Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > R/C Electric Power - Batteries, Chargers, ESCs and More > Power Systems
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

Power Systems Talk about motors, ESC speed controllers, gear drives, propellers, power system simulators and all power system related topics

Thank you for your support (hide ads)
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-31-2010, 08:54 AM   #201
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 18,015
View CHELLIE's Gallery13
Thanked 2,079 Times in 1,989 Posts
Club: Chino Renegades RC Flying Club
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Scratchbuilders Award  Ambassador Award  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (4)
Friends: (304)
Default


I may be getting Older, But I Refuse to grow Up I am Having to much Fun to Grow Up LOL
CHELLIE is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2010, 09:08 AM   #202
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 18,015
View CHELLIE's Gallery13
Thanked 2,079 Times in 1,989 Posts
Club: Chino Renegades RC Flying Club
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Scratchbuilders Award  Ambassador Award  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (4)
Friends: (304)
Default

putting the motor behind the firewall/motor mount should be better, because it should be stronger and IMHO will look better with a nice clean tight nosecone fit to the fuselage.

Also Welcome to Wattflyers DL8698

I may be getting Older, But I Refuse to grow Up I am Having to much Fun to Grow Up LOL
CHELLIE is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2010, 09:14 AM   #203
DL8698
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Singapore
Posts: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

Originally Posted by CHELLIE View Post
Hi DL8689 here are a few ideas for you



http://www.nitroplanes.com/ventus-di...sailplane.html
power pod
Hi, Chellie

Yes, I have considered the power pod method

The retractable pod looks a bit complicated to build. And a non retractable pod will probably not be good for thermalling with power off. That is why I chose the folding prop nose mounted method.

Not sure how well the DG1000 model thermals although it is based on a full sized glider which I'm sure thermals well, with its high aspect ratio wings.
DL8698 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2010, 09:18 AM   #204
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 18,015
View CHELLIE's Gallery13
Thanked 2,079 Times in 1,989 Posts
Club: Chino Renegades RC Flying Club
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Scratchbuilders Award  Ambassador Award  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (4)
Friends: (304)
Default

Originally Posted by DL8698 View Post
Hi, Chellie

Yes, I have considered the power pod method

The retractable pod looks a bit complicated to build. And a non retractable pod will probably not be good for thermalling with power off. That is why I chose the folding prop nose mounted method.

Not sure how well the DG1000 model thermals although it is based on a full sized glider which I'm sure thermals well, with its high aspect ratio wings.
Hi I found this thread on converting a large glider to E Power, hope it helps, Take care and have fun, Chellie

http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_82...tm.htm#8237737

I may be getting Older, But I Refuse to grow Up I am Having to much Fun to Grow Up LOL
CHELLIE is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2010, 09:21 AM   #205
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 18,015
View CHELLIE's Gallery13
Thanked 2,079 Times in 1,989 Posts
Club: Chino Renegades RC Flying Club
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Scratchbuilders Award  Ambassador Award  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (4)
Friends: (304)
Default

I had a 2 meter glider that i used a power pod with, it worked great, I used a nitro engine, gee that was about 25 years ago hope you are able to find the info you need, there is not a lot of info on converting larger 3 meter gliders to E Power for some reason, Take care, Chellie

I may be getting Older, But I Refuse to grow Up I am Having to much Fun to Grow Up LOL
CHELLIE is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2010, 09:31 AM   #206
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 18,015
View CHELLIE's Gallery13
Thanked 2,079 Times in 1,989 Posts
Club: Chino Renegades RC Flying Club
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Scratchbuilders Award  Ambassador Award  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (4)
Friends: (304)
Default

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...=694339&page=8






http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...=694339&page=9

I may be getting Older, But I Refuse to grow Up I am Having to much Fun to Grow Up LOL
CHELLIE is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2010, 03:18 PM   #207
DL8698
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Singapore
Posts: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default


Thanks for the links. This is more or less what I'm thinking of doing. Now I know it can be done this way.

