Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric R/C Airplanes > Beginners
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

Beginners New to e-power flying? Get the low down in here from experienced e-power RC pilots!

Thank you for your support (hide ads)
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-05-2011, 12:48 AM   #1
bamaerker
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: San Tan Valley, AZ
Posts: 21
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default Dx6i mixing question

Okay, I have the DX6i, I thought I had mixed a little up elevator in with the rudder on my slowstick, however when I give it right rudder the elevator goes up slightly but left it does down just a hair. The manual doesn't help me a whole lot. I have my rudder servo in the aileron slot on the receiver. Any help would great.
thanks
Barry
bamaerker is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2011, 02:07 AM   #2
MustangMan
Community Moderator
 
MustangMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Tallahassee
Posts: 1,451
Thanked 218 Times in 208 Posts
Awards Showcase

WAA-08 Pilot 
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (15)
Default

Originally Posted by bamaerker View Post
Okay, I have the DX6i, I thought I had mixed a little up elevator in with the rudder on my slowstick, however when I give it right rudder the elevator goes up slightly but left it does down just a hair. The manual doesn't help me a whole lot. I have my rudder servo in the aileron slot on the receiver. Any help would great.
thanks
Barry
For all DX6i programmable mixes the amount of mix fed to the target control is independently settable for each side of center of the source control. Also, the direction of target control surface travel is determined by the "sign" of the mix value. In your case where I assume that you want "up" elevator regardless of which side of center you move the rudder. I believe you'll find that you need one mix value to be positive and the other negative. I don't have my transmitter handy to be more specific than that, sorry.
MustangMan is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2011, 10:20 AM   #3
AEAJR
Community Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 5,381
Thanked 349 Times in 310 Posts
Club: Long Island Silent Flyers
Awards Showcase

WAA-08 Pilot  Outstanding Contributor Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (8)
Default

Mustangman is correct.

BTW, this is not a mix I would recommend. Automatically adding up elevator every time you hit the rudder might be good for the first few flights but after that I would turn it off. It can lead to stalls and crashes.

Long Island Silent Flyers
www.lisf.org
Eastern Soaring League
www.flyesl.org
AEAJR is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2011, 06:02 PM   #4
cbatters
Super Contributor
 
cbatters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,050
Thanked 84 Times in 81 Posts
iTrader: (7)
Friends: (4)
Default DX6i elevator range

Having trouble getting full positive deflection on elevator. Monitor display agrees with what I see on elevator servo.

Not trying to do anything fancy with mixing or expo. Just trying to get DX6i to provide straight 4 channel function as a starting point

1 What would affect full scale throw of elevator in positive direction?

2 Is there a "reset all" function I should try?

3 Can someone confirm that they get full plus/minus deflection on elevator on their DX6i



Clint

Current - Ventura, HZ SuperCub-Freedom-Swift-AB3, PZ Typhoon, T-28 Trojan, Radian, AeroAce Biplane
Maiden - F-27C Stryker
10 years Ago - ElectroSoar 2M Glider, 2M Foam Glider, Mirage 550
Retired - Sky Fly, Red Hawk, Extreme, Challenger
cbatters is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 12:07 AM   #5
wolfewinde
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Clearwater, Florida
Posts: 537
Thanked 34 Times in 33 Posts
Club: Largo Flying Club
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (4)
Default

You can just reset everything to zero or just deactivate the mix. I also would not recommend the mix u r trying to come up with. It is just going to keep you from learning to fly correctly.

Wolfe
wolfewinde is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 12:45 AM   #6
cbatters
Super Contributor
 
cbatters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,050
Thanked 84 Times in 81 Posts
iTrader: (7)
Friends: (4)
Default

Not interested in mix. Just want straight linear mapping between elevator stick and output that provides full scale.

I would be happy if elevator behaved like rudder or aileron controls.



