Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > R/C Electric Topics - General > RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Thank you for your support (hide ads)
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-29-2012, 11:13 PM   #76
GooberRC
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 32
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

Good idea. I was wondering how I could test that all is well once I've got it hooked up. I'm guessing a good voltmeter is becoming a necessity at this point. I picked up one of these meters the other day, but I can't test voltages going to the receiver with that.
GooberRC is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 01:29 AM   #77
kyleservicetech
Dennis V
 
kyleservicetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 8,078
Thanked 698 Times in 680 Posts
Club: www.racinercclub.com (I'm the newsletter editor)
Awards Showcase

Outstanding Contributor Award  3kW  2kW  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (20)
Default

Originally Posted by GooberRC View Post
Good idea. I was wondering how I could test that all is well once I've got it hooked up. I'm guessing a good voltmeter is becoming a necessity at this point. I picked up one of these meters the other day, but I can't test voltages going to the receiver with that.
There are a lot of decent digital volt meters out there, from $3.95 Harbor Freight units to my two $350 Fluke 87's.

They are available from Walmart, Radio Shack, many automotive places and so on. Any meter in the $20 or so range will be good for what's needed in our electric model stuff.

Just make certain that the meter's battery isn't some $$$$ special unit.

I bought a Etek #10709 meter from Walmart several years ago, its a very nice well made meter for under $20. It's also got a thermocouple type temperature probe. (If you can find one that is)

Take a look:
http://www.walmart.com/ip/Digital-Mu...10709/14521541

DennyV
Retired and the days are just too short, busier than ever!
kyleservicetech is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 04:19 AM   #78
GooberRC
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 32
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

Thanks Dennis. Unfortunately that particular one was not available but I found what appears to be a suitable substitute on Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B000EV...8974895&sr=8-1

Time to start the build I guess
GooberRC is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 11:46 PM   #79
GooberRC
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 32
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

OK Dennis - I'm ready to be graded The first pic shows the diode orientation before heat-shrink, and the second shows the entire setup. Lots of cable to tuck away inside the airframe but that's ok. I decided to go with the modified extensions instead of performing surgery on the ESC and UBEC.

I do have one question - the UBEC has a signal wire coming from it in addition to the +/-. I'm assuming that is for programming access and will be inactive in flight. Should I disconnect the signal wire from the UBEC diode extension just in case?

Oh - one other thing: The diodes were exposed to a lot of heat during soldering. Not a problem, right? I did verify they were both still working after the extensions were complete.

Thanks a lot for your help!


Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2531.jpg
Views:	82
Size:	90.6 KB
ID:	163160   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2534.jpg
Views:	84
Size:	137.2 KB
ID:	163161  
GooberRC is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 12:24 AM   #80
kyleservicetech
Dennis V
 
kyleservicetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 8,078
Thanked 698 Times in 680 Posts
Club: www.racinercclub.com (I'm the newsletter editor)
Awards Showcase

Outstanding Contributor Award  3kW  2kW  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (20)
Default

Originally Posted by GooberRC View Post
OK Dennis - I'm ready to be graded The first pic shows the diode orientation before heat-shrink, and the second shows the entire setup. Lots of cable to tuck away inside the airframe but that's ok. I decided to go with the modified extensions instead of performing surgery on the ESC and UBEC.

I do have one question - the UBEC has a signal wire coming from it in addition to the +/-. I'm assuming that is for programming access and will be inactive in flight. Should I disconnect the signal wire from the UBEC diode extension just in case?

Oh - one other thing: The diodes were exposed to a lot of heat during soldering. Not a problem, right? I did verify they were both still working after the extensions were complete.

Thanks a lot for your help!
Hey!
Excellent job on your assembly.

Your likely correct, that signal wire from the uBEC is only for programming its output voltage. As for me, I'd disconnect it, but leave all three wires in the connector going to the receiver. Makes it a little more secure against coming loose.

As for soldering these diodes, you should see these semiconductors when they go through an automatic wave soldering machine. This is where a "wave" of molten solder flows against the bottom of the circuit board for a full 10 seconds or so. The components on top literally smoke off the flux thats put on the board before soldering.

Before retiring, it was common to see a diode still work OK after being severely overloaded to the point of charring the circuit board.

