Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > R/C Electric Topics - General > RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Thank you for your support (hide ads)
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-24-2013, 05:17 PM   #1
stemo99
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: So. Jersey
Posts: 15
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default DX7 Flap Programming for 3 position switch

First, the radio is a DX7 NOT a DX7s. OK I want to use my 3 position flap switch for no flaps, half flaps and full flaps. The wing has 2 aileron servos and 1 flap servo. I am using a 7 channel orange dsm2 HK receiver. The flap channel is channel 7. Following the manual exactly, the only results I get are when the switch is in the 0 position, I get full downward deflection of the flaps. positions 2 and 3 have no effect on the flaps. Even though I input negitive elevator values I get no elevator movement whatsoever. Changing the values in norm, mid and land in the flaps system screen doesn't change anything, still full downward deflection in pos 0 only, no elevator movement. In order to have any functioning flaps, I have to plug the flap servo into the gear channel, adjust the gear travel to where I want the deflection to stop, do a mix with gear master elevator slave. gear switch up, flaps off, gear switch down, half flaps, and down elevator. Why have a flap 3 pos switch that can't be used. Your help is appreciated. Thanks
Steve
stemo99 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 02:44 AM   #2
aerocal
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 27
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

Its kind of hard to tell what you have going on by your description.
The Flap system is tied to Aux1(ch6).There is no way to reassign that.
Where do you have your second aileron plugged in if you are running 2 aileron?

In the system menu on Input screen make sure Flap is assigned to System.You can see the position change with the label on the flap menu screen.You can also see what may be going on in the Monitor screen.
aerocal is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 07:48 PM   #3
stemo99
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: So. Jersey
Posts: 15
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

I have the left aileron plugged into channel 6 which is aux1 (now I know it'sthe flap channel) and ailerons work fine. I'll try your suggestion and post results. Thanks for your input.
Steve
stemo99 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 08:34 PM   #4
Turner
Super Contributor
 
Turner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 1,292
Thanked 122 Times in 120 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (3)
Default

How many flap servos are you using?
Turner is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 05:14 AM   #5
aerocal
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 27
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

Originally Posted by stemo99 View Post
I have the left aileron plugged into channel 6 which is aux1 (now I know it'sthe flap channel) and ailerons work fine. I'll try your suggestion and post results. Thanks for your input.
Steve
Ok.I guess you have Flaperons enabled.
You need to turn Flaperon Off.Flap to System.In Input select menu set Aux2 to Inh.Plug Flap into Ch6 and second Ail into Ch7.Create a Mix of Ail to Aux2 to drive the second Ail servo.Set Flaps in Flap menu.Use Reverse if necessary to get Ailerons moving in correct directions.
aerocal is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 06:43 AM   #6
kyleservicetech
Dennis V
 
kyleservicetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 7,419
Thanked 655 Times in 638 Posts
Club: www.racinercclub.com (I'm the newsletter editor)
Awards Showcase

Outstanding Contributor Award  3kW  2kW  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (18)
Default

Originally Posted by aerocal View Post
Ok.I guess you have Flaperons enabled.
You need to turn Flaperon Off.Flap to System.In Input select menu set Aux2 to Inh.Plug Flap into Ch6 and second Ail into Ch7.Create a Mix of Ail to Aux2 to drive the second Ail servo.Set Flaps in Flap menu.Use Reverse if necessary to get Ailerons moving in correct directions.
If my sadly failing memory is correct, the flapperons have to have their individual travel adjusted by moving the flap switch to "0", adjust travel, "1", adjust travel, and "2" and adjust travel.

Much easier to do on my DX8.

DennyV
Retired and the days are just too short, busier than ever!
kyleservicetech is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 10:45 AM   #7
stemo99
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: So. Jersey
Posts: 15
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

Did all of the suggested above and yay!!!, it all works. I have adjusted the throws for flaps and elevator on the 3 position switch to pos 0 normal, pos1 1/2 flap deflection, pos2 full flaps. Thank you for your help. Now actually doing this has really cleared up much of my confusion about mixing. Thanks again.
Steve
stemo99 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 11:43 AM   #8
stemo99
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: So. Jersey
Posts: 15
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

On the other group, I was advised that if the Mix1 is used on a DX7 that the left aileron trim will not work. I tried the trim and that IS the case. Mix5 or Mix6 MUST be used and left aileron trim now functions properly.
Steve
stemo99 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 07:05 PM   #9
kyleservicetech
Dennis V
 
kyleservicetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 7,419
Thanked 655 Times in 638 Posts
Club: www.racinercclub.com (I'm the newsletter editor)
Awards Showcase

Outstanding Contributor Award  3kW  2kW  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (18)
Default

Originally Posted by stemo99 View Post
On the other group, I was advised that if the Mix1 is used on a DX7 that the left aileron trim will not work. I tried the trim and that IS the case. Mix5 or Mix6 MUST be used and left aileron trim now functions properly.
Steve
Yeah, I can verify that, after an hour or so of fiddling with it.

DennyV
Retired and the days are just too short, busier than ever!
kyleservicetech is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 07:18 PM   #10
Turner
Super Contributor
 
Turner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 1,292
Thanked 122 Times in 120 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (3)
Default

From the DX7 manual


Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2013-03-01 at 2.15.45 PM.png
Views:	71
Size:	20.9 KB
ID:	166697
Turner is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 12:46 AM   #11
kyleservicetech
Dennis V
 
kyleservicetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 7,419
Thanked 655 Times in 638 Posts
Club: www.racinercclub.com (I'm the newsletter editor)
Awards Showcase

Outstanding Contributor Award  3kW  2kW  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (18)
Default

Originally Posted by Turner View Post
From the DX7 manual
Yeah, as I found out, if this stuff doesn't work, read the manual!

DennyV
Retired and the days are just too short, busier than ever!
kyleservicetech is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Reply

  WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > R/C Electric Topics - General > RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Broken DX7 switch - shall I try to fix it? mclarkson RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros 11 10-01-2013 02:39 PM
Turn on TX or RX first paxskipper General Electric Discussions 20 01-28-2012 10:29 PM
Dx6i flap programming tip I learned xmech2k RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros 1 01-06-2012 11:34 PM
42-50-800kV equivalent bimmerland General Electric Discussions 22 11-11-2011 05:26 AM
Futaba 9C switch mixing martyp57 RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros 22 04-01-2011 07:21 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:27 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 WattfFlyer.com
RCU Eflight HQ

Charities we support Select: Yorkie Rescue  ::  Crohn's & Colitis Foundation



Page generated in 0.26298 seconds with 45 queries