Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric R/C Airplanes > General Electric Discussions
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

General Electric Discussions Talk about topics related to e-powered RC flying

Thank you for your support (hide ads)
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-11-2014, 08:04 PM   #1
Fishbonez
Love my Stinger
 
Fishbonez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 2,276
Thanked 109 Times in 108 Posts
Club: Cheyenne Hill Hoppers
Send a message via AIM to Fishbonez Send a message via Yahoo to Fishbonez
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (17)
Default minicam and ailerons

Maybe someone can help me here.
What I would like to do is put a minicam on a servo so that it turns in conjunction with my ailerons. Very similar to the way Mclarkson hooked up his horse. Only difference would be rather than rudder work with ailerons.
http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=70778

I have come up with ideas but I get stumped over thinking it. I tried a search both here and RCG but cant quite come up with the right search. I am pretty confident I am not the first to do this and I would think a lot of the FPV guys have a similar setup.
I think it would make for some interesting video flying my T28
Any ideas would be of great help
Thanks in advance
Fish

Happy flying may your crashes be limited and if they are not limited let them be cool.
Fishbonez is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2014, 08:15 PM   #2
fhhuber
Super Contributor
 
fhhuber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2,187
Thanked 217 Times in 208 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default

Simply Y it to ailerons instead of rudder.
fhhuber is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2014, 10:41 PM   #3
Heli Jim
Grandpa, Golfer, Pilot
 
Heli Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,402
Thanked 113 Times in 113 Posts
iTrader: (9)
Friends: (1)
Default

If your radio supports it, just mix the control for the camera with the Ailerons.
You might have to reverse the direction on the camera but that's no biggie.

Helicopters don't really fly.......
They're just so ugly, that the earth repels them.
Heli Jim is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2014, 12:13 AM   #4
Fishbonez
Love my Stinger
 
Fishbonez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 2,276
Thanked 109 Times in 108 Posts
Club: Cheyenne Hill Hoppers
Send a message via AIM to Fishbonez Send a message via Yahoo to Fishbonez
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (17)
Default

Originally Posted by fhhuber View Post
Simply Y it to ailerons instead of rudder.
Yea I thought about that but t-28 already has Y-harness for the ailerons so I could not figure out where the other wire would go

Originally Posted by Heli Jim View Post
If your radio supports it, just mix the control for the camera with the Ailerons.
You might have to reverse the direction on the camera but that's no biggie.
I have a Dx8 and I thought about this as well just not sure how to setup the mix. I may have to play with 3 servos on a test setup

Happy flying may your crashes be limited and if they are not limited let them be cool.
Fishbonez is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2014, 12:52 AM   #5
Larry3215
Look out for that tree!!!
 
Larry3215's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Gig Harbor, Wa USA
Posts: 6,816
View Larry3215's Gallery63
Thanked 692 Times in 671 Posts
Club: Kitsap ARCS & E-FLAPS
Awards Showcase

90 Minute Thermal Duration  60 Minute Thermal Duration  30 Minute Thermal Duration  4kW 
iTrader: (6)
Friends: (21)
Default

Put the Y harness between one of the aileron servos and the Y thats already on there. The left over lead goes to the new servo

For mixing - RTFM

I think I need a signature.
Larry
Larry3215 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2014, 04:37 AM   #6
Fishbonez
Love my Stinger
 
Fishbonez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 2,276
Thanked 109 Times in 108 Posts
Club: Cheyenne Hill Hoppers
Send a message via AIM to Fishbonez Send a message via Yahoo to Fishbonez
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (17)
Default

Originally Posted by Larry3215 View Post
Put the Y harness between one of the aileron servos and the Y thats already on there. The left over lead goes to the new servo

For mixing - RTFM
Well all be darn I forgot the obviouse. Call it a duh moment I will try it out tomorrow morning

Happy flying may your crashes be limited and if they are not limited let them be cool.
Fishbonez is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2014, 06:17 AM   #7
Larry3215
Look out for that tree!!!
 
Larry3215's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Gig Harbor, Wa USA
Posts: 6,816
View Larry3215's Gallery63
Thanked 692 Times in 671 Posts
Club: Kitsap ARCS & E-FLAPS
Awards Showcase

90 Minute Thermal Duration  60 Minute Thermal Duration  30 Minute Thermal Duration  4kW 
iTrader: (6)
Friends: (21)
Default

We all have days like that I have them more often as time goes on!

You could also add the new Y at the rx end if that works out better.

I think I need a signature.
Larry
Larry3215 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2014, 08:22 AM   #8
Fishbonez
Love my Stinger
 
Fishbonez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 2,276
Thanked 109 Times in 108 Posts
Club: Cheyenne Hill Hoppers
Send a message via AIM to Fishbonez Send a message via Yahoo to Fishbonez
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (17)
Default

Well I got tested thanks all I apreciate it. Now I just need to get it in the T28 cockpit.


