcers's Gallery57
Thanked 501 Times in 491 Posts
Awards Showcase

WAA-08 Pilot 
iTrader: (4)
Friends: (9)
Default

Originally Posted by dereckbc View Post
...Anyway just got a brand new ParkzZone VisionAire and am confused about the receiver.
It is a 3 axis stabilizer receiver.

Originally Posted by dereckbc View Post
... It is similar to my Apprentice S with Safe Technology RX that can be switched from Beginner, Intermediate, Advance all the 3-position Flap channel.
Nope - it is not like that at all. This is not a Beginner plane and has no return to stable position. Rather it weeds out unwanted responses (from wind etc) and will keep the airplane in the commanded attitude without correction.

This is not a training aide IN ANY WAY.

Originally Posted by dereckbc View Post
...With that said the book does not appear to address how to switch from Standard to 3D modes.
The RX manual points out how to change the gains and sensitivity of the RX. I found the out of the box settings to be perfect however. I would not touch the default settings as it is perfect out of the Visonaire box IMHO.

Originally Posted by dereckbc View Post
...I have Dual Rates and Expo set up on my DX7.
DX7 or DX7s? If you have the new DX7s you can download the setup for this plane and it works wonderfully.

Originally Posted by dereckbc View Post
...What am I missing here?
Much better than the manual - RCGroups has a LONG thread on the AR635 RX and all its settings. Also a giant Visionaire thread that might help too.

I LOVE THIS PLANE. Likely my all time favorite RC aircraft ever - and that is saying something!

Of note - you MUST address trim mechanically, or you will fight the plane. That is VERY important. I know guys that hated the plane because they were using radio trims (a BIG NO-NO). This is simply because the RX will always see zero as it's preset value - not your trim setting. Heli guys know this issue well, as they are used to using Gyro's.

Mike
rcers is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2014, 04:37 AM   #6
dereckbc
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 317
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (3)
Default

Originally Posted by rcers View Post
DX7 or DX7s? If you have the new DX7s you can download the setup for this plane and it works wonderfully.
DX7S and I did download the setup.


Originally Posted by rcers View Post
Much better than the manual - RCGroups has a LONG thread on the AR635 RX and all its settings. Also a giant Visionaire thread that might help too.
Yeah I found that thread and its 1000 pages. Kind of hard to find what I am looking for in that thread. Beside I like this forum better.

Originally Posted by rcers View Post
Of note - you MUST address trim mechanically, or you will fight the plane. That is VERY important.
Can you expand on that a bit?

I assume you mean by centering the control arms and adjusting clevises so all the control surface are flush with the plane RX and TX turned on with controls centered?
dereckbc is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2014, 02:08 PM   #7
rcers
Community Moderator
 
rcers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Trophy Club TX
Posts: 6,160
View rcers's Gallery57
Thanked 501 Times in 491 Posts
Awards Showcase

WAA-08 Pilot 
iTrader: (4)
Friends: (9)
Default

Originally Posted by dereckbc View Post
DX7S and I did download the setup.
Awesome - then you are in perfect land. That is the designers setup and I have found it to be spot on. So do this. Turn on your TX and put the batt in the VA. Then hold full up elevator. Flip the gear switch. It should go from a tiny amount of up to a whole bunch.

THAT is the switch you need to know about. That will enable you to go from tame to wild in one switch. It controls all three surfaces, elevator, ailerons and rudder. I am 98% sure on that so check. I like mine all on one switch so I may have adjusted mine but pretty sure that is the case from QQ too!

Originally Posted by dereckbc View Post
Yeah I found that thread and its 1000 pages. Kind of hard to find what I am looking for in that thread. Beside I like this forum better.
Understood - but you need to also focus on where the most thought is on the subject too. I love Wattflyer - but when you need volume RCG is very good. Search the thread feature works well and weeds out the junk (and there is plently of that....).

Originally Posted by dereckbc View Post
Can you expand on that a bit?

I assume you mean by centering the control arms and adjusting clevises so all the control surface are flush with the plane RX and TX turned on with controls centered?
Sure.

