Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric R/C Airplanes > General Electric Discussions
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

General Electric Discussions Talk about topics related to e-powered RC flying

Thank you for your support (hide ads)
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-02-2013, 06:48 AM   #1
MaxSpeed
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 10
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default is it possible to combine 2ch into 1?

i have an FS TH9X and was wondering if i could combine two channels into one (ailerons and rudder)? i guess what i am trying to get at is, operating both the ailerons and rudder by using the aileron switch? has anyone done this before?

thank you
MaxSpeed is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 08:08 AM   #2
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 18,677
View CHELLIE's Gallery13
Thanked 2,181 Times in 2,088 Posts
Club: Chino Renegades RC Flying Club
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Scratchbuilders Award  Ambassador Award  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (4)
Friends: (314)
Default

Originally Posted by MaxSpeed View Post
i have an FS TH9X and was wondering if i could combine two channels into one (ailerons and rudder)? i guess what i am trying to get at is, operating both the ailerons and rudder by using the aileron switch? has anyone done this before?

thank you
Maybe this link might be of some help, the Turnigy9x is the same transmitter. You can also use a seperate mixer to do the same thing if its not possible to do it with the transmitter

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1333412

I may be getting Older, But I Refuse to grow Up I am Having to much Fun to Grow Up LOL
CHELLIE is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 08:16 AM   #3
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 18,677
View CHELLIE's Gallery13
Thanked 2,181 Times in 2,088 Posts
Club: Chino Renegades RC Flying Club
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Scratchbuilders Award  Ambassador Award  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (4)
Friends: (314)
Default

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1266162

Originally Posted by crucial
I figured I might as well start the thread since there was interest in it by a few.

Custom Firmware by Thus

Homepage for the custom firmware : http://code.google.com/p/th9x/

Direct link to manual : http://th9x.googlecode.com/svn/trunk/doc/th9x-en.pdf

btw: you should add the FlySky FS-TH9X in your headline - from web site to show that its the same transmitter as the turnigy 9x

I may be getting Older, But I Refuse to grow Up I am Having to much Fun to Grow Up LOL
CHELLIE is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 08:37 AM   #4
MaxSpeed
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 10
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

thats great guys!! i was able to program it. now my last question is, is it possible to use an on/off (AUX) button to switch between the 2 mode? basically, i want to have control over all the channels, but once i flip the switch i get the mix in (combining 2 channels in 1)?
MaxSpeed is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 08:51 AM   #5
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 18,677
View CHELLIE's Gallery13
Thanked 2,181 Times in 2,088 Posts
Club: Chino Renegades RC Flying Club
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Scratchbuilders Award  Ambassador Award  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (4)
Friends: (314)
Default

Originally Posted by MaxSpeed View Post
thats great guys!! i was able to program it. now my last question is, is it possible to use an on/off (AUX) button to switch between the 2 mode? basically, i want to have control over all the channels, but once i flip the switch i get the mix in (combining 2 channels in 1)?
Glad you were able to program it I am not sure about the Aux button as a switch, there are a lot of Gurus here that should be able to answer your question, Take care and have fun, Chellie

I may be getting Older, But I Refuse to grow Up I am Having to much Fun to Grow Up LOL
CHELLIE is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 11:24 AM   #6
solentlife
Super Contributor
 
solentlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ex UK Brit now in Latvia west coast - Ventspils
Posts: 6,203
View solentlife's Gallery47
Thanked 266 Times in 263 Posts
Club: Founder Member Ventspils RC Club. Ex Waltham Chase and Meon Valley Soaring.
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Scratchbuilders Award  Outstanding Contributor Award  125mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (15)
Default

Also join the FlySky group I started ... which caters more for the un-modified 9x and others of the FlySky range.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Flysky_RC_radio/

Yes it is possible to switch the mixing on / off ... using usually the 3 position switch top right centre.

The 9x is far more capable of things than many realise - but it does have it's own quirky style of language ...

We also have the manuals links in GOOD english without watermarks etc.

Nigel

222kph PKJ,EDF Concorde, Mini4,Mig3,T45,PKJ twin,ME109,Edge540,Cessna182,Skymaster Biplane,F15,F16,Badius,Ultimate,SE5,Qbee10,450 Heli,V911,J3 Cub Founder 9x forum: http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Flysky_RC_radio/
- Subscribe my Youtube: "solentlifeuk"
solentlife is online now  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 06:31 PM   #7
MaxSpeed
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 10
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

Yes it is possible to switch the mixing on / off ... using usually the 3 position switch top right centre.

The 9x is far more capable of things than many realise - but it does have it's own quirky style of language ...

We also have the manuals links in GOOD english without watermarks etc.

Nigel[/QUOTE]


is it possible to do it on a different switch? because i would like to program the 3 position switch for flaps.

- i will be joining the fly sky group. thanks
MaxSpeed is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 07:17 PM   #8
solentlife
Super Contributor
 
solentlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ex UK Brit now in Latvia west coast - Ventspils
Posts: 6,203
View solentlife's Gallery47
Thanked 266 Times in 263 Posts
Club: Founder Member Ventspils RC Club. Ex Waltham Chase and Meon Valley Soaring.
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Scratchbuilders Award  Outstanding Contributor Award  125mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (15)
Default

To be perfectly honest - I don't know ! Ask on the group - someone with far greater knowledge than I will answer.

