Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > R/C Electric Topics - General > Off Topic Chit Chat
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

Off Topic Chit Chat Get to know other eflight modelers in the WattFlyer community here in this off topic forum. NO politics or religion discussion please (Holiday well wishes are ok)

Thank you for your support (hide ads)
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-19-2010, 09:14 AM   #10826
Wrench66
Ya' need to use mo rudda!
 
Wrench66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chino, Calif. aka Dairyland
Posts: 1,356
View Wrench66's Gallery33
Thanked 107 Times in 100 Posts
Club: Chino Renegades RC Flier's
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award 
iTrader: (6)
Friends: (20)
Thumbs up

Sorry the big Texan went down, Chong......but by the pics of it after the repairs it looks great! Good job fixing the "wouldn" plane...hahha

**Hope you guys can get the radio issues solved, crossed fingers for ya**

Ni Nite, Steve....


Man, gravity is ALWAYS wanting something from me
Wrench66 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2010, 04:52 PM   #10827
TbigD
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 653
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (3)
Default

Chong saying the speed control (100 amp) and bec were both warm after the crash make me thing something is drawing too many amps , maybe put the amp meter on it , "mix" the sticks around to see the amp draw , unplug one servo at a time to see which thing drawing too much maybe put some weights on controls to up amp draw , check all solder joints/plugs , but there were a bunch of brownouts/stuff happening yesterday , and the day before , and the day before , (geeze i think im going flying too much) Chong , do you have any 7000 receivers ? Might be worth the investment for the big stuff .......
TbigD is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2010, 05:00 PM   #10828
TbigD
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 653
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (3)
Default

Steve , wadda ya think ?
if they has the sukol in the red id get it , they have a yellow one and im not liking it too much ........
TbigD is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2010, 05:49 PM   #10829
HobbyCity_PwnsME
80's Metal.
 
HobbyCity_PwnsME's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Cow Country
Posts: 1,507
Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
Club: Chino Renegades! - Hold Elevator Bro!
Awards Showcase

100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (3)
Default

Originally Posted by TbigD View Post
Chong saying the speed control (100 amp) and bec were both warm after the crash make me thing something is drawing too many amps , maybe put the amp meter on it , "mix" the sticks around to see the amp draw , unplug one servo at a time to see which thing drawing too much maybe put some weights on controls to up amp draw , check all solder joints/plugs , but there were a bunch of brownouts/stuff happening yesterday , and the day before , and the day before , (geeze i think im going flying too much) Chong , do you have any 7000 receivers ? Might be worth the investment for the big stuff .......

I went through all my connections and they were good. I hate cutting shrink wrap to find a well done solder connection just to have to unsolder and rewrap.. but now I'm 100 % sure..

some things to note.. WOT i'm at 44amps.. so I'm good there..

however.. my retract servo is completely burned out! Might have been the culprit..

I really think the AR7000 is overkill though.. since it's really an AR6200 with an additional channel. I don't think it's any more robust.. but who knows. I see posts about the 7000 browing out as many as 6200s.

Who's got an extra 72 setup?? lol..


Also.. has anyone ordered from HK right before the volcano deal happened? I've had an order held up for a week now! That's long for me.
HobbyCity_PwnsME is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2010, 06:06 PM   #10830
Wrench66
Ya' need to use mo rudda!
 
Wrench66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chino, Calif. aka Dairyland
Posts: 1,356
View Wrench66's Gallery33
Thanked 107 Times in 100 Posts
Club: Chino Renegades RC Flier's
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award 
iTrader: (6)
Friends: (20)
Default

Originally Posted by HobbyCity_PwnsME View Post
I went through all my connections and they were good. I hate cutting shrink wrap to find a well done solder connection just to have to unsolder and rewrap.. but now I'm 100 % sure..

some things to note.. WOT i'm at 44amps.. so I'm good there..

however.. my retract servo is completely burned out! Might have been the culprit..

I really think the AR7000 is overkill though.. since it's really an AR6200 with an additional channel. I don't think it's any more robust.. but who knows. I see posts about the 7000 browing out as many as 6200s.

Who's got an extra 72 setup?? lol..


