Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > For Sale & Wanted Forums > Basement Bargains
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

Basement Bargains Know of a good sale at your favorite online RC webstore? Or how about just one heck of a bargain that you came across on RC goods. This is the place. ** No commercial adverts please**

Thank you for your support (hide ads)
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-29-2009, 03:56 AM   #1
Grasshopper
Some Assembly Required
 
Grasshopper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 12,071
View Grasshopper's Gallery48
Thanked 422 Times in 407 Posts
Awards Showcase

AP Contest Winner  WAA-08 Pilot  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (49)
Friends: (52)
Default $10 PC Power supply

$10 shipped. Can't beat that.

http://www.smksuperstore.com/product....ashx?ID=33081

Tom
Grasshopper is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2009, 05:50 AM   #2
groundrushesup
Super Contributor
 
groundrushesup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Boerne, TX
Posts: 2,337
View groundrushesup's Gallery45
Thanked 361 Times in 347 Posts
Club: Hill Country Wattheads
Send a message via AIM to groundrushesup
Awards Showcase

1kW 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (20)
Default

Originally Posted by Grasshopper View Post
I'm all over it. My current [NPI] 200W PC PS conversion is starting to sound a bit wheezy.


Thanks for the heads-up, good sir. I just ordered one. Now to dig up that box of sandbar resistors....

GRU

Everybody's Somebody at The Hill Country Watthead's Thread!
Stop in and see what we're up to!

Visit Our Youtube Channel, too!
groundrushesup is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2009, 06:03 AM   #3
Rolling Thunder
Keep the sunny side up
 
Rolling Thunder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: victorville california
Posts: 1,872
Thanked 200 Times in 199 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (6)
Default

are these what are used to convert field chargers to ac power?
Rolling Thunder is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2009, 08:14 AM   #4
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 18,633
View CHELLIE's Gallery13
Thanked 2,167 Times in 2,075 Posts
Club: Chino Renegades RC Flying Club
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Scratchbuilders Award  Ambassador Award  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (4)
Friends: (313)
Default

Originally Posted by Rolling Thunder View Post
are these what are used to convert field chargers to ac power?
Yes your right here is a link on how to do it, Its not hard to do, I made one from a old comp power supply, Take care, Chellie

http://www.marcee.org/Articles/PCPowerSupply.htm

I may be getting Older, But I Refuse to grow Up I am Having to much Fun to Grow Up LOL
CHELLIE is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2009, 04:30 PM   #5
av8djc
Old Fart
 
av8djc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: WA and AZ
Posts: 240
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Club: Several
Awards Showcase

2kW 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default

Ordered mine today. Thanks Chellie!!!

Dave
AMA 494
Inside every older person is a younger person wondering "What the heck happened?"
av8djc is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2009, 09:53 PM   #6
dbcisco
Like to build 'em
 
dbcisco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,765
View dbcisco's Gallery9
Thanked 87 Times in 86 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (7)
Default

Just ordered one, my PC power supply just started acting up. Needed this.
dbcisco is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2009, 01:05 AM   #7
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 18,633
View CHELLIE's Gallery13
Thanked 2,167 Times in 2,075 Posts
Club: Chino Renegades RC Flying Club
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Scratchbuilders Award  Ambassador Award  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (4)
Friends: (313)
Default

http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/show...r+power+supply

http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/show...r+power+supply



A Little more info on converting a comp power supply and My Power supply conversion I cleaned up all those extra wires since that pic was taken


I may be getting Older, But I Refuse to grow Up I am Having to much Fun to Grow Up LOL
CHELLIE is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2009, 01:20 AM   #8
dbcisco
Like to build 'em
 
dbcisco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,765
View dbcisco's Gallery9
Thanked 87 Times in 86 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (7)
Default

Originally Posted by CHELLIE View Post
...I cleaned up all those extra wires since that pic was taken ..
Thanks Chellie. I was worried. Didn't want to loose you in an electrical accident
dbcisco is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2009, 01:31 AM   #9
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 18,633
View CHELLIE's Gallery13
Thanked 2,167 Times in 2,075 Posts
Club: Chino Renegades RC Flying Club
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Scratchbuilders Award  Ambassador Award  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (4)
Friends: (313)
Default

Originally Posted by dbcisco View Post
Thanks Chellie. I was worried. Didn't want to loose you in an electrical accident
My Family members would not mind, Then They can collect on my Life Insurance Policy LOL Take care, Chellie

I may be getting Older, But I Refuse to grow Up I am Having to much Fun to Grow Up LOL
CHELLIE is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2009, 04:25 PM   #10
av8djc
Old Fart
 
av8djc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: WA and AZ
Posts: 240
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Club: Several
Awards Showcase

2kW 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default

Chellie

I see an abundance of wires going into your plug-in box. That leads me to believe you parallel all 12v leads to feed the charger. I had thought any one lead for 12v +and- would do it but perhaps you only get the maximum watts out by paralleling all 12v leads???