Clint

Current - Ventura, HZ SuperCub-Freedom-Swift-AB3, PZ Typhoon, T-28 Trojan, Radian, AeroAce Biplane
Maiden - F-27C Stryker
10 years Ago - ElectroSoar 2M Glider, 2M Foam Glider, Mirage 550
Retired - Sky Fly, Red Hawk, Extreme, Challenger
cbatters is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 12:51 AM   #7
Figure.N9ne
Super Contributor
 
Figure.N9ne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 1,138
View Figure.N9ne's Gallery8
Thanked 79 Times in 77 Posts
Club: Mako's RC Jet Club
Send a message via AIM to Figure.N9ne
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (3)
Default

Originally Posted by cbatters View Post
Not interested in mix. Just want straight linear mapping between elevator stick and output that provides full scale.

I would be happy if elevator behaved like rudder or aileron controls.



Clint
are you maxing out the end point adjustment? i believe its called travel adjustment on the dx6i

Figure.N9ne is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 01:02 AM   #8
cbatters
Super Contributor
 
cbatters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,050
Thanked 84 Times in 81 Posts
iTrader: (7)
Friends: (4)
Default

Regarding elevator mix: is there something I can check to make sure there is no mix enabled that would limit full scale range? (I also have DR and EXPO inhibited.)

Good starting point would be to confirm that someone else has a DX6i where elevator behaves like aileron In terms of full scale range. (or is my elevator range limit normal.)


Clint

Current - Ventura, HZ SuperCub-Freedom-Swift-AB3, PZ Typhoon, T-28 Trojan, Radian, AeroAce Biplane
Maiden - F-27C Stryker
10 years Ago - ElectroSoar 2M Glider, 2M Foam Glider, Mirage 550
Retired - Sky Fly, Red Hawk, Extreme, Challenger
cbatters is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 01:41 AM   #9
xmech2k
Ya got any Beeman's?
 
xmech2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,754
View xmech2k's Gallery21
Thanked 261 Times in 259 Posts
Club: CVMRCC, SEFSD
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  1kW  Outstanding Contributor Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (8)
Default

I'd really like to help, but I need some clarification on what you're seeing on your end. On the monitor page, how far is the elevator carat moving up and down scale? Is it in the middle when neutral?
xmech2k is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 03:16 AM   #10
cbatters
Super Contributor
 
cbatters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,050
Thanked 84 Times in 81 Posts
iTrader: (7)
Friends: (4)
Default

Originally Posted by xmech2k View Post
I'd really like to help, but I need some clarification on what you're seeing on your end. On the monitor page, how far is the elevator carat moving up and down scale? Is it in the middle when neutral?
With elevator stick at neutral, sub trim 0, travel range 100%, digital trims c entered. Monitor = -.80

Pulling back on elevator , Monitor = -2.00

Pushing elevator forward, Monitor = +.50


Thanks for help,

Clint

Current - Ventura, HZ SuperCub-Freedom-Swift-AB3, PZ Typhoon, T-28 Trojan, Radian, AeroAce Biplane
Maiden - F-27C Stryker
10 years Ago - ElectroSoar 2M Glider, 2M Foam Glider, Mirage 550
Retired - Sky Fly, Red Hawk, Extreme, Challenger
cbatters is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 04:23 AM   #11
xmech2k
Ya got any Beeman's?
 
xmech2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,754
View xmech2k's Gallery21
Thanked 261 Times in 259 Posts
Club: CVMRCC, SEFSD
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  1kW  Outstanding Contributor Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (8)
Default

Hmm.. That doesn't sound good. Are all the mixes inhibited? Paging through the manual, that's the first thing that comes to mind.
xmech2k is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 05:09 AM   #12
cbatters
Super Contributor
 
cbatters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,050
Thanked 84 Times in 81 Posts
iTrader: (7)
Friends: (4)
Default

Originally Posted by xmech2k View Post
Hmm.. That doesn't sound good. Are all the mixes inhibited? Paging through the manual, that's the first thing that comes to mind.
All mixes inhibited. (I tried enabling elevon mixing and observed the interaction. Disabled, none of the other inputs had an effect on the elevator output)

$99 question is if anyone else can get +2.0 output on elevator.



