Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > R/C Electric Topics - General > Electronic Builders Workshop
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

Electronic Builders Workshop Discuss how to build motors, ESC's, chargers, mixers, etc here

Thank you for your support (hide ads)
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-03-2010, 05:03 AM   #1
kyleservicetech
Dennis V
 
kyleservicetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 8,208
Thanked 704 Times in 686 Posts
Club: www.racinercclub.com (I'm the newsletter editor)
Awards Showcase

Outstanding Contributor Award  3kW  2kW  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (20)
Default Digital Multimeters (How to use them)

Perhaps a few wattflyer readers have considered buying a Multimeter, but were concerned that they would not be able to use one of these very useful instruments effectively.

If you are in this catagory, take a look at the attached PDF file on those Digital Multimeters.

Perhaps you might find it useful or find something new in it

kyleservicetech (or dennisv)


Attached Files
File Type: pdf The Digital Voltmeter Article wattflyer copy.pdf (382.7 KB, 3853 views)
kyleservicetech is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 05:25 AM   #2
Rabbitcreekok
Community Moderator
 
Rabbitcreekok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: McAlester, Oklahoma
Posts: 6,201
View Rabbitcreekok's Gallery8
Thanked 257 Times in 250 Posts
Awards Showcase

Globetrotter Pilot  WAA-08 Pilot 
iTrader: (5)
Friends: (30)
Default

Thanks, Kyle, that is a very nice link on meters and was very helpful.

Jim
AMA 735658
Rabbitcreekok is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 06:39 AM   #3
balsa1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 47
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

very good now I can do a little more than check voltage would welcome mor of this type of info. Thanks Les
balsa1 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2010, 01:18 AM   #4
PaperAirplane
Subscribed...
 
PaperAirplane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 849
Thanked 48 Times in 47 Posts
Club: None (yet...)
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (7)
Default

Thanks a billion. So to test servo pull I would just hook up the esc to the reciever in one slot and make the banana plug thing with the servo extension in between the servo and a reciever slot?

Hanger: GWS Slow Stick; Nutball
PaperAirplane is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2010, 02:42 AM   #5
kyleservicetech
Dennis V
 
kyleservicetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 8,208
Thanked 704 Times in 686 Posts
Club: www.racinercclub.com (I'm the newsletter editor)
Awards Showcase

Outstanding Contributor Award  3kW  2kW  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (20)
Default

Originally Posted by PaperAirplane View Post
Thanks a billion. So to test servo pull I would just hook up the esc to the reciever in one slot and make the banana plug thing with the servo extension in between the servo and a reciever slot?
Yep, just take a standard "aileron extension" cable, (perhaps one that's been in a crash and is no longer trusted??) carefully cut the brown wire. Strip off about 3/4 inch of insulation from the two ends of the brown wire. I just use my fingernails, so as to not nick the wire strands. Double over the stranded wire so its now about 3/8 inch or so, and insert it into the banana jack. Then just tighten down the banana jacks locking screw and you're ready to go.

Just make certain you don't tighten down the locking screw over the insulation of the brown wire. :o

This modified cable can be used anywhere, from in between the receiver and a servo, to in between the battery and receiver, where it will show the receiver's battery drain, plus any servo's that might be plugged into the receiver.
kyleservicetech is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2010, 02:53 AM   #6
PaperAirplane
Subscribed...
 
PaperAirplane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 849
Thanked 48 Times in 47 Posts
Club: None (yet...)
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (7)
Default

So there is only one banana plug on the wire. I just want to make sure.

Thanks
PA

Hanger: GWS Slow Stick; Nutball
PaperAirplane is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2010, 03:12 AM   #7
kyleservicetech
Dennis V
 
kyleservicetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 8,208
Thanked 704 Times in 686 Posts
Club: www.racinercclub.com (I'm the newsletter editor)
Awards Showcase

Outstanding Contributor Award  3kW  2kW  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (20)
Default

Originally Posted by PaperAirplane View Post
So there is only one banana plug on the wire. I just want to make sure.

Thanks
PA
Nope, two bannana plugs, one for each end of the brown wire.

(Take a look at the attached photo) I've got the red and black bannana plugs arranged so that when its plugged into the respective connections on the multimeter, the meter shows minus milliampere currents for servo tests, and shows plus currents when connected between the charger and battery. To do this, plug in the battery, and connect the red binding post to the cut brown wire that leads to that battery. The black binding post connects to the other brown wire.

Nice thing about this test cable, it allows you to test anything connected to the cable. Like plugging it in between your receiver battery, and your wall charger, just to verify if your wall charger is actually charging at its 50 milliampere rate.

If you test any servo's with this cable, make certain your multimeter is on its 10 Amp range. Most meters under several hundred dollars have a range from 0-200 milliamperes, and 0-10 Amperes. Nothing in between. That 200 milliampere range is usually fused, and the current pulled by just about any servo may blow it.

My Fluke 87V meter does have a 0-2 Amp (0-2000 Milliampere) range on it.

Have a good day!


Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1036.jpg
Views:	286
Size:	57.1 KB
ID:	117475   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1036 To Battery.jpg
Views:	305
Size:	62.9 KB
ID:	117478  
kyleservicetech is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2010, 09:11 PM   #8
PaperAirplane
Subscribed...
 
PaperAirplane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 849
Thanked 48 Times in 47 Posts
Club: None (yet...)
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (7)
Default

Thanks man. I went back to the article after I posted yesterday and got a better idea, but you just made it perfectly clear.

Will go pick up the banana plugs asap.

Hanger: GWS Slow Stick; Nutball
PaperAirplane is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 12:57 AM   #9
PaperAirplane
Subscribed...
 