Cute little light on top, looks really space age.

Dave
AMA 494
Inside every older person is a younger person wondering "What the heck happened?"
av8djc is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2009, 04:42 PM   #11
smokejohnson
Super Contributor
 
smokejohnson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 5,672
View smokejohnson's Gallery22
Thanked 295 Times in 281 Posts
Club: Independent
Awards Showcase

Globetrotter Pilot  WAA-08 Pilot 
iTrader: (13)
Friends: (108)
Default

FWIW I only run one set of wires out of the PS and it powers my chargers fine. I have a Triton and 2 of these that I run all at the same time.

smokejohnson is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2009, 05:34 AM   #12
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 18,633
View CHELLIE's Gallery13
Thanked 2,167 Times in 2,075 Posts
Club: Chino Renegades RC Flying Club
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Scratchbuilders Award  Ambassador Award  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (4)
Friends: (313)
Default

Originally Posted by av8djc View Post
Chellie

I see an abundance of wires going into your plug-in box. That leads me to believe you parallel all 12v leads to feed the charger. I had thought any one lead for 12v +and- would do it but perhaps you only get the maximum watts out by paralleling all 12v leads???

Cute little light on top, looks really space age.
Hi av8djc yes I paralled the yellow wires and the black wires as per the instructions, to make sure i would get the full amps from the power supply, and i belive the green wire is the load wire going to the lic plate light, to make the power supply work, I power up 2 Astro 109 chargers and 1 electrifly charger all at the same time, works great for me, and it was FREE Take Care, Chellie

I may be getting Older, But I Refuse to grow Up I am Having to much Fun to Grow Up LOL
CHELLIE is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2009, 05:40 AM   #13
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 18,633
View CHELLIE's Gallery13
Thanked 2,167 Times in 2,075 Posts
Club: Chino Renegades RC Flying Club
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Scratchbuilders Award  Ambassador Award  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (4)
Friends: (313)
Default

Please Someone thank me its showing 666 on my thanks and i want to get passed that Take care, Chellie

I may be getting Older, But I Refuse to grow Up I am Having to much Fun to Grow Up LOL
CHELLIE is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2009, 06:05 AM   #14
Rolling Thunder
Keep the sunny side up
 
Rolling Thunder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: victorville california
Posts: 1,872
Thanked 200 Times in 199 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (6)
Default

lol,oops chellie my bad.I always forget to do that
Rolling Thunder is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2009, 06:09 AM   #15
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 18,633
View CHELLIE's Gallery13
Thanked 2,167 Times in 2,075 Posts
Club: Chino Renegades RC Flying Club
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Scratchbuilders Award  Ambassador Award  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (4)
Friends: (313)
Default

Originally Posted by Rolling Thunder View Post
lol,oops chellie my bad.I always forget to do that

Hi RT I needed to get passed that terrible number Take care and have fun, Chellie

I may be getting Older, But I Refuse to grow Up I am Having to much Fun to Grow Up LOL
CHELLIE is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2009, 10:47 PM   #16
Rolling Thunder
Keep the sunny side up
 
Rolling Thunder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: victorville california
Posts: 1,872
Thanked 200 Times in 199 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (6)
Default

I got my power supplier today.Now I just have to figure out how to hook it up-yikes

Anybody else got theirs & any pics of how they converted it

I was thinking cant I just use the alligator clips on my field charger & splice into the 12v DC line to power it.Along with a resistor
Rolling Thunder is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2009, 10:55 PM   #17
dbcisco
Like to build 'em
 
dbcisco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,765
View dbcisco's Gallery9
Thanked 87 Times in 86 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (7)
Default

Should be here by Weds.
FedEx is taking longer to get it out of California than the post office can get parcels to me from China! Tracking info says it took three days to get from Anaheim to Bloomington, about 45 miles (45 min. drive). And then it sat at Bloomington from Fri. to Mon.
dbcisco is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2009, 02:06 AM   #18
groundrushesup
Super Contributor
 
groundrushesup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Boerne, TX
Posts: 2,337
View groundrushesup's Gallery45
Thanked 361 Times in 347 Posts
Club: Hill Country Wattheads
Send a message via AIM to groundrushesup
Awards Showcase

1kW 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (20)
Default

Originally Posted by Rolling Thunder View Post
I got my power supplier today.Now I just have to figure out how to hook it up-yikes

Anybody else got theirs & any pics of how they converted it

I was thinking cant I just use the alligator clips on my field charger & splice into the 12v DC line to power it.Along with a resistor
You need to have a multimeter so you can isolate all the voltage rails. Put the 10ohm/10W resistor on one of the 5V rails, and mount it flush against the side of the case so it will conduct as much heat out as possible.

Heck, here's the best HOWTO I've found on this so far.

You can eliminate the other rails he uses if you just want one or two 12V supplies. I will build in the 5V so I can power my servo tester or receivers.

