Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > R/C Electric Topics - General > RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Thank you for your support (hide ads)
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-03-2014, 01:51 AM   #1
time bandit
Member
 
time bandit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: B'ham, Alabama
Posts: 227
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (12)
Default Futabs FP T6NFK new in box

A guy I work with told me he had bought this particular radio new 15 years ago and never got around to using it. It's been in his closet the whole time. He's going to bring it to me tomorrow to see about trying to power it up. I doubt the batteries will do anything but what the heck. He's wondering how much he could get for the radio. I will try to get some pics up for it soon if anybody wishes to put their .02 cents in. It's a Futaba radio. I spelled it wrong in the subject line.

What was I thinking?
time bandit is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2014, 01:56 AM   #2
time bandit
Member
 
time bandit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: B'ham, Alabama
Posts: 227
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (12)
Default

Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	32
Size:	95.2 KB
ID:	175896



What was I thinking?
time bandit is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2014, 02:02 AM   #3
time bandit
Member
 
time bandit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: B'ham, Alabama
Posts: 227
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (12)
Default

Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	86.6 KB
ID:	175900

Gold sticker still in place.



What was I thinking?
time bandit is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2014, 03:07 AM   #4
fhhuber
Super Contributor
 
fhhuber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2,131
Thanked 214 Times in 205 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default

Just about can't give away 72 mhz any more...

The servos will still be useful.
fhhuber is online now  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2014, 10:04 AM   #5
solentlife
Super Contributor
 
solentlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ex UK Brit now in Latvia west coast - Ventspils
Posts: 6,020
View solentlife's Gallery47
Thanked 254 Times in 251 Posts
Club: Founder Member Ventspils RC Club. Ex Waltham Chase and Meon Valley Soaring.
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Scratchbuilders Award  Outstanding Contributor Award  125mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (15)
Default

There's a few on here that still use 72Mhz ...........

If my 35Mhz JR still worked - I'd be more than happy using it ...

Nigel

222kph PKJ,EDF Concorde, Mini4,Mig3,T45,PKJ twin,ME109,Edge540,Cessna182,Skymaster Biplane,F15,F16,Badius,Ultimate,SE5,Qbee10,450 Heli,V911,J3 Cub Founder 9x forum: http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Flysky_RC_radio/
- Subscribe my Youtube: "solentlifeuk"
solentlife is online now  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2014, 08:06 PM   #6
time bandit
Member
 
time bandit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: B'ham, Alabama
Posts: 227
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (12)
Default

Originally Posted by fhhuber View Post
Just about can't give away 72 mhz any more...

The servos will still be useful.
The batteries probably won't hold a charge since they're nicads and have been sitting for so long. The radio and receiver should be fine. They've never been used. Heck I may buy it from him for that reason alone and replace the batteries.

What was I thinking?
time bandit is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2014, 08:07 PM   #7
solentlife
Super Contributor
 
solentlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ex UK Brit now in Latvia west coast - Ventspils
Posts: 6,020
View solentlife's Gallery47
Thanked 254 Times in 251 Posts
Club: Founder Member Ventspils RC Club. Ex Waltham Chase and Meon Valley Soaring.
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Scratchbuilders Award  Outstanding Contributor Award  125mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (15)
Default

Originally Posted by time bandit View Post
The batteries probably won't hold a charge since they're nicads and have been sitting for so long. The radio and receiver should be fine. They've never been used. Heck I may buy it from him for that reason alone and replace the batteries.
Talk to Chellie ... she still uses FM ....

Nigel

222kph PKJ,EDF Concorde, Mini4,Mig3,T45,PKJ twin,ME109,Edge540,Cessna182,Skymaster Biplane,F15,F16,Badius,Ultimate,SE5,Qbee10,450 Heli,V911,J3 Cub Founder 9x forum: http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Flysky_RC_radio/
- Subscribe my Youtube: "solentlifeuk"
solentlife is online now  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2014, 09:18 PM   #8
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 18,349
View CHELLIE's Gallery13
Thanked 2,133 Times in 2,042 Posts
Club: Chino Renegades RC Flying Club
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Scratchbuilders Award  Ambassador Award  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (4)
Friends: (307)
Default