PaperAirplane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 849
Thanked 48 Times in 47 Posts
Club: None (yet...)
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (7)
Default

I can remember which thread I was posting updates on, so Ill post here.

Anyways, I make the extension wire hookup (finally) and I will get some measurements ASAP. So far, I remember hooking up the good servo to the rx with the multimeter inbetween, setting it at 20 volts. The servo wouldnt move, but I got a measurement of 3.08. That was a tester. Is that the correct voltage?

PA

Hanger: GWS Slow Stick; Nutball
PaperAirplane is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 02:34 AM   #10
kyleservicetech
Dennis V
 
kyleservicetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 8,208
Thanked 704 Times in 686 Posts
Club: www.racinercclub.com (I'm the newsletter editor)
Awards Showcase

Outstanding Contributor Award  3kW  2kW  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (20)
Default

Originally Posted by PaperAirplane View Post
I can remember which thread I was posting updates on, so Ill post here.

Anyways, I make the extension wire hookup (finally) and I will get some measurements ASAP. So far, I remember hooking up the good servo to the rx with the multimeter inbetween, setting it at 20 volts. The servo wouldnt move, but I got a measurement of 3.08. That was a tester. Is that the correct voltage?

PA
Hi, if you have your multimeter in series with the servo with that banana plug setup, the multimeter must be set it up on the 10 Ampere range, for DC current. (If you have the meter set up for voltage while trying to measure Servo current, you've got an open circuit, and the servo won't move.)

If your meter shows pretty low currents on its 10 Ampere DC range, change to the 200 Milliampere DC range. Be careful of the 200 Milliampere range though, if you stall the servo, the high currents pulled will blow the meters internal fuse.
kyleservicetech is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 02:55 AM   #11
PaperAirplane
Subscribed...
 
PaperAirplane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 849
Thanked 48 Times in 47 Posts
Club: None (yet...)
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (7)
Default

Sure, will do!

I think I did a decent soldering job, so everything should be set.

Just forgot to put the plastic casing on before soldering the wires into the connectors

DOH!

PA

Hanger: GWS Slow Stick; Nutball
PaperAirplane is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 03:42 AM   #12
kyleservicetech
Dennis V
 
kyleservicetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 8,208
Thanked 704 Times in 686 Posts
Club: www.racinercclub.com (I'm the newsletter editor)
Awards Showcase

Outstanding Contributor Award  3kW  2kW  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (20)
Default

Originally Posted by PaperAirplane View Post
Sure, will do!

I think I did a decent soldering job, so everything should be set.

Just forgot to put the plastic casing on before soldering the wires into the connectors

DOH!

PA
Boy, in my 50 years of soldering amphenol connectors with 19 pins and up, all it takes is once to forget to put the shell on the cable first, and have to unsolder and do it all over again. And' I've done it.

I traveled to Texas some years ago on a field trip to fix our equipment. Found the local service guys cut our connector off, stuffed the cable into conduit, and resoldered all 24 pins of that amphenol connector.

Their soldering equipment? A blow torch!! Melted the insulation off of all the wires. I was there til 3 AM fixing that one.
kyleservicetech is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2011, 04:16 AM   #13
Turner
Super Contributor
 
Turner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 1,377
Thanked 130 Times in 128 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (3)
Default

I'm looking at the article, page seven. What does it mean when you talk about the servos tracking each other?
Turner is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2011, 04:19 AM   #14
kyleservicetech
Dennis V
 
kyleservicetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 8,208
Thanked 704 Times in 686 Posts
Club: www.racinercclub.com (I'm the newsletter editor)
Awards Showcase

Outstanding Contributor Award  3kW  2kW  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (20)
Default

Originally Posted by Turner View Post
I'm looking at the article, page seven. What does it mean when you talk about the servos tracking each other?
Good question.

That only applies when you've got multiple servos on one function. Like one of our club members has four (yes four) high torque servos on just the rudder of his monster plane. The model uses a 200 cc twin cylinder engine. The rudder alone of that 3D plane has more area than the wings of a lot of the smaller electric models we fly.

If these four servos do not accurately track each other, they can fight each other, resulting in many problems.

DennyV
Retired and the days are just too short, busier than ever!
kyleservicetech is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2011, 04:34 AM   #15
Turner
Super Contributor
 
Turner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 1,377
Thanked 130 Times in 128 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (3)
Default

Okay, I understand. Thanks.

And thanks for the article. I've been wondering for some time if this was all it might take to test the system draw.
Turner is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2011, 07:06 AM   #16
kyleservicetech
Dennis V
 
kyleservicetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 8,208
Thanked 704 Times in 686 Posts
Club: www.racinercclub.com (I'm the newsletter editor)
Awards Showcase

Outstanding Contributor Award  3kW  2kW  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (20)
Default

Originally Posted by Turner View Post
Okay, I understand. Thanks.

And thanks for the article. I've been wondering for some time if this was all it might take to test the system draw.
Yup, its quite simple (Once you know how )

DennyV
Retired and the days are just too short, busier than ever!
kyleservicetech is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Reply

  WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > R/C Electric Topics - General > Electronic Builders Workshop

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Digital Servos backdraft310 3D Flying 4 06-11-2007 01:48 AM
digital servos backdraft310 Beginners 2 05-08-2007 11:03 AM
Digital Servos - where best to use them lennyshotgun General Electric Discussions 0 01-07-2007 10:50 PM
Digital servos? Toker41 RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros 1 08-20-2006 06:47 PM
Digital Servos simibill RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros 4 04-03-2006 05:34 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:17 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 WattfFlyer.com
RCU Eflight HQ

Charities we support Select: Yorkie Rescue  ::  Crohn's & Colitis Foundation



Page generated in 0.35214 seconds with 53 queries