GRU

Everybody's Somebody at The Hill Country Watthead's Thread!
Stop in and see what we're up to!

Visit Our Youtube Channel, too!
groundrushesup is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2009, 02:26 AM   #19
Rolling Thunder
Keep the sunny side up
 
Rolling Thunder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: victorville california
Posts: 1,872
Thanked 200 Times in 199 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (6)
Default

so you have to use the wires inside the box.you cant just splice into the wires that are outside the box.and i do have a multimeter,thanks-RT
Rolling Thunder is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2009, 02:30 AM   #20
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 18,633
View CHELLIE's Gallery13
Thanked 2,167 Times in 2,075 Posts
Club: Chino Renegades RC Flying Club
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Scratchbuilders Award  Ambassador Award  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (4)
Friends: (313)
Default

Originally Posted by Rolling Thunder View Post
so you have to use the wires inside the box.you cant just splice into the wires that are outside the box.and i do have a multimeter,thanks-RT
Here you go RT http://www.marcee.org/Articles/PCPowerSupply.htm

I may be getting Older, But I Refuse to grow Up I am Having to much Fun to Grow Up LOL
CHELLIE is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 02:58 AM   #21
Rolling Thunder
Keep the sunny side up
 
Rolling Thunder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: victorville california
Posts: 1,872
Thanked 200 Times in 199 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (6)
Default

well I plugged in my power unit today and nothing.No power.its a piece of junk.good luck with yours
Rolling Thunder is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 03:11 AM   #22
dbcisco
Like to build 'em
 
dbcisco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,765
View dbcisco's Gallery9
Thanked 87 Times in 86 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (7)
Default

A PC pwer supply will not turn on just by plugging it in. An on/off switch needs to be installed. Normally the power supply is "activated" when connected to the motherboard and not by itself. Pin #14 "green wire"

14 /PS_ON Green Power Supply On (active low). Short this pin to GND to switch power supply ON, disconnect from GND to switch OFF.

See this site for details: HERE
dbcisco is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 03:16 AM   #23
Rolling Thunder
Keep the sunny side up
 
Rolling Thunder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: victorville california
Posts: 1,872
Thanked 200 Times in 199 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (6)
Default

thanks I'll try it.it does have an on off power switch on the front
Rolling Thunder is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 03:24 AM   #24
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 18,633
View CHELLIE's Gallery13
Thanked 2,167 Times in 2,075 Posts
Club: Chino Renegades RC Flying Club
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Scratchbuilders Award  Ambassador Award  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (4)
Friends: (313)
Default

Originally Posted by Rolling Thunder View Post
thanks I'll try it.it does have an on off power switch on the front
Hi RT you need a small load on the power supply before it will start to work, i used a LIC. Plate Light assy. and i did not need to use a resistor using that light, a 1157 or 1156 or 1155 Light bulb will work well.

http://www.marcee.org/Articles/PCPowerSupply.htm

[Next choose a location on the PS case to mount the automotive light socket. Mount the light and connect it to a "Common" wire and to a +5 volt (yes plus five volts) wire. You need a small "load" on the +5 volt side of the PS in order for it to put out it's maximum voltage on the +12 volt lines. Some folks use a 1 ohm 25 watt resistor. E-zone is full of opinions on this but I find a small load works fine. If you are not getting slightly over 12 volts of output on the "posts" you can add a second light by connecting it to a "common" and a +5 volt wire. ]


I may be getting Older, But I Refuse to grow Up I am Having to much Fun to Grow Up LOL
CHELLIE is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 03:51 AM   #25
Rolling Thunder
Keep the sunny side up
 
Rolling Thunder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: victorville california
Posts: 1,872
Thanked 200 Times in 199 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (6)
Default

it works!!
thanks dbcisco,I had the lightbulb hooked up the first time but there was nothing.Then when I shorted the green wire the light came on.Thanks all-RT
so I guess I have to leave the green wire shorted the whole time then
Rolling Thunder is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Reply

  WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > For Sale & Wanted Forums > Basement Bargains

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using PC Power Supply to Supply Car Adapter w/ 12V DC theluckyone17 Batteries & Chargers 17 10-17-2010 05:59 AM
Sold 12 Volt PC Power Supply Grasshopper Batteries and Chargers Forsale/WTB 1 03-07-2009 06:22 PM
Question on using PC power supply Jetskeeter Batteries & Chargers 10 07-03-2007 06:26 PM
Question regarding using a PC power supply to run a Lipo charger... RSS Feed RCU RSS Feed 1 09-07-2006 09:04 PM
How do I arm this old PC power supply? Jeremy Z Electronic Builders Workshop 26 04-11-2006 01:48 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:06 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 WattfFlyer.com
RCU Eflight HQ

Charities we support Select: Yorkie Rescue  ::  Crohn's & Colitis Foundation



Page generated in 0.33197 seconds with 67 queries