Also.. has anyone ordered from HK right before the volcano deal happened? I've had an order held up for a week now! That's long for me.
LOL... step into my office, Grasshopper....LOL

Man, gravity is ALWAYS wanting something from me
Wrench66 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2010, 06:06 PM   #10831
TbigD
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 653
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (3)
Default

Sounds like you found it , had to be something like that , do you have fixed gear for it ? I didnt know the 7000's were having issues too , Im thinking its not so much 2.4 but spektrum 2.4 , I dont see too many issues with the hitec and futuba , Im loving my 72mgz 9cap more and more each day ,
TbigD is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2010, 06:09 PM   #10832
TbigD
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 653
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (3)
Default

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1230850
TbigD is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2010, 07:47 PM   #10833
HobbyCity_PwnsME
80's Metal.
 
HobbyCity_PwnsME's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Cow Country
Posts: 1,507
Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
Club: Chino Renegades! - Hold Elevator Bro!
Awards Showcase

100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (3)
Default

Hmm... well this is weird.

Investigating further, I remember saying the red led was flashing.. thinking this was a power outtage or voltage error.. uh duh.. if the receiver browned out instead of failsafed, it wouldn't have flashed that red (holds it had)

SOOOOO... it lost signal... that's a bummer. Othewise, it would have just flashed orange (just like leaving the TX on and unplugging and re-plugging the battery). It would have cleared the holds and wouldn't have been flashing red.

Thing is.. on an AR6200 in a balsa plane with receivers on both sides of the fuse (and the Dx7 antennae folded straight up)..

How could it have happened? I could have shadowed.. but that seems unlikely..

Losing signal on an AR6200 sounds like bad times.


*sigh*

What happened? My supercub had rudder/elevator and throttle at 15 amps?? How did we get to this? lol
HobbyCity_PwnsME is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2010, 10:11 PM   #10834
TbigD
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 653
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (3)
Default

Or http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...0#post14890226
TbigD is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2010, 10:19 PM   #10835
TbigD
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 653
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (3)
Default

Chong , check this out , not so much the plane but he used a seperate bec for the retract servo http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1230999
TbigD is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2010, 10:39 PM   #10836
HobbyCity_PwnsME
80's Metal.
 
HobbyCity_PwnsME's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Cow Country
Posts: 1,507
Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
Club: Chino Renegades! - Hold Elevator Bro!
Awards Showcase

100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (3)
Default

Originally Posted by TbigD View Post
Chong , check this out , not so much the plane but he used a seperate bec for the retract servo http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1230999

Great..

Now I'm interested in the plane too! lol..

it thought about wiring seperately for th retract servo.. but the one I use shuts down once open/closed or stalled. I thought the servo burning out was the culprit but my RX never lost power or shorted.. it had continous power. I DID have the red HOLD Led flashing.. so either my Tx screwed up and lost signal for abit OR my Rx lost signal somehow... that's strange for the 6200 on a wood fuse with sat on opposite ends..

Weird.. I don't really believe most of those lockout stories from that side of the field.. but I checked out Al's video and sure enough I was flying over on the other side near the fence (the original Bermuda Triangle)..

I think the servo burned out because my retracts were down when it crashed and the impact broke both gears off that could have jolted it.

BUT.. why was the ESC and BEC so freakin warm??

Oh well.. I'm going to do a couple tests... then run it WOT all servos going for 4 or so mins and see what's happening. Check the Amp draw.. etc.

I may even try that superbrain to log everything...

Since this frame has already crashed twice I'm not too worried if it goes in again.. as long as it goes in away from people and cars!
HobbyCity_PwnsME is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 03:35 AM   #10837
Slip23us
Cool Member
 
Slip23us's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 71
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (5)
Default Helis Y !!!

Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 029.jpg
Views:	100
Size:	194.5 KB
ID:	125996

Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 001.jpg
Views:	101
Size:	202.9 KB
ID:	125997

Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 022.jpg
Views:	91
Size:	145.2 KB
ID:	125998Havent you guys been talking about losing power in certain times called a black out or brown out ,, well i was in my second battery flying my heli, and doing really good then I took my heli up and did a really fast flip and then as i was up side down and had no power for like 2 to 3 seconds , oh my , this is the first time is ever happened to me , my 250 did the same ,Steve said it was my servo going to far, but my 450 Y ,, damn this sucks,,, Some day Ill catch up !!!!!

oh I found a really cool place to fly in Chino , But its all dirt and weeds but where i live its hard to come by a place to fly ,, but a very open field and nobody around !!!!!


