Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Company Support Forums > Maxamps discussion
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

Maxamps discussion Welcome to the Maxamps.com support forum

Thank you for your support (hide ads)
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-27-2007, 08:00 PM   #1
Franny
Stupid Gravity!
 
Franny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Arvada, Colorado (just moved...)
Posts: 504
View Franny's Gallery20
Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (3)
Default TX pack for new Spektrum DX7

Hi Jason,

Do you have a LiPoly pack for the DX7 (TX)? I think they offer an option for one as well...

Thanks,

Franny
Franny is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2007, 04:33 AM   #2
JAM MaxAmps
Member
 
JAM MaxAmps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Nine Mile Falls, WA
Posts: 216
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (0)
Default

Franny what the pack size......dimensions and volts.........I run a Dualsky 3 cell Li-po in my Eclipse 7 and it works great.............I charge it about once a month. See what you can find out and I'll run it by Austin.

Jason
MaxAmps Marketing Manager
jason@maxamps.com
www.NitroKillers.com
www.MaxAmps.com
JAM MaxAmps is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2007, 06:17 PM   #3
aviatordave
Super Contributor
 
aviatordave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Iowa
Posts: 6,233
View aviatordave's Gallery10
Thanked 138 Times in 130 Posts
Club: A wooden stick used for hitting.
Send a message via Yahoo to aviatordave Send a message via Skype™ to aviatordave
Awards Showcase

AV Contest  Outstanding Contributor Award  AP Contest Winner  AP Contest Winner 
iTrader: (4)
Friends: (29)
Default DX7 battery size

Originally Posted by JAM View Post
Franny what the pack size......dimensions and volts.........I run a Dualsky 3 cell Li-po in my Eclipse 7 and it works great.............I charge it about once a month. See what you can find out and I'll run it by Austin.
Here are some pics with dimensions. So far I have not had a battery-low problem, but the fact of having to charge it for 16 hrs kind of blows. That is where a lipo comes in

The pack says 'McNair Ni-MH AA1500mAh 9.6V'

Is McNair a popular battery? I've never seen the name before.

The pack measures 3 3/4" long by 1 1/4" square. There is about a inch of slop in the battery compartment for a longer battery if needed.

See whatch can do -


Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3764.JPG
Views:	1181
Size:	92.4 KB
ID:	32060   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3765.JPG
Views:	1193
Size:	73.0 KB
ID:	32061   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3767.JPG
Views:	1487
Size:	141.5 KB
ID:	32062  


aviatordave is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2007, 06:59 AM   #4
Franny
Stupid Gravity!
 
Franny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Arvada, Colorado (just moved...)
Posts: 504
View Franny's Gallery20
Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (3)
Default

Thanks Dave! I've been a total slacker and we've been out on vacation. I really appreciate you getting this posted.

Franny
Franny is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2007, 12:59 AM   #5
JAM MaxAmps
Member
 
JAM MaxAmps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Nine Mile Falls, WA
Posts: 216
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (0)
Default

Can you guys get me a photo of the connector also?

Jason
MaxAmps Marketing Manager
jason@maxamps.com
www.NitroKillers.com
www.MaxAmps.com
JAM MaxAmps is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2007, 01:18 AM   #6
aviatordave
Super Contributor
 
aviatordave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Iowa
Posts: 6,233
View aviatordave's Gallery10
Thanked 138 Times in 130 Posts
Club: A wooden stick used for hitting.
Send a message via Yahoo to aviatordave Send a message via Skype™ to aviatordave
Awards Showcase

AV Contest  Outstanding Contributor Award  AP Contest Winner  AP Contest Winner 
iTrader: (4)
Friends: (29)
Default

Originally Posted by JAM View Post
Can you guys get me a photo of the connector also?

here ya go. I was afraid I would lose my model memory if I unplugged it, but it must also have a onboard battery.

kinda cheesy looking....but here it is.

dave


Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMGP2055.JPG
Views:	891
Size:	176.5 KB
ID:	32226   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMGP2058.JPG
Views:	1018
Size:	203.2 KB
ID:	32227  


aviatordave is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2007, 07:13 PM   #7
aviatordave
Super Contributor
 
aviatordave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Iowa
Posts: 6,233
View aviatordave's Gallery10
Thanked 138 Times in 130 Posts
Club: A wooden stick used for hitting.
Send a message via Yahoo to aviatordave Send a message via Skype™ to aviatordave
Awards Showcase