Personally I use the top left centre knob to control flaps - full turned left is zero ... full turned right is 30 degrees down flap. It gives me proportional control of flaps instead of sudden steps as with the 3 position. By rolling my middle finger across the knob - I am able to go from full left to full right ... so I know what amount I use by position of my finger.

The other with the 3 position switch - it needs to be tricked to not default to OFF - ON - OFF ... why they did that I have no idea !

Nigel

222kph PKJ,EDF Concorde, Mini4,Mig3,T45,PKJ twin,ME109,Edge540,Cessna182,Skymaster Biplane,F15,F16,Badius,Ultimate,SE5,Qbee10,450 Heli,V911,J3 Cub Founder 9x forum: http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Flysky_RC_radio/
- Subscribe my Youtube: "solentlifeuk"
solentlife is online now  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 08:27 PM   #9
MaxSpeed
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 10
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

Thank you for your reply solentlife. i was wondering though, how did you program you flaps to function with the left knob?
MaxSpeed is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 09:58 PM   #10
solentlife
Super Contributor
 
solentlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ex UK Brit now in Latvia west coast - Ventspils
Posts: 6,203
View solentlife's Gallery47
Thanked 266 Times in 263 Posts
Club: Founder Member Ventspils RC Club. Ex Waltham Chase and Meon Valley Soaring.
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Scratchbuilders Award  Outstanding Contributor Award  125mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (15)
Default

Originally Posted by MaxSpeed View Post
Thank you for your reply solentlife. i was wondering though, how did you program you flaps to function with the left knob?

The set-up is also on the group ... it's in the files section if I remember right ... this is Flaperons...

To have just flaps - then I would Y lead 2 servos of the Aux ch and set the knob to operate the servos. No need to go into Flaperon settings. (I'd have to check up on this later - as it's late at night here ... I'm in a different part of the house from the radio and it's time for me to sleep !! But I will get back on this ! ..)

Nigel

222kph PKJ,EDF Concorde, Mini4,Mig3,T45,PKJ twin,ME109,Edge540,Cessna182,Skymaster Biplane,F15,F16,Badius,Ultimate,SE5,Qbee10,450 Heli,V911,J3 Cub Founder 9x forum: http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Flysky_RC_radio/
- Subscribe my Youtube: "solentlifeuk"
solentlife is online now  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 04:57 AM   #11
Beemerider
Member
 
Beemerider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Shenandoah Valley Of Virginia
Posts: 393
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Club: Augusta County RC Club
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default

Originally Posted by MaxSpeed View Post
thats great guys!! i was able to program it. now my last question is, is it possible to use an on/off (AUX) button to switch between the 2 mode? basically, i want to have control over all the channels, but once i flip the switch i get the mix in (combining 2 channels in 1)?

Uh.........Chellie is a gal.............and a pretty darn sharp one too
Beemerider is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 05:17 AM   #12
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 18,677
View CHELLIE's Gallery13
Thanked 2,181 Times in 2,088 Posts
Club: Chino Renegades RC Flying Club
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Scratchbuilders Award  Ambassador Award  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (4)
Friends: (314)
Default

Originally Posted by Beemerider View Post
Uh.........Chellie is a gal.............and a pretty darn sharp one too

Thank You for the complement

I may be getting Older, But I Refuse to grow Up I am Having to much Fun to Grow Up LOL
CHELLIE is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 09:11 PM   #13
AEAJR
Community Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 5,381
Thanked 349 Times in 310 Posts
Club: Long Island Silent Flyers
Awards Showcase

WAA-08 Pilot  Outstanding Contributor Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (8)
Default

These videos may be helpful:

VIDEOS – STANDARD HARDWARE AND SOFTWARE OVERVIEW

FlySky TH9X – How to use - I think this is the basic SW
This looks pretty easy to use. Should meet most people’s needs

Basic introduction of buttons and menus
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5xOATDBmbbc
Turnigy 9X – Review of switches, buttons, etc – based on standard SW
Same as the FlySky Software
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V0-b2Umo7YE&feature=related
Binding additional receivers
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z_-ruNd1FcU&feature=related
Setting up Channels 5-8 AUX channels
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YHMDW0TDIZc

How Set Up TH9x for Plane with Dual Ailerons and V-Tail
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=893rdC0i-TU&feature=fvst

Setting up Flaps

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L3Mw6jDlUzI&feature=g-vrec
FlySky TH9X – Elevon Mixing

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FgLPAIPMptA

Setting up SnapFlaps

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UVSiTuHJym8&feature=related
Going back to default settings
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zhadIdLOrw8&feature=related
Setting up a Buddy Box
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZWHTAiluPUI
CCPM Heli set-up for FlySky TH9X
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LErVMysykhY&feature=related



Long Island Silent Flyers
www.lisf.org
Eastern Soaring League
www.flyesl.org
AEAJR is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Reply

  WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric R/C Airplanes > General Electric Discussions

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Suggest how to convert 2ch rubbish ! solentlife General Electric Discussions 18 09-25-2011 04:56 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:03 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 WattfFlyer.com
RCU Eflight HQ

Charities we support Select: Yorkie Rescue  ::  Crohn's & Colitis Foundation



Page generated in 0.27409 seconds with 46 queries