Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric R/C Airplanes > Beginners
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

Beginners New to e-power flying? Get the low down in here from experienced e-power RC pilots!

Thank you for your support (hide ads)
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-27-2012, 08:36 PM   #26
AEAJR
Community Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 5,382
Thanked 349 Times in 310 Posts
Club: Long Island Silent Flyers
Awards Showcase

WAA-08 Pilot  Outstanding Contributor Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (8)
Default

Originally Posted by JetPlaneFlyer View Post
Three channels for flaperons And why would you have flaperons AND elevons on a small F-35?
Good question. I would like to understand that myself.

Long Island Silent Flyers
www.lisf.org
Eastern Soaring League
www.flyesl.org
AEAJR is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 09:27 PM   #27
xmech2k
Ya got any Beeman's?
 
xmech2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,760
View xmech2k's Gallery21
Thanked 261 Times in 259 Posts
Club: CVMRCC, SEFSD
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  1kW  Outstanding Contributor Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (8)
Default

Originally Posted by JetPlaneFlyer View Post
Three channels for flaperons And why would you have flaperons AND elevons on a small F-35?
Just had to experiment. The model originally was set up to have one servo for each side of the plane. Each servo had a pushrod that went fwd to the aileron and back to the elevon. (I guess at this point it's really called a stabilator? Full flying horizontal tail surfaces. But in the tx, they are set up as elevons.) So the ail & stabilator would move the same direction. I wanted to add flaps just to try. So now the stabs are set up as elevon, and i use separate channels for ailerons so they can act as flaps. Also, hearing how twitchy this model could be with those big moving stabs, I set up the radio so the ailerons (on the wing) could be turned off. Flies fine with them on or off, it turns out. At high rates with the ailerons on, it turns into a blur when you do full deflection rolls! Also, turns out that with the CG so far fwd compared to the full-size F-35, the ailerons when moved in sync work like elevators instead of flaps. So I had to make them go up for slow, high AOA flight. When they went down together they just pushed the nose down. Unfortunately, without working rudders, she falls off one way or the other. I'll have to see what I can do. Instead of fiddling with the dual rudders, I was toying with the idea of a rudder in the exhaust. Fun little plane!
xmech2k is online now  
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 09:47 PM   #28
combateib1
combateib1
 
combateib1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 38
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to combateib1
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default shop wisely

I will definitely shop wisely. I will probably bite the bullet and head into town to the hobby shop.
combateib1 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 10:36 PM   #29
xmech2k
Ya got any Beeman's?
 
xmech2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,760
View xmech2k's Gallery21
Thanked 261 Times in 259 Posts
Club: CVMRCC, SEFSD
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  1kW  Outstanding Contributor Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (8)
Default

Oh, back to my 7 channel foamy edf, I forgot in regard to 3ch for flaperons: Of course, it's only 2 servos, each plugged into their own channel, but uses the flap switch mixed in. So I counted that as a channel. This thing used a lot of mixes! Wasn't possible as far as I could tell on the 6i.
xmech2k is online now  
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 10:50 PM   #30
combateib1
combateib1
 
combateib1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 38
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to combateib1
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default edf

Really wanting an A10 and an F14 edf down the road, as well as a C130, so the DX8 is what my sights are on... Thanks guys...
Ransom out.
combateib1 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 07:05 PM   #31
AEAJR
Community Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 5,382
Thanked 349 Times in 310 Posts
Club: Long Island Silent Flyers
Awards Showcase

WAA-08 Pilot  Outstanding Contributor Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (8)
Cool

Originally Posted by xmech2k View Post
Oh, back to my 7 channel foamy edf, I forgot in regard to 3ch for flaperons: Of course, it's only 2 servos, each plugged into their own channel, but uses the flap switch mixed in. So I counted that as a channel. This thing used a lot of mixes! Wasn't possible as far as I could tell on the 6i.
Yes it can become confusing between channels and mixes and inputs and switches. On the more flexible radios everything is assignable. You can even change what goes on the sticks. We talk about the throttle stick but in fact throttle can be anywhere. That stick could be flaps, spoilers, landing gear or ... who knows. And if you change stick modes, stuff moves around auto-magically.

The way I think of it is channels = maximum number of slots I can address on the receiver. An 8 channel radio can address up to 8 slots on the receiver.

The sticks, switches, dials, sliders, etc. talk to the software/the mixers. So flapperons takes two channels on the receiver but accepts inputs from the aileron mixer and the flap mixer.

Elevons would the same. Two channels accepting input from the aileron and the elevator mixers.

V-Tail takes input from elevator and rudder mixers.

Crow is a mix that sends input to the flap, aileron and elevator mixers which could involve 3, 4 or 5 channels.

So much fun!

To do basic stuff you don't need to understand all this but when you start to get into advanced features, flight conditions, etc., it helps to think of things in this way.

Long Island Silent Flyers
www.lisf.org
Eastern Soaring League
www.flyesl.org
AEAJR is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 08:08 PM   #32
combateib1
combateib1
 
combateib1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 38
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to combateib1
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default AEAJR

Originally Posted by AEAJR View Post
Yes it can become confusing between channels and mixes and inputs and switches. On the more flexible radios everything is assignable. You can even change what goes on the sticks. We talk about the throttle stick but in fact throttle can be anywhere. That stick could be flaps, spoilers, landing gear or ... who knows. And if you change stick modes, stuff moves around auto-magically.

The way I think of it is channels = maximum number of slots I can address on the receiver. An 8 channel radio can address up to 8 slots on the receiver.

The sticks, switches, dials, sliders, etc. talk to the software/the mixers. So flapperons takes two channels on the receiver but accepts inputs from the aileron mixer and the flap mixer.

