Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > R/C Electric Topics - General > RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Thank you for your support (hide ads)

Old 02-22-2009, 12:05 PM   #1
Magnus.Persson
Magnus Persson

Friends: (0)
Lightbulb Cell phone controlled model aircraft?!

Here's a bold idea: Wouldn't it be interesting to use a pair of 3G cellphone circuit cards as transmitters/receivers for controlling a model aircraft over long distances?

As a complete beginner in this hobby, I have marveled at concepts like First Person View (FPV), On Screen Display (OSD) and Unmanned Aerial Vehicle (UAV). It seems to me that flying model aircraft is getting closer and closer to ”the real thing”, now that the pilot can be seated safely on the ground and yet enjoy the view from the plane through a pair of video goggles.

While these recent developments - in combination with high energy Li-Po battery packs - extend the range for model aircraft well out of eyesight, the range of radio control systems become a limiting factor. Even if it's possible to increase the range from 1 Km to 50 Km by replacing the normal 35 Mhz or 2,4 Ghz system with a long-range 868 Mhz system, few people do it in practice due to the cost.

Now, consider the possibilities that a couple of modern cell phones offer in this context:
  • Comparatively low cost
  • Virtually unlimited range
  • High resolution video camera
  • GPS receiver
  • High speed 3G network for exchanging control, video and GPS data