Think about it this way. That receiver and the Gyros MUST know what neutral is. That is a key starting reference for the entire system and all it does. It has to know what neutral control is on the aircraft NOT where you "trim" it to be neutral. The software on the RX has no idea where you set the neutral trim - only the TX knows that.

That is bad. So we have to fix it.

So I will describe my first 10-15 flights of the VA for you and recommend the same. Sound good?

Set the battery in a spot - my 2200 3s back are in the dead center of the tray. Start there it is pretty close to good. This matters as the battery and more importantly the CG are affected by this. That in turn affects elevator trim - this is why it is important.

Fly the plane on a day with light winds - trim it (yea I know I said not to do that - but hang with me!). Land. Go back to the pits (leave everything on). Start with rudder. Count how many clicks of trim you applied (if any). Take careful note of exactly how far the surface moves from where you trimmed it to where center trim detent is.

Set the trim to center and adjust the CLEVIS on the rudder horn to match the deflection you had with trim. On rudder this should be dead on center but sometimes it is hard to see that.

Repeat this exact same process with ailerons and elevator.

What you are doing here is what we all had to do in the good old days - manually resetting surfaces so our trims would center.

Once you have done this the first time, go fly again. Take off, fly, and trim. Land. Your first changes won't be perfect. Repeat the process I described above for EACH flight surface.

Repeat this entire process of fly trim land, adjust until you fly a flight without any trim changes. Then you are done!

It took me about 10 flights to do this. MOST of that was setting the CG right and then setting the elevator trim to match MY preferred CG. My rudder was perfect after the first flight, ailerons after about flight 5. Elevator (with my CG changes) took about 10 flights.

It is SUPER boring to do this - but it is needed. !!!! This is what your heli friends do on all their stuff - so they won't be very sympathetic.

Once you have this all setup - this airplane is a freak. It will fly almost trainer easy (other than it won't self correct!!!!) and will also go from that mild to super wild with the flip of the dual rate switch.

I am not a 3D guy - but the VA is such a wonderful sport aircraft too. It will stay pointed in the direction you leave it and those Gyro's will keep it on heading - like like and arrow or dart.

Enjoy! The VA is brilliant. The AS3X is brilliant. The design is brilliant. Can you tell I like this plane?

Mike
rcers is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2014, 08:46 PM   #8
dereckbc
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 317
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (3)
Default

OK made my maiden flight and it is still in one peice although a bit of a bent up landing gear.

When I took off it tried to go straight up and roll left. If I had not pushed down on the elevator and left aileron would have been a disaster.

Trimmed it out so I could gain control to fly around a bit, but when landed came down a bit hard. No real damage other than find of bent the main gear out which was easily fixed.

I think the plane was slightly tail heave because I did not have the battery far enough forward. When I installed the battery I did so facing the connector side forward which did not allow the battery to go far enough forward in the battery compartment which was confirmed post flight with a CG test. Lesson learned install battery with connector side toward rear of aircraft stupid me.

Not certain why it wanted to roll as the aileraons look good on the ground. Perhaps P factor. However i did notice the rudder was ever so slightly off for left yaw.

Anyway perfect day here in North TX with calm winds. Will go back out after dinner this evening and give her another spin. Hopefully with less exciting results.
dereckbc is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2014, 08:50 PM   #9
dereckbc
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 317
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (3)
Default How Big

Quick follow up question. How big of a battery can one push into this plane?

I have a half dozen Glacier G30-2600-3S1P batteries I would like to try if possible.

But as fail safe I also have half a dozen Hyperion CX G3 2100 mah packs which are exactly the same size as the cheap PZ battery that came with the plane I use in my Extra 300.
dereckbc is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2014, 07:19 PM   #10
JetPlaneFlyer
Super Contributor
 
JetPlaneFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
Posts: 4,323
Thanked 477 Times in 445 Posts
Awards Showcase

5kW  Outstanding Contributor Award  1kW 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (8)
Default

With helis a lot of people disable the trims in the programming (if you Tx allows). This prevents inadvertent operation of trims messing up the gyros. Personally I've found that a click or two doesn't really cause any obvious issues but for sure it's best to leave all trims centred so be sure.
JetPlaneFlyer is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2014, 05:27 PM   #11
Pilot Error
Member
 
Pilot Error's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Florida
Posts: 139
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Club: Indian River Radio Control Club
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default

I just re-read my post and realized that I posted that I had a DX5...Duh it's a DX6i...I'm not awake yet when I posted that..