Elevons would the same. Two channels accepting input from the aileron and the elevator mixers.

V-Tail takes input from elevator and rudder mixers.

Crow is a mix that sends input to the flap, aileron and elevator mixers which could involve 3, 4 or 5 channels.

So much fun!

To do basic stuff you don't need to understand all this but when you start to get into advanced features, flight conditions, etc., it helps to think of things in this way.
It's all a bit foreign right now, but I'm learning as I go along. I'm getting the DX8 ASAP, so ill be flying like a champ soon. Practice practice practice... I cant wait to learn 3D flight, and become a better pilot. I'm finally on a position now where I can pursue my RC dreams.
Ransom out.
combateib1 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 03:53 AM   #33
MX5Seeker
Glad to be here...
 
MX5Seeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North Georgia
Posts: 119
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Club: Georgia Mountain RC Club and Bristol Field
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

I have a DX8 and love it. But I will suggest that you try to get your hands around two or three different ones. You may find that some with great features just don't "feel" right. Don't be afraid to pass by one if you don't like the feel.
MX5Seeker is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 12:20 PM   #34
combateib1
combateib1
 
combateib1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 38
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to combateib1
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default Mx5seeker

Thanks bud, I've been going to my hobby shop, and researching online, and I think the DX8 is the TX for me. Thank you for the input.
Ransom out.
combateib1 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 09:32 AM   #35
boodaghost
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Albertville, AL
Posts: 87
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default

Howabout an option that, while I've only skimmed over this thread, have not seen. I propose this because I can grasp the need not to 'overkill' your TX needs. Buy a USED DX-7. I bought a new one when they came out a few years ago and recently bought another used. Until the RXs become incompatable with them (??? anyone), you can expend more money on planes and less on a radio that can offer pretty much the same features as far as flying goes. I own 45 planes and am kept with 2 DX-7s and 1 DX-6i. I bought my second DX7 a year ago for $150 and the DX6i for $125. Merely a suggestion.............
boodaghost is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 03:21 PM   #36
combateib1
combateib1
 
combateib1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 38
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to combateib1
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default boodaghost

Thanks, I'm in the market for a DX8, that should last me a long time, while fulfilling all my needs, 45 planes.... One day... One day...
combateib1 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 05:06 PM   #37
xuzme720
c'mere Monkey
 
xuzme720's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Just North of Houston.Heard of Dayton? I didn't think so...
Posts: 2,960
Thanked 55 Times in 52 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to xuzme720
iTrader: (3)
Friends: (8)
Default

Originally Posted by CHELLIE View Post
Get the very best comp radio that you can afford, and give it to me Ok just kidding on giving it to me, just get the best radio you can Afford like a JR or Spektrum, you will only need to buy the radio transmitter once

http://www.horizonhobby.com/products...ode-2-SPM18800

DX18QQ Quique Special Edition w/AR12120, X-Plus 8, Mode 2

by Spektrum (SPM18800

It's on sale, too. Wish I has the cash!!

Just call me X! (or Gary works, too.)
Another signature landing! Somebody help me find all the pieces...

xuzme720 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 10:36 PM   #38
combateib1
combateib1
 
combateib1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 38
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to combateib1
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default wish i had the cash...

Meeeeee Tooooooooo!!!
combateib1 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 06:46 AM   #39
boodaghost
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Albertville, AL
Posts: 87
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default

Hey........ Don't get me wrong. If I could cut the heads of of my three radios and make enough to buy a DX-8, I'd do it in a heartbeat. Actually, I know that I could, but that would probably require shipping them to some far away land and I hate to ship stuff
boodaghost is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 06:53 AM   #40
Fishbonez
Love my Stinger
 
Fishbonez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 2,301
Thanked 114 Times in 113 Posts
Club: Cheyenne Hill Hoppers
Send a message via AIM to Fishbonez Send a message via Yahoo to Fishbonez
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (17)
Default

Originally Posted by boodaghost View Post
Hey........ Don't get me wrong. If I could cut the heads of of my three radios and make enough to buy a DX-8, I'd do it in a heartbeat. Actually, I know that I could, but that would probably require shipping them to some far away land and I hate to ship stuff
You never know what 3 radios are they? Place it on the for sale thread might be surprised

Happy flying may your crashes be limited and if they are not limited let them be cool.
Fishbonez is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 07:08 AM   #41
boodaghost
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Albertville, AL
Posts: 87
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default

I might do that. That's a pretty good idea..... I have 2 DX-7s and one DX-6i. I bought one of the 7's new, one off of Ebay, and the DX-6i came from a friend who got out of the hobby. My only reservation is that, while I'd love a new radio, I hate having to go in and program 40 plus planes as well as learning a whole new radio. Obviously, I'm suffering from low T
boodaghost is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 07:56 AM   #42
CHSNative
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Davidson, NC
Posts: 32
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Club: Flying Aces Pilots Association & AMA
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

I have the DX7s and love it so far. I am still learning the "bells and whistles" and have been very pleased with the performance.
CHSNative is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Reply

  WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric R/C Airplanes > Beginners

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Futaba Tx question jbenini Beginners 23 04-24-2012 09:38 AM
Parkzone 2.4ghz spektrum dsm2 tx: RONALDO_UK Beginners 7 08-16-2011 09:35 AM
Tx & Rx general info please? Red Baron RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros 2 01-07-2011 10:59 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:04 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 WattfFlyer.com
RCU Eflight HQ

Charities we support Select: Yorkie Rescue  ::  Crohn's & Colitis Foundation



Page generated in 0.29153 seconds with 53 queries