Happy flying may your crashes be limited and if they are not limited let them be cool.
Fishbonez is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2014, 10:40 AM   #9
Panther
Member
 
Panther's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Queensland, Australia
Posts: 259
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

I think it will be a bit hard to watch the video in practice as when you are flying you are making corrections all the time. This will make the vidcam very jerky and too hard to watch. Anyway, an interesting thought. If you could slow the cam servo right down it may be better.
Panther is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2014, 04:46 PM   #10
Fishbonez
Love my Stinger
 
Fishbonez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 2,276
Thanked 109 Times in 108 Posts
Club: Cheyenne Hill Hoppers
Send a message via AIM to Fishbonez Send a message via Yahoo to Fishbonez
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (17)
Default

Originally Posted by Panther View Post
I think it will be a bit hard to watch the video in practice as when you are flying you are making corrections all the time. This will make the vidcam very jerky and too hard to watch. Anyway, an interesting thought. If you could slow the cam servo right down it may be better.
I was wondering the same thing. I guess time will tell. In time I will hook it to the rudder but my rudder turns are not all that good yet. Just a project to keep me busy while we have bad weather.

Happy flying may your crashes be limited and if they are not limited let them be cool.
Fishbonez is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2014, 06:47 PM   #11
Fishbonez
Love my Stinger
 
Fishbonez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 2,276
Thanked 109 Times in 108 Posts
Club: Cheyenne Hill Hoppers
Send a message via AIM to Fishbonez Send a message via Yahoo to Fishbonez
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (17)
Default

Ok Test #2 with the servo in place and in the canopy. Did not quite have the camera in the center but for this test it was Ok. Also shows how scratched up the canopies get LOL
Final test will be in flight and see how it looks


Happy flying may your crashes be limited and if they are not limited let them be cool.
Fishbonez is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2014, 08:00 PM   #12
dahawk
Super Contributor
 
dahawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Keller, TX
Posts: 3,392
View dahawk's Gallery6
Thanked 207 Times in 203 Posts
Club: 114th RC Aero Squadron
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (19)
Default

I think you can slow the servo speed too, right? Looks cool though. Experiment while watching Broncos game. I'm sure you're missing Tebow... LOL
dahawk is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2014, 08:51 PM   #13
Fishbonez
Love my Stinger
 
Fishbonez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 2,276
Thanked 109 Times in 108 Posts
Club: Cheyenne Hill Hoppers
Send a message via AIM to Fishbonez Send a message via Yahoo to Fishbonez
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (17)
Default

I agree it may need to be slowed down as well. Maybe if I put the servo in say the flap switch and mixing it with the ailerons and maybe I can slow the cam down and still work with the ailerons. Will keep experimenting. Cant do it during the Bronco game though. I bleed Orange and Blue and nope have not missed Tebow one bit nor the controversy that seem to follow where ever he goes

Happy flying may your crashes be limited and if they are not limited let them be cool.
Fishbonez is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2014, 10:59 PM   #14
Panther
Member
 
Panther's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Queensland, Australia
Posts: 259
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

I think you can buy slow servos but whether you want to go to that trouble?.....
Panther is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2014, 11:02 PM   #15
dahawk
Super Contributor
 
dahawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Keller, TX
Posts: 3,392
View dahawk's Gallery6
Thanked 207 Times in 203 Posts
Club: 114th RC Aero Squadron
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (19)
Default

My DX9 allows me to slow them down. Must be the same with the DX8
dahawk is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2014, 12:02 AM   #16
Fishbonez
Love my Stinger
 
Fishbonez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 2,276
Thanked 109 Times in 108 Posts
Club: Cheyenne Hill Hoppers
Send a message via AIM to Fishbonez Send a message via Yahoo to Fishbonez
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (17)
Default

Originally Posted by dahawk View Post
My DX9 allows me to slow them down. Must be the same with the DX8
Did not know this, how is this done Hawk?
I know about rates and expo but I did not know you could do slow just one down

Happy flying may your crashes be limited and if they are not limited let them be cool.
Fishbonez is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2014, 12:31 AM   #17
dahawk
Super Contributor
 
dahawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Keller, TX
Posts: 3,392
View dahawk's Gallery6
Thanked 207 Times in 203 Posts
Club: 114th RC Aero Squadron
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (19)
Default

Originally Posted by Fishbonez View Post
Did not know this, how is this done Hawk?
I know about rates and expo but I did not know you could do slow just one down
Go Broncos

On the DX9 I just went to my P=40 where I have the flaps slowed down.

I have them on a 3 pos switch ( G) . 0= 100% Landing Flaps 1=22%- Take off flaps 2=0% Flaps up The DX9 actually talks to me in a sexy female British voice

Below that there's: Speed. I have it set for 4 sec but can make it even slower. The flaps deploy real scale like.

