Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > R/C Electric Topics - General > RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Thank you for your support (hide ads)
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-14-2011, 03:55 PM   #1
RightFly
No Clique Zone
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Western Michigan
Posts: 158
Thanked 22 Times in 22 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (2)
Question Spektrum DX5e with Futaba 7c on the trainer port

I don’t want to get into the virtues of either radio as that has been batted around enough in a lot of other posts.

I bought a Futaba 7c 2.4 radio when I started in RC last year. I have become fairly proficient flying my HZ Champ with the standard RTF radio. I also have two grandsons visiting me in August that have been practicing on their Clearview sim I bought them for Christmas last year and they will want to fly the Champ.

I am considering buying the DX5e radio to bind with the Champ and using the Futaba 7c on the trainer port for my “co-pilots”. I have Real Flight 5.5 with the Futaba Interlink controller that came with a conversion cable having the Futaba square plug (male)on one end and what appears to be a round Spektrum type on the other end (female). This adapter allows you to use your own radio plugged into the Interlink sim controller.

Will this work the way I envision?

I have used my 7c through the adapter on the RF sim and it works just fine that way.
RightFly is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2011, 06:34 PM   #2
slipstick
Super Contributor
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: N.Staffs, UK
Posts: 2,350
Thanked 197 Times in 191 Posts
Awards Showcase

Outstanding Contributor Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default

If I understand what you're asking then No. The channel assignments are different in Spektrum and Futaba so you would find when you switched between radios the throttle (Ch1) would suddenly be controlled by the aileron lever etc....not good !

The only way to use a Futaba slave with a Spektrum/JR master in training mode is with the special TrainerLink lead made by Hangar 9 - e.g. http://www.probuild-uk.com/index.php...roduct_id=1189

Steve
slipstick is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2011, 09:47 PM   #3
RightFly
No Clique Zone
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Western Michigan
Posts: 158
Thanked 22 Times in 22 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (2)
Default

Originally Posted by slipstick View Post
If I understand what you're asking then No. The channel assignments are different in Spektrum and Futaba so you would find when you switched between radios the throttle (Ch1) would suddenly be controlled by the aileron lever etc....not good !

The only way to use a Futaba slave with a Spektrum/JR master in training mode is with the special TrainerLink lead made by Hangar 9 - e.g. http://www.probuild-uk.com/index.php...roduct_id=1189

Steve
Steve, Thanks for the quick response. Not exactly what I hoped to hear. I checked our local RC shops and it appears that I will not only need the trainer link but the round to square Futaba adapter. That makes it nearly half the cost of a second DX5e. Seems like my supply of radios will be increasing again.

Too bad there isn't some universal standards for manufacturers to live by.

Roger
RightFly is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2011, 10:28 PM   #4
gramps2361
Community Moderator
 
gramps2361's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: oxford, MA
Posts: 6,673
View gramps2361's Gallery9
Thanked 602 Times in 597 Posts
Club: Rocky Hill Flying Circus
iTrader: (3)
Friends: (21)
Default

Why don't you buy just buy a 4 channel Futaba trainer TX off of ebay they are cheap and then you will always have it if you need to train somebody else.You will need to still buy the cord. I think this is compatible with the radio you have. I would ask the buyer I have bought a few items from him he is good to deal with.

http://cgi.ebay.com/Brand-New-Futaba...item3f0babfed8
gramps2361 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 01:51 AM   #5
RightFly
No Clique Zone
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Western Michigan
Posts: 158
Thanked 22 Times in 22 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (2)
Default

Originally Posted by gramps2161 View Post
Why don't you buy just buy a 4 channel Futaba trainer TX off of ebay they are cheap and then you will always have it if you need to train somebody else.You will need to still buy the cord. I think this is compatible with the radio you have. I would ask the buyer I have bought a few items from him he is good to deal with.

http://cgi.ebay.com/Brand-New-Futaba...item3f0babfed8
Thanks Gramps, It is a great price and would work great with my 7c on a trainer cord for my other planes that I plan on using the orange Fasst compaible receivers. I might just buy one to go with the 7c with the trainer cord. But the FYF-4 is not compatible with the 7c FASST tecnology - same manufacturer?

What I was trying to accomplish was having my grandsons able to "co-pilot" my HZ Champ that uses the DSM2 technology. I might start looking on Ebay for some DX5e DSM2 radios. It probably won't be all bad having radios for the DSM2 or X since Parkzone sure has some attractive planes that are sized right for my back yard field.

I just wish that the compatibility issue was easier to deal with and thanks for the tip and site url.

Roger
RightFly is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 03:28 AM   #6
gramps2361
Community Moderator
 
gramps2361's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: oxford, MA
Posts: 6,673
View gramps2361's Gallery9
Thanked 602 Times in 597 Posts
Club: Rocky Hill Flying Circus
iTrader: (3)
Friends: (21)
Default

Would be nice if things where compatible with each other. I missed the that fact the cub is all ready setup with the spectrum RX so it wouldn't work. One reason why I won't buy their planes wish they would just do a airframe only they do have some great looking planes.
By the way I have 2 of those orange RX's been a year and they are still working great.

Good luck teaching the grand kids that will be a fun time for all of you.
John
gramps2361 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2011, 04:14 AM   #7
RightFly
No Clique Zone
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Western Michigan
Posts: 158
Thanked 22 Times in 22 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (2)
Default

Originally Posted by gramps2161 View Post
Would be nice if things where compatible with each other. I missed the that fact the cub is all ready setup with the spectrum RX so it wouldn't work. One reason why I won't buy their planes wish they would just do a airframe only they do have some great looking planes.
By the way I have 2 of those orange RX's been a year and they are still working great.

Good luck teaching the grand kids that will be a fun time for all of you.
John
I think I have solved my dilema. My primary object was to have my "co-pilots" help me fly. I took your advice and bought the Futaba 4FY-4 trainer box. The second step would probably get everyone's approval.

I bought another airplane!

I bought a Great Planes FlyLite Slow Flyer. Basicaly just an oversize Champ but I can put one of my Orange receivers in it and stay with my Futaba radios. Now my 8 and 12 year old grandsons can help me fly - heck, they will probably show me how.

Thanks for your suggestion it got me down the right path.

Roger
RightFly is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Reply

  WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > R/C Electric Topics - General > RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Futaba 7c programming question Jarsalla RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros 0 07-07-2011 09:54 AM
will spektrum servos work with futaba fasst system? cpmalish RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros 5 03-11-2011 05:52 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:26 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 WattfFlyer.com
RCU Eflight HQ

Charities we support Select: Yorkie Rescue  ::  Crohn's & Colitis Foundation



Page generated in 0.16897 seconds with 33 queries