And Happy New Year to All on Wattflyer... will be 2011 in about 45 min here in Singapore.
DL8698 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 04:38 AM   #208
FlyWheel
Ochroma Lagopus Tekton
 
FlyWheel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Blackstock, South Carolina
Posts: 2,511
View FlyWheel's Gallery5
Thanked 70 Times in 68 Posts
Club: Lancaster County Fliers
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (3)
Question SNQ

What a Great thread, and just what I'm looking for too! I have already searched it, and this question has not come up yet, so here goes...

I am building an AeroCraft Miss Stik (http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=59723) And I have decided to use the recommended AXI 2212/26 brushless out-runner to power it. From the specs it looks like a good motor for this bird, however what I don't like is the recommended mounting location, which is on the cowling. This wouldn't be a problem except the cowling is only taped onto the front of the fuselage. To me this is no better that just taping the motor onto the plane and I see all sorts of problems arising from it*. So what I would like to know is (are?):
  1. Can this motor be mounted onto the firewall instead? if so:
  2. How is this done?
  3. May I assume an adapter of some sort must be bought?
  4. How long will the combination motor/adapter be (I have 1.25 inches to work with)?
Thanks in advance

*The problems I see with using only tape to hold the motor on are:
  • That setting up the proper thrust angles will be much harder,
  • That they will be harder to keep correct and
  • That every insignifigant little bump on the nose will throw them off.
I don't want to have to deal with all this , I would much rather have a solid mount against the firewall that will stay where I put it. Let the cowling be what it is meant to be; a covering for the motor.

"Give a man a plane and he'll fly for a day.
Teach a man to build a plane and he'll fly for a lifetime"
FlyWheel is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 05:13 AM   #209
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 18,015
View CHELLIE's Gallery13
Thanked 2,079 Times in 1,989 Posts
Club: Chino Renegades RC Flying Club
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Scratchbuilders Award  Ambassador Award  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (4)
Friends: (304)
Default

Originally Posted by FlyWheel View Post
What a Great thread, and just what I'm looking for too! I have already searched it, and this question has not come up yet, so here goes...

I am building an AeroCraft Miss Stik (http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=59723) And I have decided to use the recommended AXI 2212/26 brushless out-runner to power it. From the specs it looks like a good motor for this bird, however what I don't like is the recommended mounting location, which is on the cowling. This wouldn't be a problem except the cowling is only taped onto the front of the fuselage. To me this is no better that just taping the motor onto the plane and I see all sorts of problems arising from it*. So what I would like to know is (are?):
  1. Can this motor be mounted onto the firewall instead? if so:
  2. How is this done?
  3. May I assume an adapter of some sort must be bought?
  4. How long will the combination motor/adapter be (I have 1.25 inches to work with)?
Thanks in advance



*The problems I see with using only tape to hold the motor on are:
  • That setting up the proper thrust angles will be much harder,
  • That they will be harder to keep correct and
  • That every insignifigant little bump on the nose will throw them off.
I don't want to have to deal with all this , I would much rather have a solid mount against the firewall that will stay where I put it. Let the cowling be what it is meant to be; a covering for the motor.

It looks to be a simple motor mount bolted to the firewall from the pic. measure your motor with the cowl, so it fits right, if not you will need to find a motor thats not to long, better a fat motor than a long motor

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...=601101&page=4




I may be getting Older, But I Refuse to grow Up I am Having to much Fun to Grow Up LOL
CHELLIE is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 05:31 AM   #210
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 18,015
View CHELLIE's Gallery13
Thanked 2,079 Times in 1,989 Posts
Club: Chino Renegades RC Flying Club
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Scratchbuilders Award  Ambassador Award  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (4)
Friends: (304)
Default

here is another idea if you want to use a stick motor mount, use a 3/8" x 3/8" bass wood, if the mount is a little loose, wrap masking tape on the wood, with a little ca, that will make for a tight fit.


I may be getting Older, But I Refuse to grow Up I am Having to much Fun to Grow Up LOL
CHELLIE is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 03:24 AM   #211
FlyWheel
Ochroma Lagopus Tekton
 
FlyWheel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Blackstock, South Carolina
Posts: 2,511
View FlyWheel's Gallery5
Thanked 70 Times in 68 Posts
Club: Lancaster County Fliers
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (3)
Default

Originally Posted by CHELLIE View Post
It looks to be a simple motor mount bolted to the firewall from the pic. measure your motor with the cowl, so it fits right, if not you will need to find a motor thats not to long, better a fat motor than a long motor
I've read that thread, in fact I have a printed copy with me on my building board. The motor pictured in that pic is not an AXI, it's a Frio 10 http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...=601101&page=4 (post #50).