AV Contest  Outstanding Contributor Award  AP Contest Winner  AP Contest Winner 
iTrader: (4)
Friends: (29)
Default

Originally Posted by JAM View Post
Can you guys get me a photo of the connector also?
Whats the verdict, Boss?


aviatordave is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2007, 07:49 PM   #8
JAM MaxAmps
Member
 
JAM MaxAmps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Nine Mile Falls, WA
Posts: 216
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (0)
Default

We need a conversion here...our pack measures 95mm L X 30mm W X 28mm H and that connector looks very similar to the hitec plug that is in my Eclipse 7...... our pack comes with a Futaba plug on it.......I swaped mine out for the Hitec plug. I had a computer program calculator that was on my machine before the hard drive scrub, it did conversions but now I can remember where I got the program from.

Jason
MaxAmps Marketing Manager
jason@maxamps.com
www.NitroKillers.com
www.MaxAmps.com
JAM MaxAmps is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2007, 08:13 PM   #9
JAM MaxAmps
Member
 
JAM MaxAmps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Nine Mile Falls, WA
Posts: 216
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (0)
Default

Ok found the program and here's the measurements in inches 3.7 X 1.18 X 1.10...............by the looks of it it should fit..........and man do they last.

Jason
MaxAmps Marketing Manager
jason@maxamps.com
www.NitroKillers.com
www.MaxAmps.com
JAM MaxAmps is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2007, 05:13 AM   #10
aviatordave
Super Contributor
 
aviatordave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Iowa
Posts: 6,233
View aviatordave's Gallery10
Thanked 138 Times in 130 Posts
Club: A wooden stick used for hitting.
Send a message via Yahoo to aviatordave Send a message via Skype™ to aviatordave
Awards Showcase

AV Contest  Outstanding Contributor Award  AP Contest Winner  AP Contest Winner 
iTrader: (4)
Friends: (29)
Default

do you know if the 11.1 V will be ok? the stock batt. says 9.6V, but when I power up the xmtr, the V on the LED says 11.5 V. You guys dont happen to have a DX7 to use as a test bed do ya?


aviatordave is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2007, 01:40 PM   #11
JAM MaxAmps
Member
 
JAM MaxAmps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Nine Mile Falls, WA
Posts: 216
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (0)
Default

Dave My Eclispe 7 Stock pack is the same way..........and I get the 12 volt start point with my Li-Po pack and it doesn't hurt it at all.........and soon I plan on switching over to the XtremePower 2.4 add-on that supports a five mile range.....And I don't have to buy a new TX.

Jason
MaxAmps Marketing Manager
jason@maxamps.com
www.NitroKillers.com
www.MaxAmps.com
JAM MaxAmps is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2007, 04:55 AM   #12
NUMB-LOCK
New Member
 
NUMB-LOCK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 15
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Question

Originally Posted by JAM MaxAmps View Post
We need a conversion here...our pack measures 95mm L X 30mm W X 28mm H and that connector looks very similar to the hitec plug that is in my Eclipse 7...... our pack comes with a Futaba plug on it.......I swaped mine out for the Hitec plug. I had a computer program calculator that was on my machine before the hard drive scrub, it did conversions but now I can remember where I got the program from.
Hi Jason, when you swapped out the futaba plug with the Hitec plug, did you crimp on the new one? Solder it on? If crimping, which tool?

Thanks,

Bob I.
NUMB-LOCK is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2007, 02:04 PM   #13
JAM MaxAmps
Member
 
JAM MaxAmps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Nine Mile Falls, WA
Posts: 216
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (0)
Default

Hey Bob, I just cut off the Futaba plug and did the same with the old Hitec pack....the just solder and heat shrink.......done.

Jason
MaxAmps Marketing Manager
jason@maxamps.com
www.NitroKillers.com
www.MaxAmps.com
JAM MaxAmps is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2008, 05:16 PM   #14
LRAFB
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default spektrum dx6 dx7 NiCd NiMH LiPo battery replacement

Fellas,
I'm active duty military at Little Rock AFB (hence LRAFB for a handle) and sure would appreciate your help and advice.

