Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > R/C Electric Power - Batteries, Chargers, ESCs and More > Power Systems
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

Power Systems Talk about motors, ESC speed controllers, gear drives, propellers, power system simulators and all power system related topics

Thank you for your support (hide ads)
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-25-2012, 07:12 AM   #1
yamahafunkplayer
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Boise ID
Posts: 36
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Club: BARKS (Boise Area Radio Kontrol Society)
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (4)
Default help me figure out my EP system

I just bought the GP Electrostik. THey reccommend a 42-40 brushless with a 3600mah 3S and 11x8.5 prop. I have a 42-40 brand new that is rated 50A cont and 60 amp max (850KV). If i use a 40 or 45amp ESC, will I burn up my motor? or could I use a Eflite Park 480 (1050KV) and 40amp ESC with 3S 2200 pack? I need help. I don't want to burn up any motors or kill my li-pos...
yamahafunkplayer is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2012, 08:32 AM   #2
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 18,596
View CHELLIE's Gallery13
Thanked 2,162 Times in 2,070 Posts
Club: Chino Renegades RC Flying Club
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Scratchbuilders Award  Ambassador Award  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (4)
Friends: (311)
Default

Originally Posted by yamahafunkplayer View Post
I just bought the GP Electrostik. THey reccommend a 42-40 brushless with a 3600mah 3S and 11x8.5 prop. I have a 42-40 brand new that is rated 50A cont and 60 amp max (850KV). If i use a 40 or 45amp ESC, will I burn up my motor? or could I use a Eflite Park 480 (1050KV) and 40amp ESC with 3S 2200 pack? I need help. I don't want to burn up any motors or kill my li-pos...
Hi And Welcome to Wattflyers, the motor listed below is very very close to your 42-40 motor, use the Specs listed for that motor and you will be safe. use a 60 amp esc, Turnigy makes a nice on, either the Plush or Sentry ESC





























Firepower 30 Sport (4240-09) Outrunner Brushless Electric Motor

SKU: E-180
Price: $30.95
This item is in stock
Quantity:





















The Firepower 30 Sport (4240-09) is a 5.2 ounce, 900kv, 650 watt outrunner brushless motor that is roughly equivalent to .25 to .32 two stroke nitro engines. It's a good choice for sport and scale airplanes weighing 2 to 4 pounds, or 3D planes up to 2.5 pounds.

We recommend using a
50A to 70A Electronic Speed Control (ESC) with this motor.

We recommend using Lipo batteries that are rated for about a 70 amp continuous discharge (or more). Good 3 cell Lipo choices would be
11.1v 2600 35C to 11.1v 4200 35C, and good 4 cell Lipo choices would be 14.8v 2200 35C to 14.8v 3300 35C. A good 5 cell battery would be an 18.5v 3300 35C.

The Firepower 30 Sportcomes with 3.5mm male connectors installed, and female connectors are included for your ESC.

MOUNTING OPTIONS: The
Firepower 30 Sport can be mounted in front of a firewall using the included X mount and rotor end prop adapter. It can also be mounted behind a firewall, and a 5mm prop adapter can be purchased for mounting a prop on the motor shaft.

Propeller test data using a 3-cell Lipo battery:

APC 13 x 6.5E: 73 oz thrust at 40 amps (470 watts)

APC 12 x 6E:
65 oz thrust at 31 amps (370 watts)

APC 12 x 8E: 59 oz thrust at 37 amps (430 watts)

APC 11 x 5.5E:
53 oz thrust at 24 amps (300 watts)

APC 11 x 7E:
51 oz thrust at 29 amps (350 watts)

Propeller test data using a 4-cell Lipo battery:
APC 11 x 5.5E: 77 oz thrust at 40 amps (630 watts)

APC 10 x 5E:
66 oz thrust at 28 amps (440 watts)

APC 10 x 7E:
69 oz thrust at 36 amps (560 watts)

APC 9 x 4.5E:
52 oz thrust at 21 amps (350 watts)

APC 9 x 6E: 55 oz thrust at 25 amps (400 watts)


Propeller test data
using a 5-cell Lipo battery:

APC 9 x 4.5E: 76 oz thrust at 31 amps (630 watts)

Firepower 30 Sport Specifications:

Weight = 5.2 ounces (150 grams)