However, I found the Axi home page, and yes, with an adapter plate/spindle it can be rear mounted, and it will just barely fit. Backwards!

http://www.modelmotors.cz/index.php?...e=26&line=GOLD

"Give a man a plane and he'll fly for a day.
Teach a man to build a plane and he'll fly for a lifetime"
FlyWheel is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 01:56 PM   #212
Turner
Super Contributor
 
Turner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 1,292
Thanked 122 Times in 120 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (3)
Default

Here is a store bought option that lets you customize your mount from many different parts.

http://www.espritmodel.com/search.aspx?find=motor+mount
Turner is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 08:27 PM   #213
Gumby77
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default Need some brain power on this one.

What would you all do in this situation? The mounting bracket spread is too big for the firewall. I could get longer screws, put the bracket on the back side of the firewall and use the holes for mounting the bracket to the motor... Anyone have any other ideas?


Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20130224_141941.jpg
Views:	80
Size:	82.1 KB
ID:	166555
Gumby77 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 11:49 PM   #214
hayofstacks
Super Contributor
 
hayofstacks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Utah
Posts: 1,475
Thanked 110 Times in 109 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (4)
Default

Drill the inner bolt pattern into the firewall, throw the "x-mount" aside, and make sure your screws are long enough, but not too long to hit windings in the motor. Put a washer or two on the firewall side to keep the screws from pulling though, hit them with ca if you would like.

Or cut the ears off the xmount and put it in there instead of the washers. Most parkflyer sized motors have 3mm motor screws.
hayofstacks is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 12:32 AM   #215
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 18,015
View CHELLIE's Gallery13
Thanked 2,079 Times in 1,989 Posts
Club: Chino Renegades RC Flying Club
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Scratchbuilders Award  Ambassador Award  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (4)
Friends: (304)
Default

Originally Posted by hayofstacks View Post
Drill the inner bolt pattern into the firewall, throw the "x-mount" aside, and make sure your screws are long enough, but not too long to hit windings in the motor. Put a washer or two on the firewall side to keep the screws from pulling though, hit them with ca if you would like.

Or cut the ears off the xmount and put it in there instead of the washers. Most parkflyer sized motors have 3mm motor screws.
+1 Great Advice, Also you can cut off the holes on the X mount and drill some new holes closer in, it looks like the motor body tappers towards the rear, so it should not be a problem with getting the screws into the fire wall. Hope that helps, Chellie

I may be getting Older, But I Refuse to grow Up I am Having to much Fun to Grow Up LOL
CHELLIE is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 03:10 PM   #216
Gumby77
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

Originally Posted by hayofstacks View Post
Drill the inner bolt pattern into the firewall, throw the "x-mount" aside, and make sure your screws are long enough, but not too long to hit windings in the motor. Put a washer or two on the firewall side to keep the screws from pulling though, hit them with ca if you would like.

Or cut the ears off the xmount and put it in there instead of the washers. Most parkflyer sized motors have 3mm motor screws.

That is what I was originally thinking so it's great to hear. I'll post pictures of the workaround.


Thanks
Gumby77 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Reply

  WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > R/C Electric Power - Batteries, Chargers, ESCs and More > Power Systems

Tags
motor , mount , outrunner

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EFlite 400 Outrunner motor mount screw size???? Dubaya Power Systems 4 03-17-2008 07:08 AM
Motor Mount For E-Max Outrunner? Please Help! wattflyer6161 General Electric Discussions 2 11-03-2007 08:49 PM
help with outrunner mount RSS Feed RCU RSS Feed 0 09-05-2006 05:10 AM
How to mount an outrunner? pootman Beginners 5 03-10-2006 06:51 PM
Where to Buy Motor Mount for Outrunner ??? LDM Power Systems 2 01-03-2006 08:59 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:27 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 WattfFlyer.com
RCU Eflight HQ

Charities we support Select: Yorkie Rescue  ::  Crohn's & Colitis Foundation



Page generated in 0.38436 seconds with 56 queries