I have a spektrum dx6 and the battery life blooows...
It is NiCD 600mAh, can I replace it with a stock NiMH from a DX7?
The DX7 spektrum battery says " spektrum nimh aa1500mah 9.6 "
My fear is the NiCD DX6 won't charge a NiMH... (but I do have a Hobbico Accu-Cycle Pro Series Elite lipo charger...so maybe that doesn't matter..???)

Do you have a better solution? Where can I go to buy ***any*** battery that works for a long time and is an easy swap.

Don't think the Air Force "web gestapo" will allow access to "fun web sites" like this, so please also reply to Derek@BlazeDiamond.com

Thanks fellas! I really appreciate it,
Derek
LRAFB is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2008, 01:01 AM   #15
aviatordave
Super Contributor
 
aviatordave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Iowa
Posts: 6,233
View aviatordave's Gallery10
Thanked 138 Times in 130 Posts
Club: A wooden stick used for hitting.
Send a message via Yahoo to aviatordave Send a message via Skype™ to aviatordave
Awards Showcase

AV Contest  Outstanding Contributor Award  AP Contest Winner  AP Contest Winner 
iTrader: (4)
Friends: (29)
Default

Derek,

Try this

http://www.dimensionengineering.com/...ektrum_mod.htm

Hope that helps, it will lengthen the battery life about 35-40%. Just a little soldering...


aviatordave is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2008, 01:45 AM   #16
LRAFB
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

I just ordered one... Thank you!
Still like to find a bigger lithium polymer or NiMH for the DX6 , if they are out there...
LRAFB is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2008, 11:17 PM   #17
aviatordave
Super Contributor
 
aviatordave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Iowa
Posts: 6,233
View aviatordave's Gallery10
Thanked 138 Times in 130 Posts
Club: A wooden stick used for hitting.
Send a message via Yahoo to aviatordave Send a message via Skype™ to aviatordave
Awards Showcase

AV Contest  Outstanding Contributor Award  AP Contest Winner  AP Contest Winner 
iTrader: (4)
Friends: (29)
Default

I've asked that as well. I'm not confident what will happen if I replace the 9.6V battery pack with a 11.1V pack. I'm still getting long run times on my DX7 pack so it isnt to much of an issue yet.


aviatordave is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2008, 11:32 PM   #18
JAM MaxAmps
Member
 
JAM MaxAmps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Nine Mile Falls, WA
Posts: 216
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (0)
Default

I'm running a 2500 mAh 11.1 volt in My DX7 and have had no issues at all. A friend is using the same pack in his new 9303 2.4 system with no troubles also.

Jason

Jason
MaxAmps Marketing Manager
jason@maxamps.com
www.NitroKillers.com
www.MaxAmps.com
JAM MaxAmps is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2008, 10:13 PM   #19
Madman
Bob
 
Madman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: San Diego, CA (USA)
Posts: 185
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default Another voice in the wilderness ...

Found this thread when I came up with a blank screen in my DX-7 yesterday after a 30 hour attempted recharge. My Tx was purchased in April 2007, and this is the first time I've removed the battery. Like others in this thread, the label on the Batt reads:
McNAIR
Ni-MH AA1500mAh 9.6V
Also like others here, the onscreen display earlier read anywhere from 10.5 to 11.6 V, but never 9.6V. Also, after all earlier recharges, the little slide bar indicator graphic on the LED display of the DX-7 has NEVER showed FULL, even when displaying 11.6V numerically as the current voltage available.

Has anyone here found another Ni-MH replacement? Spektrum's home site only has a 600mAh NiCD (reportedly for the DX-6) ... but none listed for the DX-7. What are the ramifications of going to that lower capacity battery? Longevity (endurance)? Here's the link: http://www.spektrumrc.com/Products/D...ProdID=SPM7001

Spektrum is really slow in responding, usually, but eventually they do.

Has anyone found a faster Spektrum plugin the wall charger? I've read rumors that they have one that works a lot better than the 30+ hour dog that came with mine.
Thx for any/all replies.