Slip23us is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 03:41 AM   #10838
Alpea42
Parkjets Rule 3D Rocks
 
Alpea42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: So. Ca. Chino
Posts: 3,635
View Alpea42's Gallery59
Thanked 138 Times in 136 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (25)
Default

Tin foil hats. Will cure the alien interferance.

THE B-2 Worlds most expensive airplane.
Alpea42 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 03:46 AM   #10839
HobbyCity_PwnsME
80's Metal.
 
HobbyCity_PwnsME's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Cow Country
Posts: 1,507
Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
Club: Chino Renegades! - Hold Elevator Bro!
Awards Showcase

100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (3)
Default

Originally Posted by Slip23us View Post
Attachment 125996

Attachment 125997

Attachment 125998Havent you guys been talking about losing power in certain times called a black out or brown out ,, well i was in my second battery flying my heli, and doing really good then I took my heli up and did a really fast flip and then as i was up side down and had no power for like 2 to 3 seconds , oh my , this is the first time is ever happened to me , my 250 did the same ,Steve said it was my servo going to far, but my 450 Y ,, damn this sucks,,, Some day Ill catch up !!!!!

oh I found a really cool place to fly in Chino , But its all dirt and weeds but where i live its hard to come by a place to fly ,, but a very open field and nobody around !!!!!

Yikes!

Bummer! Did you check your RX light? Or was everything disconnected by that time??


Another twist to the Texan mystery...

I amped the motor on the same size prop I used.. get this.. Hi timing.. 1200watts.. med.. 750! WTH??

Instead of 4 cells I went back down to cells and now I'm in the 6-700 watt range on high timing (motor shrieks at med still)...
HobbyCity_PwnsME is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 03:46 AM   #10840
Slip23us
Cool Member
 
Slip23us's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 71
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (5)
Default

Originally Posted by Alpea42 View Post
Tin foil hats. Will cure the alien interferance.
Can you make me one i out of foil ? Damn but it looks like its sleeping !!
Slip23us is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 03:50 AM   #10841
Slip23us
Cool Member
 
Slip23us's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 71
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (5)
Default

Originally Posted by HobbyCity_PwnsME View Post
Yikes!

Bummer! Did you check your RX light? Or was everything disconnected by that time??


Another twist to the Texan mystery...

I amped the motor on the same size prop I used.. get this.. Hi timing.. 1200watts.. med.. 750! WTH??

Instead of 4 cells I went back down to cells and now I'm in the 6-700 watt range on high timing (motor shrieks at med still)...
i just ran over and unplugged the battery so nothing else would happen ,,, has this reciver thing been happening alot Chong cause this is bull S@$^
Slip23us is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 04:23 AM   #10842
HobbyCity_PwnsME
80's Metal.
 
HobbyCity_PwnsME's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Cow Country
Posts: 1,507
Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
Club: Chino Renegades! - Hold Elevator Bro!
Awards Showcase

100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (3)
Default

Originally Posted by Slip23us View Post
i just ran over and unplugged the battery so nothing else would happen ,,, has this reciver thing been happening alot Chong cause this is bull S@$^

lol.. well it happened to you once...

happened to me twice. first time i was lucky as it caught signal at the last moment..

second time.. my 54" balsa built up Texan went if from about 100ft up.. luckily I was able to rebuild it pretty darn good.

I'm trying to figure out what happened... the only consistent variables were they were spektrum rxes.. a 6110e and 6200. And they both happened in the same area of the field at IE.



I think I figured out what happened though.. which is all I can ask for.
HobbyCity_PwnsME is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 04:53 AM   #10843
Alpea42
Parkjets Rule 3D Rocks
 
Alpea42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: So. Ca. Chino
Posts: 3,635
View Alpea42's Gallery59
Thanked 138 Times in 136 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (25)
Default

I saw a portable household phone on a T V show today and right on the front of it under the dial info screen it said 2.4 ghz. So I just checked the one under my P C desk ( unused for years) and sure enough it also says 2.4 ghz. But Spectrum systems are supposed to ignore these causes of interferance. Hmmm only if you are wearing a tin foil hat I guess.