Hi David you can buy a battery holder and buy some 1000 mah AA nicad batteries to power up your transmitter with, thats what i do with my JR transmitters. Hope that helps, Chellie

http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXEYM7&P=7

http://www.amain.com/product_info.ph...FQ9lfgodUwUASw

https://www.google.com/search?client...utf-8&oe=utf-8




I may be getting Older, But I Refuse to grow Up I am Having to much Fun to Grow Up LOL
CHELLIE is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2014, 09:23 PM   #9
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 18,349
View CHELLIE's Gallery13
Thanked 2,133 Times in 2,042 Posts
Club: Chino Renegades RC Flying Club
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Scratchbuilders Award  Ambassador Award  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (4)
Friends: (307)
Default

or you can buy a transmitter lipo battery from Hobby king

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...Batteries.html

I may be getting Older, But I Refuse to grow Up I am Having to much Fun to Grow Up LOL
CHELLIE is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2014, 11:57 PM   #10
time bandit
Member
 
time bandit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: B'ham, Alabama
Posts: 227
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (12)
Default

How would you get the 9.6 volts needed for the Tx and it fit inside the radio with LiPo batteries without going to higher voltage. Right?? Same for the recevier, it needs 4.8 volts and you won't get that without going to a higher voltage and including a voltage regulator. That's an extra step I wouldn't want to have to do. Am I off the mark on this??

What was I thinking?
time bandit is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 01:13 AM   #11
fhhuber
Super Contributor
 
fhhuber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2,131
Thanked 214 Times in 205 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default

The Futaba TXs from when that was made can handle 8 X alkaline AA cells for 12.0 nominal... I forget the full charge voltage for Alkalines. I remember checking with Futaba tech support about using Alkalines for their FM 72 mhz transmitters.
fhhuber is online now  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 01:27 AM   #12
time bandit
Member
 
time bandit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: B'ham, Alabama
Posts: 227
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (12)
Default

Originally Posted by fhhuber View Post
The Futaba TXs from when that was made can handle 8 X alkaline AA cells for 12.0 nominal... I forget the full charge voltage for Alkalines. I remember checking with Futaba tech support about using Alkalines for their FM 72 mhz transmitters.
So according to that tech the extra volts won't harm the Tx? Interesting. I know this radio is old but its never been used. It was stored for years with the battery in the Tx. Some kind of funk that looks like green corrosion made its way into the connector that feeds power to the Tx. No gook is leaking from the Tx battery that I can tell. It's strange. I guess I feel sorry for this thing.

What was I thinking?
time bandit is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 02:22 AM   #13
fhhuber
Super Contributor
 
fhhuber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2,131
Thanked 214 Times in 205 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default

There's a failure called "black wire disease" which may have happened to that radio from your description. You need to see how far the corrosion has crept into the TX and you will probably need to replace any wires between the circuit board and the battery at a minimum.

Its possible for this corrosion to have eaten into the main circuit board too.
fhhuber is online now  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 03:34 AM   #14
pizzano
Behold The Renaissance
 
pizzano's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: So. Calif
Posts: 1,144
Thanked 73 Times in 71 Posts
Club: AMA, Marks, Pomona Valley, Prado Dam
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (3)
Default

Had this happen on an old boat I use to float......but never seen it again on any thing related to a re-chargable nickel metal hydride battery....

http://www.barbadosrc.org/misc/blackwire.php

AMA 928214
pizzano is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 04:29 AM   #15
fhhuber
Super Contributor
 
fhhuber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2,131
Thanked 214 Times in 205 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default

Original battery in that old Futaba is NiCd.
fhhuber is online now  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 03:12 PM   #16
time bandit
Member
 
time bandit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: B'ham, Alabama
Posts: 227
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (12)
Default

Originally Posted by fhhuber View Post
Original battery in that old Futaba is NiCd.
Yep they are NiCads. If there is corrosion in the circuit board from them the thing is probably toast.

What was I thinking?
time bandit is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 03:56 PM   #17
Rodneh
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 718
Thanked 69 Times in 68 Posts
Club: Moonport Modelers
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

Check out www.barbadosrc.org/misc/blackwire.php for some good info on black wire disease
Rodneh is online now  
  Reply With Quote
Reply

  WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > R/C Electric Topics - General > RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
E-Flite RTF Blade SR120 Micro FP Out Of Box To Hover phillipmorris Micro Sized Electric Helicopters 15 12-23-2012 07:31 AM
Buddy Box and misconception ... solentlife General Electric Discussions 9 11-13-2012 02:37 AM
Looking for dx6i to buddy box hobby zone champ Rifled RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros 1 08-26-2012 10:46 PM
Sold Futaba Conquest FP-T4NBF Radio (Buddy Box) DTB Radio Equipment For Sale & WTB 0 05-09-2012 04:13 AM
Feld Box Fishbonez Beginners 23 09-17-2011 05:49 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:28 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 WattfFlyer.com
RCU Eflight HQ

Charities we support Select: Yorkie Rescue  ::  Crohn's & Colitis Foundation



Page generated in 0.29741 seconds with 55 queries