Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > R/C Electric Power - Batteries, Chargers, ESCs and More > Power Systems
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

Power Systems Talk about motors, ESC speed controllers, gear drives, propellers, power system simulators and all power system related topics

Thank you for your support (hide ads)
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-22-2012, 01:48 AM   #1
p3arljam
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 60
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default Spektrum DX6I the right choice?

Ok im new to the hobby an addicted already and i will soon be in the market for a TX/RX. I will never own more than 10 planes and will be flying with my son and at a local flying field nothing more. Is the DX6I more than enough for someone like me?
p3arljam is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 02:41 AM   #2
Sir Crash-A-Lot
Crash Specialist
 
Sir Crash-A-Lot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 293
Thanked 34 Times in 34 Posts
Club: AzWingNutz
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (2)
Default

Personally I would say no. I have a DX6i and I do not like it that much. I like the Futaba EX6 much better. Never had a issue with the Futaba but I have had with the Spektrum. People will tell you the receivers are cheaper for the Spectrum which is true but not that much cheaper. What is the cost of a plane?

If you want to go Spectrum at least get the 7 but I would personally recommend the Futaba radios.

Mike

Sir Crash-A-Lot is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 02:54 AM   #3
Brick
small Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Marina Village, NC
Posts: 249
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (0)
Default

i use the Spektrum DX7....it holds 20 planes/helis. my first one is full !!! i like it so much....i got a second

the one i use is the original DX7....NOT the DX7S
Brick is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 04:00 AM   #4
xmech2k
Ya got any Beeman's?
 
xmech2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,537
View xmech2k's Gallery21
Thanked 237 Times in 235 Posts
Club: CVMRCC, SEFSD
Awards Showcase

1kW  Outstanding Contributor Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (7)
Default

The 6i was my first computer radio, and served me fine, until I ran out of channels. Fine for the standard 4ch +flaps & retracts. But then if you want to run the elevators on seperate channels, too, you're out of luck. I think it's just fine if that's all you do. I've had Spektrum for 5+ years, never had a problem with my equipment, but we had a guy at the field who had one plane it kept cutting out with. Probably something with his plane, but he was pretty new. I don't know if he ever figured it out, haven't seen him in a long time.
xmech2k is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 04:38 AM   #5
Fishbonez
Love my Stinger
 
Fishbonez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 2,223
Thanked 105 Times in 104 Posts
Club: Cheyenne Hill Hoppers
Send a message via AIM to Fishbonez Send a message via Yahoo to Fishbonez
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (17)
Default

Originally Posted by p3arljam View Post
I will never own more than 10 planes
Dont say never. I said the exact same thing. In one year I had 8 planes and in the 2nd I had my 10 planes. I love my dx6I it has been reliable thus far. I am limited to 6 channels however and I think I would have been happier with a 7 or 8 because of the model memory alone. I have not owned any of the others such as futaba etc and never heard anything bad with them in fact some come highly recommended. When I bought my DX6i i did not understand the difference between a computer radio and an older 72 mhz radio and I figured they were all the same and not propritory, and the whole DSMX thing, is still kinda new and confusing to me but were figuring it out slowly but surely, anyway Spektrum was the preferred Tx sold at my LHS and I think it was a good purchase and I would recommend it a DX6I but i warn you once you catch the bug this addiction will sweep you off your feet and the next thing you know you wanna have more model memory. Thats my .02 newbie worth I have for ya good luck and have a blast.

Happy flying may your crashes be limited and if they are not limited let them be cool.
Fishbonez is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 08:25 AM   #6
baz49exe
Super Contributor
 
baz49exe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Devon. England
Posts: 1,101
View baz49exe's Gallery15
Thanked 135 Times in 130 Posts
Club: East Devon Radio Control Club
Awards Showcase

Outstanding Contributor Award  Scratchbuilders Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (15)
Default

