Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric R/C Airplanes > General Electric Discussions
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

General Electric Discussions Talk about topics related to e-powered RC flying

Thank you for your support (hide ads)
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-26-2014, 06:55 PM   #1
rreid7
Member
 
rreid7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: North East, MD
Posts: 81
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Club: AMA #987422
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default DX6i and settings loss

My DX6i just played a nasty game on me. I had a good morning flying on Sunday, finishing up with the Formosa. On Monday my wife told me my radio was beeping. Sure enough low batt alarm was going, must have left it on by mistake after the last flight. Charged it back up fully and brought it and the Formosa today (Tuesday) for some lunchtime flying.

When I plugged in the flight battery, the rudder went full lock to the right and the right aileron went full up. What the %^&$!!!, it didn't do the Sunday! I started looking at the settings: the timer was wrong, the dual rate and expo settings were wrong, the elevator was reversed, and worse, there was a strange rudder-throttle mix in Mix1 and Mix2. I set everything back right and flew without further problem.

In the heat of the moment those mixes didn't register, but on reflection I realized they looked like the throttle - rudder mixes I use on my P-38 to give some differential throttle control. Checking the P-38 settings confirmed this exactly. The D/R & Expo settings, the timer, and the reversed elevator servo, all normal for that plane, were what had shown up on the Formosa.

So it seems that when the radio battery got to a very low charge state, it lost the settings for the model last flown (Formosa) and grabbed settings from the next model in the list (P-38). I wouldn't have expected this, I would think that at worst it would go back to the defaults. At least those mixes caused obviously wrong control deflections that warned me off before I tried to launch. Has anyone else had anything like this happen?

rreid7 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2014, 07:23 PM   #2
kyleservicetech
Dennis V
 
kyleservicetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 8,003
Thanked 696 Times in 678 Posts
Club: www.racinercclub.com (I'm the newsletter editor)
Awards Showcase

Outstanding Contributor Award  3kW  2kW  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (20)
Default

Originally Posted by rreid7 View Post
My DX6i just played a nasty game on me. I had a good morning flying on Sunday, finishing up with the Formosa. On Monday my wife told me my radio was beeping. Sure enough low batt alarm was going, must have left it on by mistake after the last flight. Charged it back up fully and brought it and the Formosa today (Tuesday) for some lunchtime flying.

When I plugged in the flight battery, the rudder went full lock to the right and the right aileron went full up. What the %^&$!!!, it didn't do the Sunday! I started looking at the settings: the timer was wrong, the dual rate and expo settings were wrong, the elevator was reversed, and worse, there was a strange rudder-throttle mix in Mix1 and Mix2. I set everything back right and flew without further problem.

In the heat of the moment those mixes didn't register, but on reflection I realized they looked like the throttle - rudder mixes I use on my P-38 to give some differential throttle control. Checking the P-38 settings confirmed this exactly. The D/R & Expo settings, the timer, and the reversed elevator servo, all normal for that plane, were what had shown up on the Formosa.

So it seems that when the radio battery got to a very low charge state, it lost the settings for the model last flown (Formosa) and grabbed settings from the next model in the list (P-38). I wouldn't have expected this, I would think that at worst it would go back to the defaults. At least those mixes caused obviously wrong control deflections that warned me off before I tried to launch. Has anyone else had anything like this happen?

H'mmm

I'd contact Horizon Hobbies, and talk with their tech department.

I believe those settings would be stored in the DX6i flash memory, and should not be affected by a low battery voltage.

DennyV
Retired and the days are just too short, busier than ever!
kyleservicetech is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2014, 09:20 PM   #3
Heli Jim
Grandpa, Golfer, Pilot
 
Heli Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,401
Thanked 113 Times in 113 Posts
iTrader: (9)
Friends: (1)
Default

I agree---call Horizon Tech support.

