Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric R/C Airplanes > Beginners
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

Beginners New to e-power flying? Get the low down in here from experienced e-power RC pilots!

Thank you for your support (hide ads)
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-15-2013, 01:11 AM   #1
LowThudd
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Van Nuys, CA
Posts: 218
Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default Versa Hybrid Supercraft

So I finally recieved my Versa Land/Sea plane(holiday delays, on my part and the seller). Here is a link to it: http://www.parkflyers.com/Versa_Hybr...rc-electri.htm

First off, the antenna on the RX is extremely short. Like 1.5". Can I use standard wire to extend it? There appears to be a hull plug to put the antenna through in the aft hull. Any advice on this would be appreciated.

Second, the RX that came with the plane is a 6CH, while the TX is 4CH. There are impressions in the wing to make flaps, so I am assuming that is why it has a 6CH RX. The obvious problem is the TX is only 4CH. I tried identifying the TX/RX through the FCC ID and came up flat. Is there any other way to ID the TX/RX system?

Also, since the flap servos would be on the wing underside, they need to be small. Any recomendations as to what size?

I'll probably have more questions later, but that is a good start. lol

TIA
LowThudd is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 02:34 AM   #2
pmullen503
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 745
Thanked 61 Times in 60 Posts
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (3)
Default

DON'T change the antenna! It's normal for 2.4G antenna to be that short. The hole was probably for a long 72mHz antenna.

No idea of the TX make but if you want to upgrade you'll need a new TX anyway so just get a RX that matches your new TX.

Cheap 9 gram or 5 gram servos will be fine for flaps.

It's never too late to have a happy childhood.
pmullen503 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 03:32 AM   #3
LowThudd
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Van Nuys, CA
Posts: 218
Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

Originally Posted by pmullen503 View Post
DON'T change the antenna! It's normal for 2.4G antenna to be that short. The hole was probably for a long 72mHz antenna.

No idea of the TX make but if you want to upgrade you'll need a new TX anyway so just get a RX that matches your new TX.

Cheap 9 gram or 5 gram servos will be fine for flaps.
Thanks. Will do. I am planning on upgrading the TX, but not till next month some time. I guess I'll save the flaps install till then.
LowThudd is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 12:00 AM   #4
LowThudd
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Van Nuys, CA
Posts: 218
Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

Here is an odd one. The RX was installed inside a balloon(yes, like the blow up kind). Needless to say the balloon needed to go since the bind plug was not installed. Should the RX be put in a balloon after binding? I won't be pond surfing anytime soon, but just wondering if this is a normal method with seaplanes.
LowThudd is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 02:37 AM   #5
gramps2161
Community Moderator
 
gramps2161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: oxford, MA
Posts: 6,541
View gramps2161's Gallery9
Thanked 595 Times in 590 Posts
Club: Rocky Hill Flying Circus
iTrader: (3)
Friends: (21)
Default

They put it in a balloon to protect it from the not so good landing on water AKA dunking.
gramps2161 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 02:44 AM   #6
LowThudd
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Van Nuys, CA
Posts: 218
Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

Originally Posted by gramps2161 View Post
They put it in a balloon to protect it from the not so good landing on water AKA dunking.
Yea, I figured that. But being that the balloon was zip tied closed WITHOUT the bind plug attachedto the RX, there would be no way to use the balloon.

So I guess I will find a better way to water proof it before water flights. Or just buy some balloons. lol
LowThudd is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 03:03 AM   #7
LowThudd
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Van Nuys, CA
Posts: 218
Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

Just found out this model seems to be based on this prospective aircraft(real): http://www.iconaircraft.com/index.html

Very cool plane!
LowThudd is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 03:07 AM   #8
gramps2161
Community Moderator
 
gramps2161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: oxford, MA
Posts: 6,541
View gramps2161's Gallery9
Thanked 595 Times in 590 Posts
Club: Rocky Hill Flying Circus
iTrader: (3)
Friends: (21)
Default

Lowthudd you can get corrosion x to protect the electronics. It is a liquid that you dip the ESC and TX it helps protect the electronics from water.
gramps2161 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 03:10 AM   #9
LowThudd
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Van Nuys, CA
Posts: 218
Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

Originally Posted by gramps2161 View Post
Lowthudd you can get corrosion x to protect the electronics. It is a liquid that you dip the ESC and TX it helps protect the electronics from water.