Diameter = 1.65 inch (42 mm)
Motor length = 1.6 inch (40 mm)
Shaft = 5mm x 0.9 inch
Voltage = 9.0 - 26.0 volts (3 to 6 cell Lipo)
Current = maximum of 40 amps or 650 watts for 30 seconds
KV = 900 (rpm/volt)



I may be getting Older, But I Refuse to grow Up I am Having to much Fun to Grow Up LOL
CHELLIE is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2012, 08:39 AM   #3
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 18,596
View CHELLIE's Gallery13
Thanked 2,162 Times in 2,070 Posts
Club: Chino Renegades RC Flying Club
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Scratchbuilders Award  Ambassador Award  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (4)
Friends: (311)
Default

60 amp ESC

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...arehouse_.html

I may be getting Older, But I Refuse to grow Up I am Having to much Fun to Grow Up LOL
CHELLIE is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2012, 08:44 AM   #4
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 18,596
View CHELLIE's Gallery13
Thanked 2,162 Times in 2,070 Posts
Club: Chino Renegades RC Flying Club
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Scratchbuilders Award  Ambassador Award  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (4)
Friends: (311)
Default E-Flite 480 motor

Hi Here are the specs on the eflite 480 motor, stay with in the specs given and you will be fine. use the 40 Amp Esc. your 3S 2200 pack needs to be at least 20C rated to give you a 44 amp lipo, 2.2 amps = 2200mah x C rateing 20 = 44 amps, a bigger lipo than 2200mah would be better to use.

Specifications
Type: Brushless Outrunner
Size: Park Flyer
Bearings or Bushings: Ball Bearings
Wire Gauge: 16
Recommended Prop Range: 10x7 to 12x6
Voltage: 7.2 to 12
RPM/Volt (Kv): 1020
Resistance (Ri): .06 ohms
Idle Current (Io): 1.10A @ 8V
Continuous Current: 22A
Maximum Burst Current: 28A (15 sec)
Cells: 6 - 10 Ni-Cd/Ni-Mh or 2 - 3S Li-Po
Speed Control: 25A to 40A Brushless
Weight: 87g (3.1 oz)
Overall Diameter: 35mm (1.40 in)
Shaft Diameter: 4mm (.16 in)
Overall Length: 33mm (1.30 in)

I may be getting Older, But I Refuse to grow Up I am Having to much Fun to Grow Up LOL
CHELLIE is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2012, 09:21 AM   #5
slipstick
Super Contributor
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: N.Staffs, UK
Posts: 2,350
Thanked 197 Times in 191 Posts
Awards Showcase

Outstanding Contributor Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default

If the plane weighs 3.5lb then a 250 watt EFlite480 might be a bit feeble....unless you just want to putter gently around. Much better to use the 4240 with a decent 60A ESC.

BTW if you use an ESC which is too small it will be the ESC that burns up not the motor or lipo. I.e. if motor is drawing 50A and the ESC can only take 40A....dead ESC .

Steve
slipstick is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2012, 11:04 AM   #6
yamahafunkplayer
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Boise ID
Posts: 36
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Club: BARKS (Boise Area Radio Kontrol Society)
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (4)
Default

Thanks for the tips. Looks like the 42-40 with 60A esc and whaddya think, a 3600maH 3S? Plane supposed to weigh in at 3.5 all up. I bought a luggage scale to hang it from and weigh it all up, as well as measure the static thrust. For good aerobatic (but not 3d) what do you guys think? About 1:1 thrust ratio?
yamahafunkplayer is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2012, 12:48 PM   #7
nidly
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 130
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

You'll be in good shape with that 42/40-850kv. You can either use it with a larger prop than 11x8.5 OR use 4s on it with the 11x8.5 prop.

The stock set-up from GP (rxr) is 3s and 1000 kv with the 11x8.5 prop. It just isn't ok to use the stock 45 amp esc. Not because it isn't big enough , but because it has no adjustable timing and the factory combo squeals badly. Mine pulls 40 amps on a terrible battery and is about 400 watts I think. I fly very mildly for 15 minutes.

