Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > R/C Electric Topics - General > RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Thank you for your support (hide ads)
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-04-2014, 04:12 AM   #1
Bill Gibson
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 236
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default Dx6i issues

I was finally setting up my Formosa, and when i programmed the dual aileron servo function using the aileron and aux 1 port, the ailerons were going the wrong the wrong way...and i couldnt reverse them out! What have i missed in the process? Should i just get a Y harness and connect both servos to the aileron port on the 6100E rx?

My other DX6i has a problem...i was linking up a new model to the 10th model memory, and the screen started flashing mode F and the radio does nothing but beep! Havent even had it for a year...my other one is at least 4 years old and still works paerfect...any ideas? Many Thanks! Bill Oh, if i need to send somewhere for repair, who do i actually send it to??
Bill Gibson is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2014, 04:28 AM   #2
kyleservicetech
Dennis V
 
kyleservicetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 8,371
Thanked 722 Times in 704 Posts
Club: www.racinercclub.com (I'm the newsletter editor)
Awards Showcase

Outstanding Contributor Award  3kW  2kW  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (20)
Default

Originally Posted by Bill Gibson View Post
I was finally setting up my Formosa, and when i programmed the dual aileron servo function using the aileron and aux 1 port, the ailerons were going the wrong the wrong way...and i couldnt reverse them out! What have i missed in the process? Should i just get a Y harness and connect both servos to the aileron port on the 6100E rx?

My other DX6i has a problem...i was linking up a new model to the 10th model memory, and the screen started flashing mode F and the radio does nothing but beep! Havent even had it for a year...my other one is at least 4 years old and still works paerfect...any ideas? Many Thanks! Bill Oh, if i need to send somewhere for repair, who do i actually send it to??

I'm assuming you've tried to access the DX6i servo reversing commands for both the aileron and Aux1 channels?

DennyV
Retired and the days are just too short, busier than ever!
kyleservicetech is online now  
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2014, 04:30 AM   #3
Heli Jim
Grandpa, Golfer, Pilot
 
Heli Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,402
Thanked 113 Times in 113 Posts
iTrader: (9)
Friends: (1)
Default

Gee that's a stumper.

You should be able to reverse the aileron servo and the aux1 servo both.

As to where you would send it for service, I would send it back to Horizon
Hobby, assuming that's where you got it.

Helicopters don't really fly.......
They're just so ugly, that the earth repels them.
Heli Jim is online now  
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2014, 04:33 AM   #4
fhhuber
Super Contributor
 
fhhuber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2,326
Thanked 232 Times in 223 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default

Dual aileron function:

First aileron goes to the normal port, second goes to ch 6 (Aux / Aux1 depending on how the RX is labeled)

If using the radio's reverse functions for BOTH channels and the closest you can get to the way you want things to work is correct ailerons and reversed flap function then swap which aileron servo is plugged to which channel.

Remember that reversing one channel might or might not affect both. This changes with brand and model of the radio and whether it applies the reverse switch or the mix first. There seems to be no consistency about this even within any given brand.

So... try the AUX (channel 6, Aux1... whatever they labeled it) reverse function as well as the Aileron channel's reverse function.

*************
Note:

The same applies when doing Elevon, except you'd use the elevator channel instead of Channel 6
Its really common for me to see people asking how to fix correct aileron and reversed elevator being the closest they can get to correct operation.
The fix again is to swap what servo is in what channel.
fhhuber is online now  
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2014, 05:02 AM   #5
xmech2k
Ya got any Beeman's?
 
xmech2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,799
View xmech2k's Gallery21
Thanked 265 Times in 263 Posts
Club: CVMRCC, SEFSD
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  1kW  Outstanding Contributor Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (8)
Default

There was something backwards about dual ail on the 6i. I forget exactly and I sold mine already. But it's something like the manual is telling you the channels for right and left in reverse.

The flashing and beeping must be your in heli mode and the flight mode switch most be in high or something. Try the flight mode switch. I went through the same panic once.

Good luck! Sorry I can't be more specific, but I think it's the right path.
xmech2k is online now  
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2014, 01:01 PM   #6
rcers
Community Moderator
 
rcers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Trophy Club TX
Posts: 6,242
View rcers's Gallery57
Thanked 507 Times in 497 Posts
Awards Showcase

WAA-08 Pilot 
iTrader: (4)
Friends: (9)
Default

Originally Posted by fhhuber View Post
Dual aileron function:

First aileron goes to the normal port, second goes to ch 6 (Aux / Aux1 depending on how the RX is labeled)

If using the radio's reverse functions for BOTH channels and the closest you can get to the way you want things to work is correct ailerons and reversed flap function then swap which aileron servo is plugged to which channel.

Remember that reversing one channel might or might not affect both. This changes with brand and model of the radio and whether it applies the reverse switch or the mix first. There seems to be no consistency about this even within any given brand.

So... try the AUX (channel 6, Aux1... whatever they labeled it) reverse function as well as the Aileron channel's reverse function.

*************
Note:

The same applies when doing Elevon, except you'd use the elevator channel instead of Channel 6
Its really common for me to see people asking how to fix correct aileron and reversed elevator being the closest they can get to correct operation.
The fix again is to swap what servo is in what channel.
+1 -

There is NOTHING wrong with your radio, it does not need to go back.