Great! Thanks, will do. Prolly a good idea on the underwing servos, even though they do have splash shields.
LowThudd is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 03:24 AM   #10
tobydogs
love to build!
 
tobydogs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: nj usa
Posts: 2,849
Thanked 197 Times in 194 Posts
Club: rcrcc rockland county,ny
Awards Showcase

Outstanding Contributor Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (13)
Default

lowthud,don't follows gramps advice on dunking the tx in corrosionx.....lol[he's old like me and meant rx...].....stinks getting old eh gramps?

narrow is the place to land...wide is the space to crash....choose the narrow way!
tobydogs is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 03:37 AM   #11
LowThudd
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Van Nuys, CA
Posts: 218
Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

Originally Posted by stuart View Post
lowthud,don't follows gramps advice on dunking the tx in corrosionx.....lol[he's old like me and meant rx...].....stinks getting old eh gramps?
I figured RX. lol I'm not that newb.
LowThudd is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 05:08 PM   #12
Rockin Robbins
Super Contributor
 
Rockin Robbins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: DeLand, FL
Posts: 1,573
Thanked 131 Times in 129 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (8)
Default

Looking forward to flying impressions on this plane!
Rockin Robbins is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 07:22 PM   #13
gramps2161
Community Moderator
 
gramps2161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: oxford, MA
Posts: 6,541
View gramps2161's Gallery9
Thanked 595 Times in 590 Posts
Club: Rocky Hill Flying Circus
iTrader: (3)
Friends: (21)
Default

Originally Posted by stuart View Post
lowthud,don't follows gramps advice on dunking the tx in corrosionx.....lol[he's old like me and meant rx...].....stinks getting old eh gramps?

Dang no wonder my planes wgt. so much, and the control sticks seem so floppy when I try to use em. I got it all backwards.

LowThudd glad you knew what I was talking about hate to see your TX sitting in a 5 gallon pal. of corrision x.
gramps2161 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 07:00 PM   #14
LowThudd
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Van Nuys, CA
Posts: 218
Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

Next question. My controller has a training port(3.5mm). The instructions don't cover it. I am assuming that this can be used as a "Buddy box", and also for simulator. How do I hook up to the PC? USB adapter?
LowThudd is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 04:21 AM   #15
LowThudd
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Van Nuys, CA
Posts: 218
Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

Another. I finally got all the servos adjusted as best I could without taking it out. And even with very limited motor use, the ESC got pretty warm. It is a 18A ESC, but there is no airflow through the inside of the fuse, as it is a seaplane. Should I try putting a heat sink on after removing the plastic cover on the ESC? Should I get a higher amp ESC? Or (other)?

Also, the servo rods seem to stick a slight bit going through the plastic tubes. Should I lube the rods?
LowThudd is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 12:55 PM   #16
riverrat
circa: 1946
 
riverrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Eulonia, Ga.
Posts: 397
Thanked 29 Times in 28 Posts
Club: NRA Life Member
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (25)
Default Versa

Originally Posted by Rockin Robbins View Post
Looking forward to flying impressions on this plane!

Ditto!
riverrat is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Reply

  WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric R/C Airplanes > Beginners

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Snowdragon - coroplast/FFF KF hybrid. mclarkson Scratch and Kit Built Aircraft 8 01-03-2013 02:51 AM
Sold SOLD Bnf fbl trex 450 pro hybrid w/ skookum 720 raitheslacker Helicopters- Electric For Sale & WTB 3 04-08-2012 10:20 PM
The Bitsa Hybrid plane Wrench66 Scratch and Kit Built Aircraft 2 02-14-2012 11:24 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:18 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 WattfFlyer.com
RCU Eflight HQ

Charities we support Select: Yorkie Rescue  ::  Crohn's & Colitis Foundation



Page generated in 0.25203 seconds with 51 queries