Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > R/C Electric Power - Batteries, Chargers, ESCs and More > Batteries & Chargers
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

Batteries & Chargers Discuss Li-P, Li-Ion, NiMh, Nicad battery technology and the chargers that juice 'em up!

Thank you for your support (hide ads)
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-11-2014, 07:53 PM   #1
njbipes
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 5
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default power supply for charger

I bought a 12v 30amp power supply put out by Nitrorcthunder sold through Direct-deals4u on ebay. I've had it since Oct 2013 and used it 6 times since I haven't been flying due to winter. I died yesterday. I contacted the co. and because it's outside the 30 day warranty they will look at it to fix with an estimated cost, without seeing it yet, of $15 - 30. It cost $57 new. If any of you out there have similar stories let everyone know. If you've had good luck with a power supply for your dc charger let us know that also. After my experience with this product I can't recommend it.
njbipes is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2014, 08:09 PM   #2
JetPlaneFlyer
Super Contributor
 
JetPlaneFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
Posts: 4,312
Thanked 476 Times in 444 Posts
Awards Showcase

5kW  Outstanding Contributor Award  1kW 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (8)
Default

Best bet is to get yourself a Computer server power supply. Because they are made to operate servers they are made to a high quality and very high reliability, unlike the hobby stuff which is often cheap junk in comparison. Even second hand server PSU's are very dependable.

The easiest one to use is probably the HP DPS-600PB. They are very common and can be picked up off eBay dirt cheap. A single DPS-600PB will give 12V and 48Amps, and costs about $20 off eBay. Conversion consists only of soldering on a couple of bullet connectors for DC output and jumpering a couple of pins together to turn the unit on, 30 minutes work at the most, you dont even need to take the case off the unit to do it.

PS, there is a photo of my old dual DPS-600PB PSU in the first photo of this thread, along with my new 'mega PSU' the ESP120.... The lights in the neighbourhood dim when i power that thing up
JetPlaneFlyer is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2014, 10:07 PM   #3
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 18,256
View CHELLIE's Gallery13
Thanked 2,112 Times in 2,022 Posts
Club: Chino Renegades RC Flying Club
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Scratchbuilders Award  Ambassador Award  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (4)
Friends: (306)
Default

If you have a old pc power supply, you can make your own charger power supply from it.

http://www.marcee.org/Articles/PCPowerSupply.htm

http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/show...c+power+supply

Computer Power Supply How To
http://www.marcee.org/Articles/PCPowerSupply.htm

http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/show...r+power+supply

http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/show...r+power+supply


I may be getting Older, But I Refuse to grow Up I am Having to much Fun to Grow Up LOL
CHELLIE is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2014, 12:24 AM   #4
njbipes
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 5
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default charger

Thanks for the replys. picked up 2 DPS-600PB's for $30.
njbipes is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2014, 05:02 AM   #5
sidybee
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: middle of cali
Posts: 75
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

i tried a pc power supply supposed to be 12 v @20 amp ya right would not run my charger got error code not enough imput
sidybee is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2014, 05:19 AM   #6
kyleservicetech
Dennis V
 
kyleservicetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 7,914
Thanked 683 Times in 666 Posts
Club: www.racinercclub.com (I'm the newsletter editor)
Awards Showcase

Outstanding Contributor Award  3kW  2kW  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (20)
Default

Originally Posted by sidybee View Post
i tried a pc power supply supposed to be 12 v @20 amp ya right would not run my charger got error code not enough imput
If you want a "Plug and Play" power supply for your charger, brand new, warrantied units are available for about $40.
http://www.mpja.com/12-Volt-Power-Su...fo/18435%20PS/

There are also a number of wattflyer readers that are selling computer server power supplies with a fixed 12 Volt DC, 50 Amp output. Several of my club members have bought them, and are well satisfied.

These power supplies just require a three wire AC plug with hot, neutral and ground wire for AC input. And their 12 Volt DC output is a simple screw terminal.

