Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric R/C Airplanes > ParkFlyers
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

ParkFlyers Talk about all backyard and parkflyer aircraft here

Thank you for your support (hide ads)
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-08-2012, 04:31 PM   #1
pianodood
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Windsor, Ont.
Posts: 31
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default yet another Super Cub question re: model numbers?

Is there any difference structurally between the BHZ7100, 7300 and 7400?

Just looking at some mod stuff, and seeing things like 'compatible with BHZ7100 and 7300. Well, I have the 7400, and before I start planning some upgrades and fun times in the workshop, wanted some clarification.

Thanks!
pianodood is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 06:39 PM   #2
Murocflyer
WAA-08 Pilot #1
 
Murocflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Edwards AFB, CA
Posts: 7,012
Thanked 312 Times in 295 Posts
Awards Showcase

WAA-08 Pilot  Globetrotter Pilot  AV Contest  AP Contest Winner 
iTrader: (8)
Friends: (0)
Default

Originally Posted by pianodood View Post
Is there any difference structurally between the BHZ7100, 7300 and 7400?

Just looking at some mod stuff, and seeing things like 'compatible with BHZ7100 and 7300. Well, I have the 7400, and before I start planning some upgrades and fun times in the workshop, wanted some clarification.

Thanks!
Do you have a link to one of those models? I do not recognize the "BHZ".

Frank

Let's Help Newcomers! << Click Here
Murocflyer is online now  
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 06:58 PM   #3
pianodood
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Windsor, Ont.
Posts: 31
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

I'm sorry, I could have been more specific. Those are just prefix codes from HobbyZone. I have the Super Cub DSMX, which is listed as the BHZ7300. The others listed were Super Cub LP, which I"m sure is the same plane, but wanted to be sure.
pianodood is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 06:59 PM   #4
simibill
General Factotum
 
simibill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Simi Valley,CA
Posts: 1,152
View simibill's Gallery34
Thanked 53 Times in 53 Posts
Club: Simi Valley Flyers
Awards Showcase

Outstanding Contributor Award 
iTrader: (19)
Friends: (10)
Default

Originally Posted by Murocflyer View Post
Do you have a link to one of those models? I do not recognize the "BHZ".

Frank
I think he means Super Cub DSM
HobbyZone HBZ7400 Electric RTF Park Flyer

Life's journey is not to arrive at the grave in a well preserved body,
but rather to skid in sideways totally worn out shouting, Holy Crap... what a ride.
simibill is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 07:20 PM   #5
pianodood
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Windsor, Ont.
Posts: 31
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

I did, simibill. Sorry, I'm at work and typing first, thinking second.

pianodood is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 07:53 PM   #6
dahawk
Super Contributor
 
dahawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Keller, TX
Posts: 3,440
View dahawk's Gallery6
Thanked 211 Times in 207 Posts
Club: 114th RC Aero Squadron
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (19)
Default

Sounds like you have the latest SC version with 2.4. Spektrum TX/Rx, as in DSM2? At least you don't have to deal with the old 27. BL motor? If so, you are blessed and that's another mod you can avoid. Does it still come equipped with ACT? If, so, I highly recommend disabling this anti-crash feature. It causes more problems than it solves.

Heck, cut out the ailerons ( I'd replace the foam with balsa) , mount the servos and you're good to go !

-Hawk
dahawk is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 07:58 PM   #7
pianodood
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Windsor, Ont.
Posts: 31
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

I like that aileron strategy, Hawk! Yes to everything, except it's not a BL motor. 480 Brushed. I'm going to upgrade that soon. ACT has not only been disabled, but unplugged. I don't need it.
pianodood is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 05:19 PM   #8
Dimeflyer
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Southweastern Pa.
Posts: 767
Thanked 57 Times in 55 Posts
Club: haven't picked one yet ?
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (2)
Default

That is crash guaranteed to happen tec. !!!!
I had a heck of a time with the first flight on my HZSC untill I figured out what was causeing the plane to fight my stick input I crashed at least three times
in three takeoffs and then read the instuctions again and moved the switch to off !
Then found out the plane did not like high speed wind gusts and broke a prop on landing on the fourth trip -Darn Darn Darn !!!!!!!!!!!!
George
Dimeflyer is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 06:18 PM   #9
dheaton
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 103
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

I have a new not flown yet Super Cub LP and until today I did not know the difference between a brushed or brushless motor. Why would The new super cub still use the brushed motor? Everyone tells me that they are only good for paper weights?