I've had my DX6i for about four years now with no issues at all apart from when I dropped it and then the Horizon repair service was nothing short of fantastic.
One major advantage for me is the availability of very cheap compatible receivers and the fact that I could buy a budget DX5e to act as a slave TX and enable me to buddy box my grandson without huge expense.
The unexpected advantage of this was that I discovered that although the model match facility on the 6i was limiting me to 10 models and I had used that up the 5e will bind to any number of receivers so I transferred all my basic models to that TX and saved the 6i for my more demanding models.
This gave me a flexible set up for little outlay.
Whatever you eventually decide have great fun!
baz49exe is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 01:25 PM   #7
NJSwede
3D wannabe
 
NJSwede's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,722
View NJSwede's Gallery1
Thanked 105 Times in 102 Posts
Club: Somerset Signal Senders & GCA
Awards Showcase

2kW  1kW 
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (10)
Default

If I were you and had the means, I would invest the extra money in a DX7s or DX8. If you're ever thinking of getting into 3D models, the DX6i is a particularly poor choice, since it doesn't allow for the extreme throws you want. Another feature you'll love is the telemetry, especially the battery alarm. That would have saved me from a lot of trouble.

(I personally have an old DX7, which I love. But I'm hoping Santa will bring a DX8, simply because I'm starting to get into models that are expensive enough to warrant telemetry...)

AMA #959089
NJSwede is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 02:08 PM   #8
swimmer
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Derby, Kansas
Posts: 225
Thanked 11 Times in 9 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (2)
Default

The DX6i is a great choice. If you do happen to eventually need more than 10 models it will sell very well. Go for it!

Allan
swimmer is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 04:54 PM   #9
slipstick
Super Contributor
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: N.Staffs, UK
Posts: 2,350
Thanked 197 Times in 191 Posts
Awards Showcase

Outstanding Contributor Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default

I've had my DX6i for years too and it works for anything I've ever needed. Unless you're going to be flying big complicated models that need lots of mixing it should be perfect for you.

Steve
slipstick is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 05:54 PM   #10
kyleservicetech
Dennis V
 
kyleservicetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 7,933
Thanked 683 Times in 666 Posts
Club: www.racinercclub.com (I'm the newsletter editor)
Awards Showcase

Outstanding Contributor Award  3kW  2kW  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (20)
Default

Originally Posted by p3arljam View Post
Ok im new to the hobby an addicted already and i will soon be in the market for a TX/RX. I will never own more than 10 planes and will be flying with my son and at a local flying field nothing more. Is the DX6I more than enough for someone like me?
I've had two DX7's for some 6 years, with the second as a backup unit. (Never had to use the backup unit.) A year ago, the primary DX7 transmitter and 6 receivers were sent to Horizon for a "Checkup". Horizon checked everything out, all was OK, and returned it no charge. They even paid return shipping!

That said, I picked up a DX8 last summer. The DX8 is an order of magnitude easier to program for complex stuff than the DX7.

But, unless you go to models with dual aileron servos, dual elevator servos, and need a lot of mixes, that DX6i should work out just fine.

DennyV
Retired and the days are just too short, busier than ever!
kyleservicetech is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Reply

  WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > R/C Electric Power - Batteries, Chargers, ESCs and More > Power Systems

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale REDUCED PRICE: Spektrum DX6i Cheese_Puddin Radio Equipment For Sale & WTB 5 09-29-2012 02:09 PM
For Sale E-Flite Blade mSR + Radio Spektrum DX6i hemdale Helicopters- Electric For Sale & WTB 0 07-19-2012 07:56 PM
Noob Budget $200: Spektrum DX6i or a Futaba T7C? Left Coast DJ RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros 6 02-03-2012 05:07 PM
For Sale FS: SPEKTRUM DX6i W/ SCREEN BACKLIGHT MOD raitheslacker Radio Equipment For Sale & WTB 0 10-10-2011 03:12 AM
spektrum dx6i help cottonpicker Beginners - Helis 7 01-25-2011 03:59 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:22 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 WattfFlyer.com
RCU Eflight HQ

Charities we support Select: Yorkie Rescue  ::  Crohn's & Colitis Foundation



Page generated in 0.18756 seconds with 39 queries