I've got one rated at 24 Volts DC at 25 Amps, but these are hard to find now days.

DennyV
Retired and the days are just too short, busier than ever!
kyleservicetech is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2014, 07:01 AM   #7
JetPlaneFlyer
Super Contributor
 
JetPlaneFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
Posts: 4,312
Thanked 476 Times in 444 Posts
Awards Showcase

5kW  Outstanding Contributor Award  1kW 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (8)
Default

Originally Posted by njbipes View Post
Thanks for the replys. picked up 2 DPS-600PB's for $30.

If you intend to run them in series to get 24V output then there is a modification that must be done on the second PSU to disconnect the DC output side from ground.

Any problems PM me, I've done it before.
JetPlaneFlyer is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2014, 04:58 PM   #8
hayofstacks
Super Contributor
 
hayofstacks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Utah
Posts: 1,553
Thanked 115 Times in 114 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (5)
Default

I've been using an old power supply for several small chargers for close to two years now without any issue.

slow stock prop reversal. it flies! easily! 543 watt dual motor bipe slow stick. push-me-pull-you. 242 watt 3 channel slow stick. 365 watt mini ultra stick. 415 watt mini contender. 810 watt ultra stick .25e. 220 watt alpha 450 sport (retired).
hayofstacks is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2014, 05:40 PM   #9
kyleservicetech
Dennis V
 
kyleservicetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 7,914
Thanked 683 Times in 666 Posts
Club: www.racinercclub.com (I'm the newsletter editor)
Awards Showcase

Outstanding Contributor Award  3kW  2kW  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (20)
Default

Originally Posted by njbipes;942234[B
I died yesterday.
LOL, you might want to add a "T" to "I died yesterday"!

DennyV
Retired and the days are just too short, busier than ever!
kyleservicetech is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2014, 09:52 PM   #10
sidybee
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: middle of cali
Posts: 75
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

ok got mine to work .. apparently there r wire's 12v 1amp and up on this one .i had it on the wrong one hahahahaha .its working fine now........ now back to building........you know that watt meter is coming in handy glad you guys talked me into getting one thanks
sidybee is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2014, 11:18 PM   #11
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 18,256
View CHELLIE's Gallery13
Thanked 2,112 Times in 2,022 Posts
Club: Chino Renegades RC Flying Club
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Scratchbuilders Award  Ambassador Award  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (4)
Friends: (306)
Default

Originally Posted by sidybee View Post
ok got mine to work .. apparently there r wire's 12v 1amp and up on this one .i had it on the wrong one hahahahaha .its working fine now........ now back to building........you know that watt meter is coming in handy glad you guys talked me into getting one thanks
Great, Glad you got it working Yea, the Wattmeter will save you a bundle, it will keep you from burning up a lot of electronic parts I would say my Wattmeter has saved me over 300.00 over the years, its great for matching props to power systems so you dont over amp your electronics and fry them. take care, Chellie

I may be getting Older, But I Refuse to grow Up I am Having to much Fun to Grow Up LOL
CHELLIE is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Reply

  WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > R/C Electric Power - Batteries, Chargers, ESCs and More > Batteries & Chargers

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Everything You Wanted To Know About Electric Powered Flight AEAJR General Electric Discussions 269 06-27-2014 01:06 PM
Everything You Wanted To Know About Electric Powered Flight AEAJR Beginners 149 06-07-2014 03:57 AM
2800W power supply for $20 JetPlaneFlyer Batteries & Chargers 4 03-10-2014 09:16 AM
imax b6 50 watt power supply hayofstacks Batteries & Chargers 2 01-27-2014 06:26 PM
MPJA Power Supply kyleservicetech Batteries & Chargers 0 02-15-2011 02:02 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:24 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 WattfFlyer.com
RCU Eflight HQ

Charities we support Select: Yorkie Rescue  ::  Crohn's & Colitis Foundation



Page generated in 0.20156 seconds with 41 queries