I about ready to convert my stocker to 4s and I will use a very similar motor (42x40 750-910kv) I don't think I'm going to spin my 1000 kv with 4s.
nidly is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2012, 02:24 PM   #8
Henry Sistrunk
Member
 
Henry Sistrunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ochlocknee Ga
Posts: 797
View Henry Sistrunk's Gallery69
Thanked 60 Times in 56 Posts
Awards Showcase

1kW  2kW 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (13)
Default

This motor is from Heads Up RC. It is no longer stocked. This is a real powerhouse on 4 cells. Usually fly on gear not floats.
Henry
Electrostick

Heads Up 4248-08 Motor Flies on 4 cells Floats
Henry Sistrunk is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2012, 02:58 PM   #9
Henry Sistrunk
Member
 
Henry Sistrunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ochlocknee Ga
Posts: 797
View Henry Sistrunk's Gallery69
Thanked 60 Times in 56 Posts
Awards Showcase

1kW  2kW 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (13)
Default

Here it it on it's gear. 60 amp ESC. I think a 480 motor would be too small.
Henry


Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2012-12-25 10.07.42.jpg
Views:	61
Size:	99.7 KB
ID:	165058
Click image for larger version

Name:	2012-12-25 10.07.30.jpg
Views:	59
Size:	81.1 KB
ID:	165059
Henry Sistrunk is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 07:14 AM   #10
yamahafunkplayer
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Boise ID
Posts: 36
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Club: BARKS (Boise Area Radio Kontrol Society)
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (4)
Default

thanks to all for your help. my electrostik will be arriving friday and I can't wait to get her out of the box. found a 60a esc that i will use, just need some bigger lipos now. any reccomendations on a metal gear mini servo?
yamahafunkplayer is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 09:52 AM   #11
yamahafunkplayer
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Boise ID
Posts: 36
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Club: BARKS (Boise Area Radio Kontrol Society)
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (4)
Default motors and batts

Originally Posted by Henry Sistrunk View Post
Here it it on it's gear. 60 amp ESC. I think a 480 motor would be too small.
Henry
thanks, Henry. I decided to go with a 42-40 1000KV i had lying around. I bought a 3S 2200mah 30C batt to let me get up to 66 amps. i'm worried that I won't get much flying time tho. what do you use on your stik?
yamahafunkplayer is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 01:38 PM   #12
Henry Sistrunk
Member
 
Henry Sistrunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ochlocknee Ga
Posts: 797
View Henry Sistrunk's Gallery69
Thanked 60 Times in 56 Posts
Awards Showcase

1kW  2kW 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (13)
Default

I use a 4 cell 4200 mah battery and I fly for 10 minutes. This uses less than 50% battery capacity. I rarely use full power.
Henry
Henry Sistrunk is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 06:35 AM   #13
yamahafunkplayer
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Boise ID
Posts: 36
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Club: BARKS (Boise Area Radio Kontrol Society)
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (4)
Default new motor...

so my "42-40" motor wont fit any motor mounts i have... not even the electrifly one i got for this plane. its just too big....

guess imma have to get another motor...
yamahafunkplayer is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 01:14 PM   #14
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 18,596
View CHELLIE's Gallery13
Thanked 2,162 Times in 2,070 Posts
Club: Chino Renegades RC Flying Club
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Scratchbuilders Award  Ambassador Award  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (4)
Friends: (311)
Default

Originally Posted by yamahafunkplayer View Post
so my "42-40" motor wont fit any motor mounts i have... not even the electrifly one i got for this plane. its just too big....

guess imma have to get another motor...
Hi, Can you post some pics of your motor and plane, the 42 40 motor should be able to fit the plane. here are some motor mounts from heads up rc.

http://www.headsuprc.com/servlet/the...s/1/Categories
http://www.headsuprc.com/servlet/the...-for-30/Detail


here is a power up 32 from heads up rc, see if that will fit your plane, there is a pic that shows the size of the motor and mounting.
http://www.headsuprc.com/servlet/the...2-Sport/Detail


How Do I Mount My Outrunner Motor
http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=39483

I may be getting Older, But I Refuse to grow Up I am Having to much Fun to Grow Up LOL
CHELLIE is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 03:02 PM   #15
Henry Sistrunk
Member
 
Henry Sistrunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ochlocknee Ga
Posts: 797
View Henry Sistrunk's Gallery69
Thanked 60 Times in 56 Posts
Awards Showcase

1kW  2kW 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (13)
Default

My motor mounts flat against the firewall. Here are some photos>
Henry


Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	HPIM2033.jpg
Views:	60
Size:	65.5 KB
ID:	165444
Click image for larger version

Name:	HPIM2034.jpg
Views:	64
Size:	73.0 KB
ID:	165445
Henry Sistrunk is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 07:57 AM   #16
yamahafunkplayer
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Boise ID
Posts: 36
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Club: BARKS (Boise Area Radio Kontrol Society)
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (4)
Default new motor

thanks, chellie and henry...

my 42-40 is a aeolian brand. seems like it is bigger than 42mm. the mount that came with the motor had more widely spaced holes that wouldn't fit the blind nuts on the plane.