DennyV
Retired and the days are just too short, busier than ever!
kyleservicetech is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 12:30 AM   #81
GooberRC
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 32
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

Excellent - thanks Dennis. Now on to the plane itself
GooberRC is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 06:51 AM   #82
GooberRC
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 32
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

Got it all hooked up tonight and it worked great. It was pretty cool to be able to pull either one of the voltage sources and everything still worked just fine

BTW - is there an advantage to boosting the default BEC voltage of 5.1V? The UBEC output measured 5.11V both before and after the diode. I thought the diode would cause a voltage drop, or is that only apparent under load?
GooberRC is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 09:06 AM   #83
JetPlaneFlyer
Super Contributor
 
JetPlaneFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
Posts: 4,431
Thanked 490 Times in 456 Posts
Awards Showcase

5kW  Outstanding Contributor Award  1kW 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (8)
Default

Originally Posted by GooberRC View Post
BTW - is there an advantage to boosting the default BEC voltage of 5.1V?
Yes, very much so. Providing your servos are good for 6 volts (most are) then boosting the voltage to 6v increases speed and torque quite significantly. It also gives a more margin for voltage sag before anything bad happens.
JetPlaneFlyer is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 04:47 PM   #84
GooberRC
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 32
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

Originally Posted by JetPlaneFlyer View Post
Yes, very much so. Providing your servos are good for 6 volts (most are) then boosting the voltage to 6v increases speed and torque quite significantly. It also gives a more margin for voltage sag before anything bad happens.
Ah yes, of course. Thanks!
GooberRC is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 06:04 PM   #85
kyleservicetech
Dennis V
 
kyleservicetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 8,078
Thanked 698 Times in 680 Posts
Club: www.racinercclub.com (I'm the newsletter editor)
Awards Showcase

Outstanding Contributor Award  3kW  2kW  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (20)
Default

Originally Posted by GooberRC View Post
Got it all hooked up tonight and it worked great. It was pretty cool to be able to pull either one of the voltage sources and everything still worked just fine

BTW - is there an advantage to boosting the default BEC voltage of 5.1V? The UBEC output measured 5.11V both before and after the diode. I thought the diode would cause a voltage drop, or is that only apparent under load?
Yeah, these shottky diodes have a very low forward voltage drop. Take a look at the curves for this particular diode.

Note the curve goes up to 100 Amps!


Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Schottky Diode Voltage Drop.jpg
Views:	58
Size:	190.0 KB
ID:	163210  

DennyV
Retired and the days are just too short, busier than ever!
kyleservicetech is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 07:36 AM   #86
GooberRC
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 32
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

Thanks Dennis. Only a .3v drop at 5A. Shouldn't be anything to worry about. I'm thinking I'll set both BECs to 6.0V. Sound about right? All my servos and receiver are rated for 4.8-6.0V.
GooberRC is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 09:42 PM   #87
kyleservicetech
Dennis V
 
kyleservicetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 8,078
Thanked 698 Times in 680 Posts
Club: www.racinercclub.com (I'm the newsletter editor)
Awards Showcase

Outstanding Contributor Award  3kW  2kW  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (20)
Default

Originally Posted by GooberRC View Post
Thanks Dennis. Only a .3v drop at 5A. Shouldn't be anything to worry about. I'm thinking I'll set both BECs to 6.0V. Sound about right? All my servos and receiver are rated for 4.8-6.0V.
Yup that should do it.

(For those that want bigger diodes, check this one out! It weighs 6 1/2 Pounds.
http://www.pwrx.com/pwrx/docs/RDS8__80.pdf)

DennyV
Retired and the days are just too short, busier than ever!
kyleservicetech is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 10:20 PM   #88
GooberRC
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 32
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

Originally Posted by kyleservicetech View Post
Yup that should do it.

(For those that want bigger diodes, check this one out! It weighs 6 1/2 Pounds.
http://www.pwrx.com/pwrx/docs/RDS8__80.pdf)
Thanks. (8000 Amperes would probably cover most applications )
GooberRC is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Reply

  WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > R/C Electric Topics - General > RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros

Tags
ubec

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ubec do I need one? windshadow Power Systems 9 07-13-2010 09:15 AM
Bec, Ubec, Kbec???? Micro_R/c.co.za Power Systems 6 08-31-2007 11:32 PM
ubec for hitec electron 6 tvhelidad General RC E-Heli Talk 2 08-28-2006 08:03 PM
Connecting a UBEC? k-vette Power Systems 6 05-28-2006 06:03 PM
Hooking Up A Ubec rcflyer7 General Electric Discussions 5 04-05-2006 01:45 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:00 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 WattfFlyer.com
RCU Eflight HQ

Charities we support Select: Yorkie Rescue  ::  Crohn's & Colitis Foundation



Page generated in 0.38926 seconds with 48 queries