Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric R/C Airplanes > Hi-Performance and Sailplanes
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

Hi-Performance and Sailplanes RC hotliners, electric pylon racers, F5B, F5D, sailplanes and gliders

Thank you for your support (hide ads)
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-22-2012, 04:19 AM   #1301
Nitro Blast
Community Moderator
 
Nitro Blast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sunny San Diego Ca
Posts: 3,941
View Nitro Blast's Gallery38
Thanked 400 Times in 342 Posts
Club: Silent Electric Fliers of San Diego
Send a message via MSN to Nitro Blast
Awards Showcase

100mph Speed Demon  3kW  1kW  WAA-08 Pilot 
iTrader: (20)
Friends: (67)
Default

I would try two things

If you havent gone through the ESC Programming, check the timing setting if there is one.

In theory, you should be able to replicate this issue with it secure on the ground, and get some distance between you and the plane (like a range test).
Ensure there isnt anything loose on the ESC and or that it isnt being shook up on heavy throttle.

Weird indeed.

Electricity... It's not just for light bulbs anymore.

GoProfessional Cases industry grade protection for your gear

Dinogy Lipos professional grade energy

Project Globetrotter Participant 7/09
Wings Across America Participant 6/10
Nitro Blast is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 06:42 AM   #1302
mclarkson
Super Contributor
 
mclarkson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 2,638
View mclarkson's Gallery4
Thanked 162 Times in 160 Posts
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Outstanding Contributor Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (7)
Default

Hmmm... it's the stock ESC - same one I've been running for 2.5 years or so. I know it's programmable, but I'm not sure what the stock settings would be.

I agree it should do it on the ground as well. I'm baffled. I'll keep bangin' on it.

mclarkson is online now  
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 04:35 PM   #1303
squidger
Member
 
squidger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Horley Surrey UK
Posts: 703
Thanked 43 Times in 43 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (3)
Default

Try another esc just to rule it out. That sounds like insufficient current to the motor.
squidger is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 05:15 PM   #1304
NoResults
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 53
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

Can anyone tell me where you can get a replacement (better) hub and spinner that will fit the Radian. The crummy plastic spinner always breaks and is held on with a couple flimsy wood screws.

What are others using for hub, spinner and prop. Thank you
NoResults is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 06:40 PM   #1305
Tom Moody
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Rockford, IL
Posts: 115
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

Originally Posted by NoResults View Post
Can anyone tell me where you can get a replacement (better) hub and spinner that will fit the Radian. The crummy plastic spinner always breaks and is held on with a couple flimsy wood screws.

What are others using for hub, spinner and prop. Thank you
Gee, I have over a hundred flights on my Radian and have not broke the spinner yet. I did break the nose off but was able to repair that with hot glue.

Tom Moody
Tom Moody is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 11:07 PM   #1306
pattern14
Super Contributor
 
pattern14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,207
Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (8)
Default

Originally Posted by NoResults View Post
Can anyone tell me where you can get a replacement (better) hub and spinner that will fit the Radian. The crummy plastic spinner always breaks and is held on with a couple flimsy wood screws.

What are others using for hub, spinner and prop. Thank you
I ended up making a couple of wing mounted nacelles out of scrap EPP and balsa(the pic's are in an earlier post), turning it into a twin. The whole nose set up, being junk, basically fell apart. You can get aftermarket prop/motor/spinner combo's that you could mod the nose to fit, as anything would be an improvement over stock. In fact, I got so tired of the whole deal, I kept just the wings, and made a complete new EPP and coreflute plane around them. Never looked back I know other people have had success with the standard plane, and maybe I just bought a lemon, but as my third pz plane, I got pretty tired of crap servo's, fragile foam and exorbitant prices. The radian has a brilliant wing design though, and my custom version is my favourite sailplane.
pattern14 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 02:28 AM   #1307
NoResults
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 53
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

Well Tom, I am happy you have good luck with this plane. But you did not give me a clue as to the answer to my question.