Helicopters don't really fly.......
They're just so ugly, that the earth repels them.
Heli Jim is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2014, 10:29 PM   #4
mclarkson
Super Contributor
 
mclarkson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 2,884
View mclarkson's Gallery4
Thanked 175 Times in 173 Posts
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Outstanding Contributor Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (7)
Default

Agreed. It shouldn't lose settings, even if you pull the battery out of the back.

mclarkson is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2014, 10:55 PM   #5
pizzano
Behold The Renaissance
 
pizzano's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: So. Calif
Posts: 1,155
Thanked 74 Times in 72 Posts
Club: AMA, Marks, Pomona Valley, Prado Dam
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (3)
Default

"So it seems that when the radio battery got to a very low charge state, it lost the settings for the model last flown (Formosa) and grabbed settings from the next model in the list (P-38). I wouldn't have expected this, I would think that at worst it would go back to the defaults. At least those mixes caused obviously wrong control deflections that warned me off before I tried to launch. Has anyone else had anything like this happen?"

That is, assuming the Formosa settings were correctly SAVED and not just STORED after the initial cycle through the programming.

I've never had a loss of DX6i settings due to low battery discharge, but I have when settings were not SAVED after programming, and discovered it only after cyling through the other models later, after having turned off the TX.

Regardless.....I'd give it another chance....without flying, to try to duplicate the problem........if it repeats, give Horizon a call.

AMA 928214
pizzano is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2014, 01:34 AM   #6
Turner
Super Contributor
 
Turner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 1,375
Thanked 130 Times in 128 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (3)
Default

Originally Posted by pizzano View Post
...I've never had a loss of DX6i settings due to low battery discharge, but I have when settings were not SAVED after programming...
How do you save the settings? Never heard that before.
Turner is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 01:13 AM   #7
Karnsy
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Maine
Posts: 111
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

I know my DX6i saves all settings every time you shut it off !
Karnsy is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 02:35 AM   #8
Turner
Super Contributor
 
Turner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 1,375
Thanked 130 Times in 128 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (3)
Default

That's what I would expect.
Turner is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 02:45 AM   #9
pizzano
Behold The Renaissance
 
pizzano's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: So. Calif
Posts: 1,155
Thanked 74 Times in 72 Posts
Club: AMA, Marks, Pomona Valley, Prado Dam
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (3)
Default

Guess I should clairify......there are several settings that must be "activated" or engaged in order for the change to take effect. Turning off the TX does not "save" every setting if not activated. Just cycling through the rates you want is not enough....so, if you've turned the TX off after making changes and turn it back on (without activating various settings), you end up, basically, where you started........sorry for the confusion this may have given some of you.....

AMA 928214
pizzano is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 02:47 AM   #10
Turner
Super Contributor
 
Turner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 1,375
Thanked 130 Times in 128 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (3)
Default

And so how do you activate the new settings?
Turner is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 03:19 AM   #11
pizzano
Behold The Renaissance
 
pizzano's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: So. Calif
Posts: 1,155
Thanked 74 Times in 72 Posts
Club: AMA, Marks, Pomona Valley, Prado Dam
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (3)
Default

Originally Posted by Turner View Post
And so how do you activate the new settings?
I sense a little "chain yanking" here Turner..........

Help me out....some changes will require either Activate or Inhibit, so.... if you've only set the rate or trim (as examples) but forgot to activate/inhibit.....does it save what you were thinking rather than what you actually programmed.......?.........I've made this mistake early on when attempting to "copy" another models settings to a new model. Only to discover the issue after turning the TX on and off after making the changes to check what I had done.

AMA 928214
pizzano is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 01:36 PM   #12
Turner
Super Contributor
 
Turner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 1,375
Thanked 130 Times in 128 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (3)
Default

You are kidding, right?

You make a strong claim and then can't answer a simple question to explain how. I don't equate choosing activate or inhibit with "saving settings" but if that's what you mean then I guess we understand.
Turner is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Reply

  WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric R/C Airplanes > General Electric Discussions

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spektrum DX6i loses its settings zoomy RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros 2 11-26-2013 01:12 AM
Be aware of Tactic Rx response to power loss on the Tx Wisc-BK Indoor & Micro Electric Planes 5 02-04-2013 09:34 AM
need dx6i settings for UM t-28 trojan dge Beginners 7 07-03-2012 12:24 AM
SR 120 Tx settings. Heli Jim E-Flite Helicopters 7 08-05-2011 10:32 PM
Park T28D Trojan and DX6I Question gmar777 Beginners 3 02-03-2011 06:06 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:27 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 WattfFlyer.com
RCU Eflight HQ

Charities we support Select: Yorkie Rescue  ::  Crohn's & Colitis Foundation



Page generated in 0.21247 seconds with 43 queries