Also I have the Spektrum 6dxi radio. I understand that I can turn off the ACT with a switch on the radio. Correct? Should I still disconnect it? How is that done?
dheaton is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 06:51 PM   #10
dahawk
Super Contributor
 
dahawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Keller, TX
Posts: 3,440
View dahawk's Gallery6
Thanked 211 Times in 207 Posts
Club: 114th RC Aero Squadron
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (19)
Default

Did your SCLP come with 2.4 ? As in Spektrum rx ? I hear the new version is now 2.4. Mine came with 27mhz, a brushed motoer and brushed esc.

If yours came with the Spektrum setup , it's already 2.4mhz which is good. I just clipped the wires on the ACT. It's basically just a light detecting photocell but can cause more trouble than it's worth. Kind of a gimmick to lure newbies into the idea that it prevents crashes. Not !

I upgraded mine with a BL Park 480 from Headsup rc and a 30 amp brushless esc. They sell combos that are easy to install.

There are several Youtubes on SCLP upgrades.

Get her in the air and you'll be saying: " Now I want a PZ T-28 !"

Best,

Hawk
dahawk is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 07:36 PM   #11
Chucksolo69
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Oceanside, CA
Posts: 262
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default

Mine, bought 10 months ago was 2.4 ghz from the start and was the BNF model. I fly it bound to my Spektrum DX6i TX.
Chucksolo69 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 07:46 PM   #12
dheaton
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 103
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

Yes it is a 2.4 with a Specktum RX.

Originally Posted by dahawk View Post
Did your SCLP come with 2.4 ? As in Spektrum rx ? I hear the new version is now 2.4. Mine came with 27mhz, a brushed motoer and brushed esc.

If yours came with the Spektrum setup , it's already 2.4mhz which is good. I just clipped the wires on the ACT. It's basically just a light detecting photocell but can cause more trouble than it's worth. Kind of a gimmick to lure newbies into the idea that it prevents crashes. Not !

I upgraded mine with a BL Park 480 from Headsup rc and a 30 amp brushless esc. They sell combos that are easy to install.

There are several Youtubes on SCLP upgrades.

Get her in the air and you'll be saying: " Now I want a PZ T-28 !"

Best,

Hawk
dheaton is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 07:47 PM   #13
dheaton
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 103
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

You have done exactly what I did. I wanted the 6 chanel radio so I went with the bind n fly
Did you cut your ACT wire?


Originally Posted by Chucksolo69 View Post
Mine, bought 10 months ago was 2.4 ghz from the start and was the BNF model. I fly it bound to my Spektrum DX6i TX.
dheaton is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 08:08 PM   #14
Chucksolo69
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Oceanside, CA
Posts: 262
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default

No, I basically just turn it off by setting the "Gear" switch to the "1" position. I don't like cutting wires. Since I only have one plane with retracts, I just make sure the "Gear" switch is in the correct position when I fly the Super Cub.
Chucksolo69 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 10:35 PM   #15
Turner
Super Contributor
 
Turner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 1,377
Thanked 130 Times in 128 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (3)
Default

No need to cut anything, just unplug the sensor wires from the receiver.
Turner is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Reply

  WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric R/C Airplanes > ParkFlyers

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Super Cub & Wind Question vaflyer General Electric Discussions 17 04-14-2012 10:51 PM
I got a question Super Cub LP type Fishbonez Beginners 115 09-23-2011 01:48 PM
For Sale Aluminum motor mount for Flyzone Select Scale Super Cub and 450 size motor terrynshed Motors and Speed Controllers for sale & WTB 43 09-04-2011 05:32 PM
"Best Super Cub, Ever" (well, maybe not) KenSue ParkFlyers 5 05-15-2011 05:16 PM
For Sale HZ Mini Super Cub All American Airplanes - Electric For Sale & WTB 2 02-08-2010 10:17 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:58 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 WattfFlyer.com
RCU Eflight HQ

Charities we support Select: Yorkie Rescue  ::  Crohn's & Colitis Foundation



Page generated in 0.52458 seconds with 49 queries