THE B-2 Worlds most expensive airplane.
Alpea42 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 04:55 AM   #10844
Alpea42
Parkjets Rule 3D Rocks
 
Alpea42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: So. Ca. Chino
Posts: 3,635
View Alpea42's Gallery59
Thanked 138 Times in 136 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (25)
Default

I'ld hate to think that a portable household phone handset could shoot down a R/C plane.

THE B-2 Worlds most expensive airplane.
Alpea42 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 05:36 AM   #10845
Slip23us
Cool Member
 
Slip23us's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 71
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (5)
Default

Originally Posted by Alpea42 View Post
I'ld hate to think that a portable household phone handset could shoot down a R/C plane.
im kinda serious!!
Slip23us is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 05:41 AM   #10846
Slip23us
Cool Member
 
Slip23us's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 71
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (5)
Default

Originally Posted by Slip23us View Post
im kinda serious!!
jk Al ,, the aliens are watching !!!! us flying
Slip23us is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 06:29 AM   #10847
HobbyCity_PwnsME
80's Metal.
 
HobbyCity_PwnsME's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Cow Country
Posts: 1,507
Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
Club: Chino Renegades! - Hold Elevator Bro!
Awards Showcase

100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (3)
Default

Originally Posted by Alpea42 View Post
I'ld hate to think that a portable household phone handset could shoot down a R/C plane.

lol.. that would suck... but 2.4 ghz is supposed to be pretty good at filtering out dirty codes and maintaining a good rf connection to our tx's...

we were talking about that at the field.. i don't think most cordless phones output more than .001 - .010 watts... there are amplifiers.. and now everything runs on 2.4..

we need spektrum to step up past 5.8
HobbyCity_PwnsME is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 03:49 PM   #10848
TbigD
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 653
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (3)
Default

Chong , did any one else want a plane from allerc ? LOL , this week im likeing the Hyperion Helios f3a 63e , if you have time , could you see what they would sell it to you for ? I think regular price is 215.00 if you can get it for 190.00 ish , order it for me please , ive got the cash on hand i can give you now ....Dennis
TbigD is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 06:41 PM   #10849
Alpea42
Parkjets Rule 3D Rocks
 
Alpea42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: So. Ca. Chino
Posts: 3,635
View Alpea42's Gallery59
Thanked 138 Times in 136 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (25)
Default

Just mailed my non-op Spektrum equipment into Horizon. DX6I, DX6, Ar6000 Rx , 3 Ar 6110 Rxs, and my E Flight Power 25 motor that seems to need bearings. I've put off sending this stuff in long enough. $15 shipping..... Horizons good about service so I hope I get it all back good as new for no charge...Or even if it costs me $50 bucks that's less than the price of buying it all new.

THE B-2 Worlds most expensive airplane.
Alpea42 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 06:48 PM   #10850
TbigD
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 653
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (3)
Default

Al when you get it all back it will be like christmas at your place ............
TbigD is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Reply

  WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > R/C Electric Topics - General > Off Topic Chit Chat

Tags
chino , club , fliers , renegade

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
first time at rc club neilg. General RC E-Heli Talk 21 10-30-2010 03:04 AM
MulletMauroder RC kids Club Scratch wing, HELP! stevecooper Delta & Flying Wings 22 04-18-2008 11:33 PM
Indoor St. Louis RC Club? 2muchfun Indoor & Micro Electric Planes 8 01-02-2008 02:16 AM
RC club in Washington Post article herk_1 General Electric Discussions 1 05-02-2007 12:24 AM
Need RC airplanes for school club RSS Feed RCU RSS Feed 0 09-19-2006 08:00 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:22 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 WattfFlyer.com
RCU Eflight HQ

Charities we support Select: Yorkie Rescue  ::  Crohn's & Colitis Foundation



Page generated in 0.64824 seconds with 70 queries