Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric R/C Airplanes > General Electric Discussions
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

General Electric Discussions Talk about topics related to e-powered RC flying

Thank you for your support (hide ads)
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-05-2017, 07:38 PM   #1
garyp1029
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 162
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default Retracts on Elevator Switch on DX6i

Is it possible to use the elevator switch on DX6i to activate the landing gear?
garyp1029 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2017, 09:23 PM   #2
Panther
Member
 
Panther's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Queensland, Australia
Posts: 881
View Panther's Gallery5
Thanked 39 Times in 39 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default

Originally Posted by garyp1029 View Post
Is it possible to use the elevator switch on DX6i to activate the landing gear?
Elevator switch? There is no such thing.
Elevator is on the stick.
Can you elaborate?
Panther is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2017, 10:36 PM   #3
garyp1029
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 162
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default lebel

On the FRONT (top left) of the DX6i there are two switches (each has two positions)---the one on the right is "FLAPS", the other on its immediate left is "ELEV D/R" (elevator dual rate). My question---Since the "ELEV D/R" is a two position switch AND since I don't use it, is it even POSSIBLE to somehow use it in place of the "GEAR" switch???
garyp1029 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2017, 10:46 PM   #4
Panther
Member
 
Panther's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Queensland, Australia
Posts: 881
View Panther's Gallery5
Thanked 39 Times in 39 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default

I have a DX6 G3 and am not familiar with the DX6i.
However I think that switch would be coupled to the elevator to reduce throws. I am not sure it is a stand-alone switch unless the switch can be assigned to Ch 6.
It is a 6Ch Tx so you should have 6 free channels. ( 2 on switches)
Someone with a DX6i may have the answer.
Panther is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2017, 11:11 PM   #5
garyp1029
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 162
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

I think you are correct. It would have to be assigned to channel 6. That's probably not possible on the DX6i, but thought I would ask anyway. Thanks.
garyp1029 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2017, 12:50 AM   #6
Panther
Member
 
Panther's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Queensland, Australia
Posts: 881
View Panther's Gallery5
Thanked 39 Times in 39 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default

No problems. Hope you can get something sorted.
Panther is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2017, 01:26 AM   #7
pizzano
Behold The Renaissance
 
pizzano's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: So. Calif
Posts: 2,140
Thanked 135 Times in 133 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (3)
Default

I believe Panther is correct........Channel 6 is an Aux and can be used for combo assignments related to heli's and LED's or function as a control assignment on 6ch quad receivers.........however, I don't believe the gear switch can be swapped to the elevator dual rate switch since there is no way to reassign ether of those switches to Aux channel 6 without reprograming the Aux to accept either of those functions...........I've never tried to switch them, but there are old threads at RCG and Helifreak that discuss the reasons it cannot be accomplished.
pizzano is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2017, 08:37 AM   #8
squidger
Member
 
squidger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Horley Surrey UK
Posts: 746
Thanked 47 Times in 47 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (3)
Default

Think its channel 5 on spectrum for gear. You can assign any switch to any channel on the new spectrum radios but not on the dx6i.
squidger is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2017, 12:18 PM   #9
Panther
Member
 
Panther's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Queensland, Australia
Posts: 881
View Panther's Gallery5
Thanked 39 Times in 39 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default

Originally Posted by squidger View Post
Think its channel 5 on spectrum for gear. You can assign any switch to any channel on the new spectrum radios but not on the dx6i.
Correct. 5 is gear. However you can reassign it.
For DLG I assign some elevator, rudder, aileron and timer start all to the I button (Bind button) for launch mode. It really is a versatile TX.
Panther is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2017, 02:18 PM   #10
flypaper 2
Super Contributor
 
flypaper 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Kingston Ont. Can.
Posts: 1,235
Thanked 44 Times in 44 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default

Why not use the flaps switch. Even if you are using flaps, you would want them to work in co-ordination with the flaps/

Gord.
flypaper 2 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2017, 08:01 PM   #11
Vic Z
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Tacoma, Wa
Posts: 345
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
Club: Mt Rainier RC Club
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default

I don't believe that you can reassign switches on the 6i.

My biggest fear is that when I die my wife will sell my planes for what I told her I paid for them
Vic Z is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Reply

  WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric R/C Airplanes > General Electric Discussions


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Add retracts to my Mig 3 solentlife Scratch and Kit Built Aircraft 9 05-04-2016 08:13 PM
On the hunt for metal trunnion 90 deg retracts and oleos dahawk General Electric Discussions 20 12-17-2013 08:39 PM
3 Stage Flaps on a DX6i and a AR600? Hose Man RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros 0 08-29-2011 06:35 PM
Re: A dx6i mixing question please! Swanj Power Systems 1 08-26-2011 05:19 PM
How to hookup servos and retracts to a Parkzone P-47? mikail511 Warbird Electrics 3 08-14-2011 02:36 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:37 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 WattfFlyer.com
RCU Eflight HQ

Charities we support Select: Yorkie Rescue  ::  Crohn's & Colitis Foundation



Page generated in 0.08824 seconds with 42 queries