Pattern14 Thank you. I feel you are right on. I am not a great plane builder or I would do as you did. Maybee crash test hobby or killer planes will come out with a better built glider.
NoResults is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 12:43 PM   #1308
coreman
Combatant/Target
 
coreman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Southbridge MA
Posts: 105
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Club: Sturbridge Lawn Darts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (2)
Default

Originally Posted by NoResults View Post
Can anyone tell me where you can get a replacement (better) hub and spinner that will fit the Radian. The crummy plastic spinner always breaks and is held on with a couple flimsy wood screws.

What are others using for hub, spinner and prop. Thank you
I ordered http://hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store...dProduct=19018 from Hobby King. It should be in later this week. The blade pivots are a bit farther apart so it will be interesting to see what effect that has on it. I got several other blade selections to test as well. Right now I am looking for an altitude logger so I can do accurate climb comparisons with the various prop combinations
coreman is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 03:12 PM   #1309
Nitro Blast
Community Moderator
 
Nitro Blast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sunny San Diego Ca
Posts: 3,941
View Nitro Blast's Gallery38
Thanked 400 Times in 342 Posts
Club: Silent Electric Fliers of San Diego
Send a message via MSN to Nitro Blast
Awards Showcase

100mph Speed Demon  3kW  1kW  WAA-08 Pilot 
iTrader: (20)
Friends: (67)
Default

Originally Posted by coreman View Post
Right now I am looking for an altitude logger so I can do accurate climb comparisons with the various prop combinations

We use these:

http://www.jollylogic.com/products/altimeterone/



and they fantastic. We actually have a few in the club, and use them for 'altitude quest' games also.

Electricity... It's not just for light bulbs anymore.

GoProfessional Cases industry grade protection for your gear

Dinogy Lipos professional grade energy

Project Globetrotter Participant 7/09
Wings Across America Participant 6/10
Nitro Blast is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 04:11 PM   #1310
coreman
Combatant/Target
 
coreman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Southbridge MA
Posts: 105
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Club: Sturbridge Lawn Darts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (2)
Default

Originally Posted by Nitro Blast View Post
We use these:

http://www.jollylogic.com/products/altimeterone/



and they fantastic. We actually have a few in the club, and use them for 'altitude quest' games also.
I got this one from Amazon for $50 shipped (similar to your unit) and it records the GPS data of the entire flight so you can overlay it on Google maps. The thought was I could pick the start and end point and do the math to get climb angle as well as altitude gained. one of the local ESL guys has one and has posted some interesting graphs showing where thermals tend to get generated at the field and such.
http://www.amazon.com/Canmore-GT-730...ck+Data+Logger
coreman is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 04:18 PM   #1311
coreman
Combatant/Target
 
coreman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Southbridge MA
Posts: 105
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Club: Sturbridge Lawn Darts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (2)
Default

Originally Posted by AEAJR View Post
I will put some dark colored tape on the bottom of the wings, from root to tip, to make it more visable. That's it. Flies beautiful just as it is.
Put some chrome reflective strips on the leading edge as telltales when specked out. You get blinks when it is pointed towards you. I did 4 on mine, the angled tips and the inboard sections so I get the following sequence: a tip glint, then the two inboard panels and then the other tip while circling. I used to do this on all my open class gliders so I could push the limits of my eyesight and still head back home
coreman is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 04:20 PM   #1312
coreman
Combatant/Target
 
coreman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Southbridge MA
Posts: 105
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Club: Sturbridge Lawn Darts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (2)
Default

Originally Posted by scottdearinger View Post
okay - I am back over the city- further from downtown and over a big park that gets lots of RC action - despite all of your displeasure with my videos- you sure did add some views-
Just trust me- we will be safe - I don't want to get in trouble- the Waterworks Park security knows me well here and I am welcome...

