Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > R/C Electric Power - Batteries, Chargers, ESCs and More > Batteries & Chargers
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

Batteries & Chargers Discuss Li-P, Li-Ion, NiMh, Nicad battery technology and the chargers that juice 'em up!

Thank you for your support (hide ads)

Old 01-01-2011, 09:14 PM   #1
syd123

Friends: (0)
Default I've committed no offense against them, but 3C lipos won't charge. Ugh.

Happy new years! ..And thanks so much for reading.

My brief honeymoon with electrics may be coming to an end (I'm a longtime glow builder/flyer) . Though I've committed no known offenses against them, my two 3-Cell Lipos won't charge after just 7 cycles and it's causing me to wonder if glow-power (in spite of it's many drawbacks) might not be more reliable and affordable. I've followed all charger directions to the letter and have been careful not to run the batteries down too far. In fact, my ESC has yet to cut off power to the motor. I haven't crashed, my flight times are under 7min. and I fly at under 1/2 throttle for all but an occasional loop (plane is a bit overpowered so 1/2 throttle is plenty). When I land the ESC and motor are barely warm!

Yet after just 7 charge cycles, both batteries cause the charger to flash "ERROR". UGH! These batteries cost nearly $100, and the charger $30 (yes, it's an inexpensive, but it's designed for only 3-C lipos of b/w 1500 - 2500 mAh, so in this context, it's kinda not). What went wrong?

Here's my gear:
Motor: Rimfire .10
ESC: Great Planes Electrifly 35A
1st Battery: Electrifly 3S 11.1V 1800mAh 25C
2nd Battery: Super Tigre 3S 11.1V 2500mAh 15C