MadMan
Madman is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2008, 05:13 PM   #20
Hughes500Bob
Full Scale Pilot
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Southeast PA
Posts: 197
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

Dualsky 2500 TXB-25003JR from http://2dogrc.com

The new Spektrum SPM9522 charger is 110 mah which is double the original one.
Hughes500Bob is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2008, 06:50 PM   #21
Madman
Bob
 
Madman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: San Diego, CA (USA)
Posts: 185
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Thumbs up Thx for the feedback

Originally Posted by Hughes500Bob View Post
Dualsky 2500 TXB-25003JR from http://2dogrc.com

The new Spektrum SPM9522 charger is 110 mah which is double the original one.
Thanks, H500B ... I noted the caution:
WARNING! DO NOT CHARGE the BATTERY IN THE RADIO! ONLY USE LI-POLY CHARGER!
In which case, the SPM9522 charger would be moot, correct?

MadMan
Madman is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2008, 07:01 PM   #22
Hughes500Bob
Full Scale Pilot
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Southeast PA
Posts: 197
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

So Sorry .... I see you have a DX6. The analog voltage regulator in a DX6 "may" not handle a LiPo without the Dimension Engineering digital voltage regulator upgrade ..... which is not easy to do without a lot of soldering / desoldering experience. Seems some are using it with success.

That Spektrum number I gave you is a 110 mAh NiMH charger and would work with the DX7 1500 mAh NiMH STOCK battery.

You could also make up your own Tx pack using Sanyo Eneloop batteries. Be careful of the polarity to the charge plug as Spektrum uses the outside case for positive and the core for negative which is backwards from industry standard.
Hughes500Bob is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2008, 09:30 PM   #23
Madman
Bob
 
Madman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: San Diego, CA (USA)
Posts: 185
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default AOK

Originally Posted by Hughes500Bob View Post
So Sorry .... I see you have a DX6. The analog voltage regulator in a DX6 "may" not handle a LiPo without the Dimension Engineering digital voltage regulator upgrade ..... which is not easy to do without a lot of soldering / desoldering experience. Seems some are using it with success.

That Spektrum number I gave you is a 110 mAh NiMH charger and would work with the DX7 1500 mAh NiMH STOCK battery.

You could also make up your own Tx pack using Sanyo Eneloop batteries. Be careful of the polarity to the charge plug as Spektrum uses the outside case for positive and the core for negative which is backwards from industry standard.
Nope ... your recommendation was most welcome. I do in fact have a DX-7, so your batt recommendation should work. 2500mAh sure beats the standard 1500mAh load, but, since it's a LiPo, I shouldn't need to worry about the Spektrum "fast-charger", since my flight-battery charger will do the job. THX for the responses.

MadMan
Madman is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2008, 07:05 PM   #24
JAM MaxAmps
Member
 
JAM MaxAmps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Nine Mile Falls, WA
Posts: 216
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (0)
Default

Guys this thread was about our Li-Po TX'er packs. If your going to talk about another companies product please start a thread in that companies section and not ours.

Thank you and Best regards,

Jason

Jason
MaxAmps Marketing Manager
jason@maxamps.com
www.NitroKillers.com
www.MaxAmps.com
JAM MaxAmps is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2008, 07:13 PM   #25
Liquidity
Combat Vet
 
Liquidity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: GA
Posts: 2,049
View Liquidity's Gallery62
Thanked 135 Times in 128 Posts
Club: Hodges Hobbies, RAA, and GAMA
Awards Showcase

WAA-08 Pilot  1kW  125mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (8)
Friends: (26)
Default

Jason,

I run a lipo in my DX7. I know Spektrum recommends against it, but I am curious what MaxAmps official stand on this issue is.

"War is an ugly thing, but not the ugliest of things..." http://www.quotationspage.com/quote/27169.html
Liquidity is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Reply

  WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Company Support Forums > Maxamps discussion

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale Spektrum DX7 Heli Tx KrazyEighths Radio Equipment For Sale & WTB 1 09-15-2008 01:51 AM
WTB Spektrum DX7 tx only or with rx ralphkimaz Radio Equipment For Sale & WTB 2 03-06-2008 04:44 AM
TrueRC Tx pack for DX6 or DX7**SOLD** simibill Radio Equipment For Sale & WTB 3 01-29-2008 11:04 PM
Spektrum dx6 + 1100 mah tx pack Figure.N9ne Ebay for sale 0 10-24-2007 04:22 AM
Spektrum DX7 tx question. compflight Batteries & Chargers 26 08-24-2007 05:39 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:47 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 WattfFlyer.com
RCU Eflight HQ

Charities we support Select: Yorkie Rescue  ::  Crohn's & Colitis Foundation



Page generated in 0.82445 seconds with 74 queries