Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric R/C Airplanes > Indoor & Micro Electric Planes
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

Indoor & Micro Electric Planes Talk about indoor & Micro electric powered flight here

Thank you for your support (hide ads)
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-30-2012, 08:09 AM   #1
boodaghost
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Albertville, AL
Posts: 87
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default New Carbon Cub Flap Dysfunction

Bound and set up a new Eflite Carbon Cub to my DX-7 tonight. Everything except the flaps was functional. The manual states that the flaps default to channel 5 which is the GEAR channel (don't like this because it's all or none). Anyway, the flaps don't do jack..... I played around with the settings and got nothing. I've never had an issue like this one and am wondering if anyone has any suggestions. Could I have bound the plane with the gear switch in the wrong position??? Does something need to be reset in the programming of the DX-7??? Very confused by this one.......
boodaghost is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 08:01 PM   #2
Wildflyer
2014 President of PSSF
 
Wildflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Lacey WA, 1 mile E of Mushroom Corner
Posts: 1,049
Thanked 123 Times in 120 Posts
Club: Puget Sound Silent Flyers -PSSF & Thurston County Miniature Aircraft Association - TCMAA
iTrader: (3)
Friends: (7)
Default

Binding the receiver to the transmitter, is not affected by the gear switch.
I don't have a DX-7, but does it have a monitor screen, that will show you if the transmitted signal for your flap channel, is really changing?

You DX-7 has no variable aux channels, so I think you should be able program it to use the 3 position flap switch. Then you could have; no flaps, take off setting, and full down landing setting.

I hope someone with a DX-7 can guide you.

But I have to admit something sounds wrong. If you bought it at a local hobby shop take it back to them. Or call Horizon Hobby Product support, they are very friendly and can guide you through a full check out. Then you will know for certain.

Good luck, that is a good flying plane, it really looks good towing the glider up. several of my friends do that.

Dave R, Proud PGR rider.
When you have flying skills like mine,
You become a master at repair.
Wildflyer is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 09:01 PM   #3
xmech2k
Ya got any Beeman's?
 
xmech2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,214
View xmech2k's Gallery21
Thanked 214 Times in 212 Posts
Club: CVMRCC, SEFSD
Awards Showcase

1kW  Outstanding Contributor Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (7)
Default

Now that Wildflyer mentions it, I think the default for flaps settings in Spektrum tx's have no movement. I think it's defaulted to servo center. You said you checked the settings for this, though?

But then you mentioned ch5 is the gear channel? Have you tried all the channels on your tx? Also, you checked the servo connectors on the rx? Maybe they didn't plug them in all the way or something at the factory.
xmech2k is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 01:58 AM   #4
Wildflyer
2014 President of PSSF
 
Wildflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Lacey WA, 1 mile E of Mushroom Corner
Posts: 1,049
Thanked 123 Times in 120 Posts
Club: Puget Sound Silent Flyers -PSSF & Thurston County Miniature Aircraft Association - TCMAA
iTrader: (3)
Friends: (7)
Default

My friends carbon cub on a DX-7, operates the flaps, all or nothing with the landing gear switch.

He is trying to figure out how to program the flap 3p switch to mix to the landing gear channel, it should work but I don't have a DX-7 to play with.

Dave R, Proud PGR rider.
When you have flying skills like mine,
You become a master at repair.
Wildflyer is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 03:52 AM   #5
xmech2k
Ya got any Beeman's?
 
xmech2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,214
View xmech2k's Gallery21
Thanked 214 Times in 212 Posts
Club: CVMRCC, SEFSD
Awards Showcase

1kW  Outstanding Contributor Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (7)
Default

Not that it will help me to help you figure this out, but maybe someone else: Is your tx really a Dx-7, or is it a Dx-7s? Don't know if it would matter.
xmech2k is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 04:00 AM   #6
Stevephoon
Member
 
Stevephoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: White Lake, MI
Posts: 877
View Stevephoon's Gallery40
Thanked 92 Times in 91 Posts
Club: United Flying Organization
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (7)
Default

It also depends on the RX you are using...

But, on one of my planes I used a couple of mixes on my DX7 TX to do just what you are talking about. The Flap servos are in the RX Gear out. On the TX I mixed the flap sw to the gear and I mixed the gear sw to an unused output (Aux2?). This way the 3 position flap sw was used to move the flaps and the gear sw on the TX did nothing.

Steve

Growing the fleet!
Stevephoon is online now  
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 05:41 AM   #7
boodaghost
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Albertville, AL
Posts: 87
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default

I've played around with this some more and am still getting nothing. The manual states that it is the GEAR switch that operates the flaps. Looking at the radio's (DX-7) display showing each channels movement, the gear switch does appear to be working. Had the flaps worked, my plan was to program the radio to use the three place flap switch to operate them.

I called the HS that sold it and was told to bring it back and they would replace as they had not seen this issue. I really don't want to crack it open in a search for loose wiring until they've made a determination as to what to do with it.
Appreciate all of the recommendations and I'll post the end result.
Thanks.
boodaghost is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 07:10 AM   #8
Wildflyer
2014 President of PSSF
 
Wildflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Lacey WA, 1 mile E of Mushroom Corner
Posts: 1,049
Thanked 123 Times in 120 Posts
Club: Puget Sound Silent Flyers -PSSF & Thurston County Miniature Aircraft Association - TCMAA
iTrader: (3)
Friends: (7)
Default

Because the display shows the flap channel is working, Defiantly take it back to the HS. Somehow the system is not working.

Since it uses a receiver similar to the 6400's, there is no choice there.

If you break it open you are stuck, the HS would no longer honor a warranty.

There is very little chance you will find a broken wire, and if you did, it would require soldering equipment made for subminiature work, that is uncommon. I don't think you would find the flap servo simply not plugged in.

You are FAR better off to take it back to the shop. When you do, bring your DX-7 and maybe they can show you how to program it, to do what you want.

Dave R, Proud PGR rider.
When you have flying skills like mine,
You become a master at repair.
Wildflyer is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 06:15 AM   #9
boodaghost
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Albertville, AL
Posts: 87
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default

Problem solved. I carried it and my TX back to the HS where it was bought and they checked it out. They didn't have any luck either. We bound a replacement to the radio and everything worked so it was, in fact, a problem with the plane.

Thanks again, for all of the input.
boodaghost is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Reply

  WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric R/C Airplanes > Indoor & Micro Electric Planes

Tags
carbon cub , flap settings dx7 , flaps

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UMX Carbon Cub 2s 180 motor with flaps, lights and even floats!! rcers Indoor & Micro Electric Planes 18 12-23-2013 05:02 AM
For Sale AS3X Carbon Cub bimmerland Airplanes - Electric For Sale & WTB 1 11-09-2012 06:06 PM
For Sale Aluminum Motor Mounts for Multiplex, Parkzone, and Flyzone Super Cub Planes terrynshed Motors and Speed Controllers for sale & WTB 4 09-24-2012 05:33 PM
super cub to a warbird? corvette Beginners 17 12-27-2010 06:01 AM
For Sale HZ Mini Super Cub All American Airplanes - Electric For Sale & WTB 2 02-08-2010 09:17 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:15 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 WattfFlyer.com
RCU Eflight HQ

Charities we support Select: Yorkie Rescue  ::  Crohn's & Colitis Foundation



Page generated in 0.19680 seconds with 37 queries