My avitar is Grumpy Cat saying, "Hasn't he crashed yet?"

My name is Mark and I approve this message.
Pilot Error is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2014, 09:30 PM   #12
rcers
Community Moderator
 
rcers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Trophy Club TX
Posts: 6,160
View rcers's Gallery57
Thanked 501 Times in 491 Posts
Awards Showcase

WAA-08 Pilot 
iTrader: (4)
Friends: (9)
Default

Those should fit just fine. Much bigger adds a good deal of weight - so watch that.

Make sure you get the throws adjusted at the clevis and back out the trim.

Happy to help....if you want to meet at the field down here...

Mike
rcers is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2014, 10:32 PM   #13
dereckbc
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 317
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (3)
Default

Mike what are your plans for the 4th?

At Texoma RC Feild we have a 4th of July event. Burgers and Dogs around 5 to 6, club meeting at 7, an da lot of our big members with RV's and trailers show up to put on a pretty good show of scale models. Family is welcome and fire works are permitted. Even have one guy we call Moron lets folks shoot fireworks at his plane after dark

It is a lot of fun and good ole fashion family 4th of July. FWIW you can bring alcohol but no flying if you drink.
dereckbc is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2014, 02:53 AM   #14
rcers
Community Moderator
 
rcers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Trophy Club TX
Posts: 6,160
View rcers's Gallery57
Thanked 501 Times in 491 Posts
Awards Showcase

WAA-08 Pilot 
iTrader: (4)
Friends: (9)
Default

We have plans but it sounds like fun! Who is your president now? I went to one electric event up there - and lets just say a few of us had a less than inviting feeling, sadly from the club President. I am trying to remember his name, but it escapes me now.

Mike
rcers is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2014, 03:14 AM   #15
dereckbc
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 317
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (3)
Default

David is all I will say on the forum. At least last time I checked. Really sorry you had a bad experience. Did he look like he just came off the set of Duck Dynasty and look like Si?

I do know a lot of members come up from McKinney to use our feild and that has caused some problems.
dereckbc is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2014, 03:44 AM   #16
rcers
Community Moderator
 
rcers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Trophy Club TX
Posts: 6,160
View rcers's Gallery57
Thanked 501 Times in 491 Posts
Awards Showcase

WAA-08 Pilot 
iTrader: (4)
Friends: (9)
Default

No that isn't him. This guy was big, maybe Dan? Very big. He was clean cut and made sure we all knew he was the boss. It was several years ago, maybe 5 or so?

Joe Denny? (I think a minister or ex minister) ran the event and was as nice as could be. He spent a good deal of the time apologizing.

Anyway life is good....

Mike
rcers is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2014, 11:07 AM   #17
bob_nj
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 15
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

I just posted an AR635 and the micro digital servos out of my VisionAire in the classifieds.

They have 6 flights on them and are in excellent shape.

Take care
Bob
bob_nj is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Reply

  WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric R/C Airplanes > 3D Flying

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sold PZ Visionaire DFW Area - LPU only - Price Drop! waytooslow Airplanes - Electric For Sale & WTB 5 12-22-2013 09:52 PM
Newbie SC flyer gets a T-28 Trojan (PZ) ironbinder Beginners 20 09-30-2013 11:08 AM
Tweaks for PZ Visionaire JZSlenker 3D Flying 12 09-11-2013 08:33 PM
PZ F4F Wildcat Cheap and Fast TopSpin Warbird Electrics 24 09-03-2013 03:02 AM
PZ Visionaire battery/prop upgrades? Opticplank 3D Flying 1 06-26-2013 10:05 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:28 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 WattfFlyer.com
RCU Eflight HQ

Charities we support Select: Yorkie Rescue  ::  Crohn's & Colitis Foundation



Page generated in 0.25623 seconds with 51 queries