What did you post now Scott?? I've been flying my HK wingcam but haven't gotten anything worth posting yet. I hope to get some nice foliage shots over the next couple of weeks (we haven't hit peak yet). Good to see you in here. I always enjoy the two stooges productions
coreman is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2012, 01:40 AM   #1313
Nitro Blast
Community Moderator
 
Nitro Blast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sunny San Diego Ca
Posts: 3,941
View Nitro Blast's Gallery38
Thanked 400 Times in 342 Posts
Club: Silent Electric Fliers of San Diego
Send a message via MSN to Nitro Blast
Awards Showcase

100mph Speed Demon  3kW  1kW  WAA-08 Pilot 
iTrader: (20)
Friends: (67)
Default

Originally Posted by coreman View Post
I got this one from Amazon for $50 shipped
http://www.amazon.com/Canmore-GT-730...ck+Data+Logger

SCORE! Thanks coreman, (button clicked!) I'm getting one of those.

Electricity... It's not just for light bulbs anymore.

GoProfessional Cases industry grade protection for your gear

Dinogy Lipos professional grade energy

Project Globetrotter Participant 7/09
Wings Across America Participant 6/10
Nitro Blast is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2012, 04:16 AM   #1314
coreman
Combatant/Target
 
coreman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Southbridge MA
Posts: 105
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Club: Sturbridge Lawn Darts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (2)
Default

Originally Posted by Nitro Blast View Post
SCORE! Thanks coreman, (button clicked!) I'm getting one of those.
Mine has been shipped so I hope to be able to do my prop testing sometime next week
coreman is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 01:33 PM   #1315
doug773
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: THE WORLD
Posts: 28
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default Radian horizontal stabilizer - beware!

I was flying my 2 years old Radian (although the fuselage has been replaced...) on a beautiful tropical afternoon, at about 300' when all of a sudden it pitched down. It barely responded to my desperate nose up commands, finally hitting the ground at high speed, on a 60 degree nose down attitude.
Fortunately the place I use to fly is the perfect one: it's a huge open space with lots of vegetation 10 to 20" tall and soft sandy soil, that dampens even the worse of the impacts.
I had just some fuselage damage!
Everything else was working just perfect.

Post crash investigation showed the culprit: due bad design the lower horizontal stabilizer plastic foil cover simply became loose, leading edge first, creating a powerfull pitch down momentum, that easily overpowered the available control!
It was fixed glueing back and covering the leading edge with tape, besides, of course, the fours hours dedicated to rebuild the fuselage with the help of CA.
It's brand new again!
I strongly suggest you guys inspect the horizontal tail before each flight.
doug773 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 02:49 AM   #1316
sotjet
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

Originally Posted by Tom Moody View Post
Gee, I have over a hundred flights on my Radian and have not broke the spinner yet. I did break the nose off but was able to repair that with hot glue.

Tom Moody
Hey!
I crashed it on the first flight becasuse the wind was blowing it backwards!
And the nose came off too!
And I repaired it with CA!
sotjet is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 03:40 AM   #1317
doug773
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: THE WORLD
Posts: 28
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

Were are you, guys???
doug773 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 07:44 AM   #1318
coreman
Combatant/Target
 
coreman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Southbridge MA
Posts: 105
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Club: Sturbridge Lawn Darts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (2)
Default

Originally Posted by doug773 View Post
Were are you, guys???
Up here in the north I've switched over to flying indoors until probably March or April at this point. While the air is dense and winter thermals can be strong, the flesh is weak!
coreman is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 02:53 PM   #1319
AEAJR
Community Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 5,219
Thanked 340 Times in 302 Posts
Club: Long Island Silent Flyers
Awards Showcase

WAA-08 Pilot  Outstanding Contributor Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (8)
Default

I added flaps to a new wing for my Radian. It lets me land even slower and I can play with camber and reflex. But I am not sure it makes all that much difference on this glider, except for spot landing. But it is fun to have another surface to play with.

I still fly it on the DX5e that was included with the RTF package. I do the flap to elevator mixing manually. I moved the throttle to the gear switch and moved flaps to the left stick on my DX5e.