One at a time, try reversing channels first. If that does not work put them back to normal and reverse the PORTS/Channels they are plugged into in the receiver. Then try the same process.

Eventually you will get them all going in the right direction, ailerons and flaps.

Mike
rcers is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2014, 02:28 PM   #7
Bill Gibson
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 236
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default

I have tried everything you guys advised to try, and they all make perfect sense to me....should work i would think....unfortunatly, those darn ailerons are still reversed....i think i went thru this very same deal with a plane i scratch built awhile back, and i finally gave up and used a Y harness to get the ailerons to work correctly....there is a good chance that im missing something bigtime, but it seems pointless to set a plane up with independent ail. servos if there isnt a way to reverse them if need be thru the radio/rx.......i cant THANK you guys enough for the GREAT advice....i was sure one of the ideas you guy put out there would surely work!
Bill Gibson is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2014, 02:42 PM   #8
fhhuber
Super Contributor
 
fhhuber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2,326
Thanked 232 Times in 223 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default

Actually... I set up dual aileron servos on a Y... make that work.... then move one servo to the other channel.

If it doesn't work on the Y first, then something is very wrong and I need to fix it before playing with the computer.
fhhuber is online now  
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2014, 03:21 PM   #9
Bill Gibson
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 236
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default

Originally Posted by fhhuber View Post
Actually... I set up dual aileron servos on a Y... make that work.... then move one servo to the other channel.

If it doesn't work on the Y first, then something is very wrong and I need to fix it before playing with the computer.
Roger that Fh!.....Thanks!
Bill Gibson is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2014, 03:37 PM   #10
sparky1963
UK fixed-wing & heli dude
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 55
View sparky1963's Gallery2
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

Originally Posted by Bill Gibson View Post
...the screen started flashing mode F and the radio does nothing but beep!...
If that happens, check your switches... Two switches (when in '1' position) will cause beeping & prevent your DX6i from turning on:-
First, the "Gear/F mode" switch (top-left) - this will show 'F Mode' on screen, as you described.
Second, the "Mix/Th Hold" switch (top right) - this flashes 'T - hold' on screen.

Make sure they are both in '0' position, before you switch on.
If you forget, and the Tx starts beeping, just flick the switches off & Tx will turn on as normal.

Current hangar: Cessna 182, Cessna Skymaster, PZ Spitfire MkIX. ASW-17, Kalt Whisper.
Micro: Blade mSR, Blade mCPx, Sukhoi 26XP, T-28 Trojan, Beast, Stryker, Carbon Cub, Spitfire, Mustang.
sparky1963 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2014, 05:36 PM   #11
Bill Gibson
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 236
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default

Originally Posted by sparky1963 View Post
If that happens, check your switches... Two switches (when in '1' position) will cause beeping & prevent your DX6i from turning on:-
First, the "Gear/F mode" switch (top-left) - this will show 'F Mode' on screen, as you described.
Second, the "Mix/Th Hold" switch (top right) - this flashes 'T - hold' on screen.

Make sure they are both in '0' position, before you switch on.
If you forget, and the Tx starts beeping, just flick the switches off & Tx will turn on as normal.
I DONT BELIEVE IT......I SIMPLY DONT BELIEVE IT!!!!......EVERY TIME i begin to think i have a basic understanding of these computer radios......i was sure i had tried every switch, even had the radio back in its box to send to Horizon.....i really should be the posterchild for FLAMING IDIOT when it comes to these transmitters!!! It was just so odd, as my other DX6i is well over 4 years old, and ive NEVER had a SINGLE problem with it! Sparky, THANK YOU SO VERY MUCH! I have been BAILED OUT so many times thanks to the folks like yourself on this AWESOME forum, that ive lost count!!
Bill Gibson is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2014, 08:36 PM   #12
sparky1963
UK fixed-wing & heli dude
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 55
View sparky1963's Gallery2
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

Don't beat yourself up - the same thing happened to me (and apparently, xmech2k).

First time it happened, I'd forgotten to bring the Tx in from the garden. I eventually found it out there, soaking wet, after 2 nights of heavy rainfall.
It took 3 days and a complete stripdown, to get it dried out and (amazingly) working again.
When the beeping happened, I wondered what the heck was going on - assuming it was symptoms of terminal water damage !

Very glad to find it was cured by flicking the switches to their default positions.

Current hangar: Cessna 182, Cessna Skymaster, PZ Spitfire MkIX. ASW-17, Kalt Whisper.
Micro: Blade mSR, Blade mCPx, Sukhoi 26XP, T-28 Trojan, Beast, Stryker, Carbon Cub, Spitfire, Mustang.
sparky1963 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Reply

  WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > R/C Electric Topics - General > RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Neutered DX6i sgf323 General Electric Discussions 22 09-18-2013 07:41 PM
DX6i trimming question rzellmer General RC E-Heli Talk 1 12-03-2012 10:37 PM
3 Stage Flaps on a DX6i and a AR600? Hose Man RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros 0 08-29-2011 07:35 PM
Re: A dx6i mixing question please! Swanj Power Systems 1 08-26-2011 06:19 PM
Nice problem to have... NJSwede Beginners 32 01-02-2011 12:22 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:02 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 WattfFlyer.com
RCU Eflight HQ

Charities we support Select: Yorkie Rescue  ::  Crohn's & Colitis Foundation



Page generated in 0.24225 seconds with 43 queries