Before I had the DX9, I used a slower downer connector. http://www.headsuphobby.com/Hyperion...laps-D-225.htm

I might still have it and can mail it to you in support of your project if I can find it. You can actually dial in the speed you want through the potentiometer pot.

- Hawk
dahawk is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2014, 12:35 AM   #18
Fishbonez
Love my Stinger
 
Fishbonez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 2,276
Thanked 109 Times in 108 Posts
Club: Cheyenne Hill Hoppers
Send a message via AIM to Fishbonez Send a message via Yahoo to Fishbonez
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (17)
Default

Originally Posted by dahawk View Post
Go Broncos

On the DX9 I just went to my P=40 where I have the flaps slowed down.

I have them on a 3 pos switch ( G) . 0= 100% Landing Flaps 1=22%- Take off flaps 2=0% Flaps up The DX9 actually talks to me in a sexy female British voice

Below that there's: Speed. I have it set for 4 sec but can make it even slower. The flaps deploy real scale like.

Before I had the DX9, I used a slower downer connector. http://www.headsuphobby.com/Hyperion...laps-D-225.htm

I might still have it and can mail it to you in support of your project if I can find it. You can actually dial in the speed you want through the potentiometer pot.

- Hawk
Come ON Broncos!!!
Thats ok Hawk this is a "just for fun" project. I understand what you mean about flap servos and makes sense. I may give that a try just would have to think to hit the switch when I make a turn

Happy flying may your crashes be limited and if they are not limited let them be cool.
Fishbonez is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2014, 07:55 PM   #19
dahawk
Super Contributor
 
dahawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Keller, TX
Posts: 3,392
View dahawk's Gallery6
Thanked 207 Times in 203 Posts
Club: 114th RC Aero Squadron
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (19)
Default

I can adjust the speed of any of the servos from the Servo Setup menu except servoless retracts
dahawk is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2014, 03:27 AM   #20
Fishbonez
Love my Stinger
 
Fishbonez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 2,276
Thanked 109 Times in 108 Posts
Club: Cheyenne Hill Hoppers
Send a message via AIM to Fishbonez Send a message via Yahoo to Fishbonez
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (17)
Default

Originally Posted by dahawk View Post
I can adjust the speed of any of the servos from the Servo Setup menu except servoless retracts
Hmm that seems interesting I will have to see if I can do that on the DX8

Happy flying may your crashes be limited and if they are not limited let them be cool.
Fishbonez is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2014, 04:47 AM   #21
c.sitas
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 28
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

BTW, your not looking at a scratched canopy. I believe it's the prismatic effect of the plastic.Dump the plastic and shoot open air. I'll bet no more interference.
c.sitas is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2014, 06:39 PM   #22
jeholliday
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Shawnee KANSAS
Posts: 183
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default

Do you have your camera mounted on the servo it self? If so, take it off and put it on another platform. Use pushrod from servo to platform to move the camera. Servo end of pushrod close to pivot point. On the camera platform move pushrod away from pivot point.
jeholliday is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2014, 04:15 AM   #23
Fishbonez
Love my Stinger
 
Fishbonez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 2,276
Thanked 109 Times in 108 Posts
Club: Cheyenne Hill Hoppers
Send a message via AIM to Fishbonez Send a message via Yahoo to Fishbonez
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (17)
Default success sorta but then we crashed

Well got a chance to try out the T-28 with the camera. The video tells all

The only damage to the plane was the rudder horn cracked and came loose. Dont know if this happened in flight causing the crash or not. The camera came dislodged from the servo arm but that is no big deal. Everything else was fine. Fixed her up and will try again on Monday.

Happy flying may your crashes be limited and if they are not limited let them be cool.
Fishbonez is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2014, 04:45 AM   #24
Larry3215
Look out for that tree!!!
 
Larry3215's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Gig Harbor, Wa USA
Posts: 6,816
View Larry3215's Gallery63
Thanked 692 Times in 671 Posts
Club: Kitsap ARCS & E-FLAPS
Awards Showcase

90 Minute Thermal Duration  60 Minute Thermal Duration  30 Minute Thermal Duration  4kW 
iTrader: (6)
Friends: (21)
Default

The spin started in the air, so maybe the horn cracking was the root cause.

yes - I did feel shaken and stirred!

I think I need a signature.
Larry
Larry3215 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2014, 06:53 AM   #25
dahawk
Super Contributor
 
dahawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Keller, TX
Posts: 3,392
View dahawk's Gallery6
Thanked 207 Times in 203 Posts
Club: 114th RC Aero Squadron
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (19)
Default

Fish,

After watching that, I have brain damage !

Did I hear Dramamine ?
dahawk is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Reply

  WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric R/C Airplanes > General Electric Discussions

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:26 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 WattfFlyer.com
RCU Eflight HQ

Charities we support Select: Yorkie Rescue  ::  Crohn's & Colitis Foundation



Page generated in 0.45027 seconds with 71 queries