I ordered the electrifly mount, it fits the plane, but not the motor. I used it as a guide and drilled out (widened) the mounting holes on the stock mount, and it worked, but when i tried to mount the motor, the heads of the screws were rubbing the motor housing as i was trying to tighten, causing them to cross-thread.

so i pulled it out, and ordered me a turnigy 42-38, it should fit (hopefully)

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=30864

also, my servos fit very loosely in the servo mounts, any ideas on how to mount them securely? i was going to cut and glue a small piece of ply on top of the existing mounts with the exact servo size, to prevent it from moving. (servos are turnigy mg90's, mini size.)

and at the risk of sounding stupid, i can go from 3s to 4s pack on my setup and gain more watts and more rpm?

this motor says 403w on 3s and 785 on 4s/

so i can fly tame on the 3s, and then agressively with the 4s?

henry, did you have esc cooling problems? i see you exposed the esc to air on the side of the fuse. i did that on my hellcat, too. should i mod the stick before flying it? i got a HK 60amp esc for it.

thanks for all your help...
yamahafunkplayer is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 05:44 PM   #17
Henry Sistrunk
Member
 
Henry Sistrunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ochlocknee Ga
Posts: 797
View Henry Sistrunk's Gallery69
Thanked 60 Times in 56 Posts
Awards Showcase

1kW  2kW 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (13)
Default

No overheating problem. I mount the esc that way to give me more battery room.
Henry
Henry Sistrunk is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 12:26 PM   #18
yamahafunkplayer
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Boise ID
Posts: 36
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Club: BARKS (Boise Area Radio Kontrol Society)
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (4)
Default

so, i glued in some basswood square stock to mount the servos. and going from the stock 4-40 push rods to the .074 kind, a little smaller and lighter... using gp clips on the servo end and gp metal clevises on the working end....

just waiting on the motor, and then she'll be almost ready to fly! (still got to solder the esc and battery connectors)
yamahafunkplayer is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 08:50 PM   #19
hayofstacks
Super Contributor
 
hayofstacks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Utah
Posts: 1,557
Thanked 115 Times in 114 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (5)
Default

Why not just drill out the firewall to mount the x mount that came with the heads up motor? Am I missing something?
hayofstacks is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 11:15 PM   #20
nidly
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 130
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

I looked into that and one would have to remount the nuts. It was more work than I wanted to do. If the factory holes weren't there it would be a piece of cake.
nidly is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 02:13 AM   #21
hayofstacks
Super Contributor
 
hayofstacks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Utah
Posts: 1,557
Thanked 115 Times in 114 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (5)
Default

Just curious boss.

I have a used electrick stick I bought at a yard sale a while ago and I've been looking into getting it going. Has a couple good dings here and there, and the bottom fuse and landing gear has been mounted to some hot glue gunned balsa.
hayofstacks is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 01:43 PM   #22
yamahafunkplayer
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Boise ID
Posts: 36
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Club: BARKS (Boise Area Radio Kontrol Society)
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (4)
Default

i ended up drilling holes to match my motor mount. used machine screws to mount the motor with no. 10 washers and lock washers to secure to firewall. left blind nuts in place. i did end up getting a turnigy power 32 motor, it is slightly less powerful than the other 42-40 i have. it should work. (900kv, about 740w on 4s, and 370 on 3s) i got the esc ready to go, just need to rig the controls/servos and rx, and she's ready to fly... thanks to all for all your help and advice.
yamahafunkplayer is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Reply

  WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > R/C Electric Power - Batteries, Chargers, ESCs and More > Power Systems

Tags
amps , electric , esc , great planes , power

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NexSTAR EP Trainer Select RTF 38 (battery question) schusterjo General Electric Discussions 0 10-09-2011 03:25 AM
I need a real time video system for my Radian AEAJR Aerial Photography 20 09-27-2011 10:07 PM
Giant Scale Electric Backup Battery System kyleservicetech RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros 12 05-23-2011 06:47 PM
Prop Selection Hose Man Beginners 7 03-23-2011 01:57 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:10 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 WattfFlyer.com
RCU Eflight HQ

Charities we support Select: Yorkie Rescue  ::  Crohn's & Colitis Foundation



Page generated in 0.87844 seconds with 69 queries