Long Island Silent Flyers
www.lisf.org
Eastern Soaring League
www.flyesl.org
AEAJR is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 03:52 PM   #1320
Nitro Blast
Community Moderator
 
Nitro Blast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sunny San Diego Ca
Posts: 3,941
View Nitro Blast's Gallery38
Thanked 400 Times in 342 Posts
Club: Silent Electric Fliers of San Diego
Send a message via MSN to Nitro Blast
Awards Showcase

100mph Speed Demon  3kW  1kW  WAA-08 Pilot 
iTrader: (20)
Friends: (67)
Default

Originally Posted by doug773 View Post
Thank you!
Do you know something about this device's performance and dependability?
Wheight, range, etc.
Did any folks have any experience with this?
Hi Doug,
I now have a plethora of experience with Feytech devices. So far, they have been solidly reliable. The weight is minimal (like a RX), and I dont know what you mean by range.... it has longer range than my eyes do, and that is still dependant on the Radio system.


Sattelite signal is great, there are modules out now that have a little watch style battery that hold memory for sattelite location that make them faster to boot up, but even the non battery versions dont take too long to aquire sattelites.

Electricity... It's not just for light bulbs anymore.

GoProfessional Cases industry grade protection for your gear

Dinogy Lipos professional grade energy

Project Globetrotter Participant 7/09
Wings Across America Participant 6/10
Nitro Blast is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 09:32 AM   #1321
doug773
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: THE WORLD
Posts: 28
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default New device for the Radian

Do you guys have any experience with this:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...cm_cr_asin_lnk ??
doug773 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 11:35 AM   #1322
coreman
Combatant/Target
 
coreman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Southbridge MA
Posts: 105
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Club: Sturbridge Lawn Darts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (2)
Default

Originally Posted by doug773 View Post
Do you guys have any experience with this:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...cm_cr_asin_lnk ??
There has been some discussion on RCG about it. The units work really well for stabilizing planes. The concern with using it on a glider is that it's going to mask thermal indicators by preventing the tip raising or tail raising upon entering. If all you want is a stable camera platform and aren't concerned with thermalling, they work great
coreman is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 09:11 AM   #1323
doug773
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: THE WORLD
Posts: 28
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default Thank you Coreman

I'd use it mainly on windy days.
As for the camera, do you have some recomendations, budget wise?

Thank you!

Doug
doug773 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 09:24 AM   #1324
mclarkson
Super Contributor
 
mclarkson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 2,638
View mclarkson's Gallery4
Thanked 162 Times in 160 Posts
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Outstanding Contributor Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (7)
Default

Both for flying on the plane, and for taking video from my point of view, I use 808 #11 and #16 keychain cameras, available via eBay for about $30 - $40. I'd get the #16, but still have some older #11s.

Some sample video. Onboards are #16s with wide angle lenses.:
YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.


Here's one of my older #11s on my Radian:
YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.

mclarkson is online now  
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 10:09 AM   #1325
coreman
Combatant/Target
 
coreman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Southbridge MA
Posts: 105
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Club: Sturbridge Lawn Darts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (2)
Default

Originally Posted by doug773 View Post
I'd use it mainly on windy days.
As for the camera, do you have some recomendations, budget wise?

Thank you!

Doug
I have the keychain cameras mentioned. They work well. As another alternative. I use the Hobby King Wingcam. I took this video on my Radian using that. They had been running about $35

coreman is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Reply

  WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric R/C Airplanes > Hi-Performance and Sailplanes

Tags
parkzone , plane , radian

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ParkZone Radian sailplane *rider ParkFlyers 519 04-12-2014 09:47 PM
Next plane... Parkzone trojan T28 or Eflite Pulse Mini XT? mlamb01 Beginners 9 05-06-2008 08:48 PM
Anybody see this plane from parkzone? GreenAce92 ParkFlyers 21 03-17-2008 04:44 PM
Parkzone Spitfire as Beginner Plane? marchino61 Beginners 47 07-08-2007 08:03 AM
wtb parkzone plane parts nimitz Airplanes - Electric For Sale & WTB 7 02-05-2006 01:04 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:00 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 WattfFlyer.com
RCU Eflight HQ

Charities we support Select: Yorkie Rescue  ::  Crohn's & Colitis Foundation



Page generated in 0.47727 seconds with 73 queries