Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric R/C Airplanes > Sport Planes (Formerly I/C & Gas Conversion)
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

Sport Planes (Formerly I/C & Gas Conversion) Discuss I/C or Gas Conversions, Aerobatic Planes and Sport Aircraft

Thank you for your support (hide ads)

Old 11-16-2005, 05:09 AM   #1
manga

Friends: (0)
Default Great Planes Seawind conversion

Hi

I am new to electrics but this plane has me very interested. I think it can be a challenge to convert to electric. It is a flying hull. The specs are as follows:

"Wingspan: 71 in (1805 mm)
Wing Area: 676 sq in (43.6 dm2)
Weight: 10.25-12.25 lb (4.6-5.5kg)
Wing Loading: 35-41 oz/sq ft (106-127 g/dm2)
Length: 56 in (1410 mm)
Requires: 2-stroke .60 cu in (10 cc) or 4-stroke .70-.91 cu in (11.5-15 cc) engine, 5-7 channel radio w/7-9 servos"

The main problem I foresee is the available prop clearance. According to other forums the limit is 13". Great Planes recommends a 3 blade prop for the glow engines. I guess a 4 blade prop could also be used.

Any ideas what kind of set up (motor, gear, prop, battery, ESC) would work for this plane? Specially in light of the fact that prop size is limited by the design of the plane.

Thanks
Old 11-16-2005, 03:50 PM   #2
Warden

I'm not going to be of much help here as far as recommendations go. I looked at this plane as a conversion candidate myself and decided against it. That plane has some pretty hefty wing loading (35-45 oz/sq ft). If it flies glow it'll fly electric but it'd take an outrunner brushless with a lipo pack fer sure and lipo's and water don't mix very well.