Clint

Current - Ventura, HZ SuperCub-Freedom-Swift-AB3, PZ Typhoon, T-28 Trojan, Radian, AeroAce Biplane
Maiden - F-27C Stryker
10 years Ago - ElectroSoar 2M Glider, 2M Foam Glider, Mirage 550
Retired - Sky Fly, Red Hawk, Extreme, Challenger
cbatters is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 02:51 PM   #13
xmech2k
Ya got any Beeman's?
 
xmech2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,754
View xmech2k's Gallery21
Thanked 261 Times in 259 Posts
Club: CVMRCC, SEFSD
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  1kW  Outstanding Contributor Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (8)
Default

A thought occurred to me, is the elevator output this way in every model program? That's one way to see if there's an electrical or mechanical problem. And then that's also one way to do a reset. If the other model memories don't behave this way, copy in a blank one, then start your programming over. It would be nice to know what's causing this, though!
xmech2k is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 02:44 AM   #14
cbatters
Super Contributor
 
cbatters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,050
Thanked 84 Times in 81 Posts
iTrader: (7)
Friends: (4)
Default

All models behave the same. Mixes inhibited, acro mode, 100% travel Programmed for all channels, elevator limited to less than 2/3 full scale where other channels work as expected with full scale response on monitor.

(all I want is elevator to behave like rudder or aileron.)

Current - Ventura, HZ SuperCub-Freedom-Swift-AB3, PZ Typhoon, T-28 Trojan, Radian, AeroAce Biplane
Maiden - F-27C Stryker
10 years Ago - ElectroSoar 2M Glider, 2M Foam Glider, Mirage 550
Retired - Sky Fly, Red Hawk, Extreme, Challenger
cbatters is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 04:03 AM   #15
xmech2k
Ya got any Beeman's?
 
xmech2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,754
View xmech2k's Gallery21
Thanked 261 Times in 259 Posts
Club: CVMRCC, SEFSD
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  1kW  Outstanding Contributor Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (8)
Default

Then it sounds like something is wrong with the radio. Maybe bring it to a LHS and have them look, but sounds like it needs a repair.
xmech2k is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2011, 02:03 AM   #16
cbatters
Super Contributor
 
cbatters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,050
Thanked 84 Times in 81 Posts
iTrader: (7)
Friends: (4)
Default

Originally Posted by xmech2k View Post
Then it sounds like something is wrong with the radio. Maybe bring it to a LHS and have them look, but sounds like it needs a repair.
Still trying to find someone with a DX6i where the elevator on the monitor display is centered.

(or I find a local hobby shop and pry open the box and compare with mine)



Clint

Current - Ventura, HZ SuperCub-Freedom-Swift-AB3, PZ Typhoon, T-28 Trojan, Radian, AeroAce Biplane
Maiden - F-27C Stryker
10 years Ago - ElectroSoar 2M Glider, 2M Foam Glider, Mirage 550
Retired - Sky Fly, Red Hawk, Extreme, Challenger
cbatters is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2011, 07:21 AM   #17
xmech2k
Ya got any Beeman's?
 
xmech2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,754
View xmech2k's Gallery21
Thanked 261 Times in 259 Posts
Club: CVMRCC, SEFSD
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  1kW  Outstanding Contributor Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (8)
Default

Originally Posted by cbatters View Post
Still trying to find someone with a DX6i where the elevator on the monitor display is centered.
Umm, me.

I guess maybe I don't really understand the problem. Sorry.
xmech2k is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 04:58 AM   #18
pm79311
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default centered elevator on spectrum 6i

My elevator is centered on the monitor, and physically centered on the servo in the plane.
first make sure the elevator trim button is centered.
on the elevator sub trim, set to 0 and inh
go to monitor and see if it is centered.
while watching the monitor, move the elevator trim button up or down to see if
the elevator can be centered. if not or if when sub trim is inh and 0 and trim button is centered, the monitor is not centered, you should take your tx in for repair.
pm79311 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 05:21 AM   #19
pmullen503
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 864
Thanked 75 Times in 74 Posts
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (3)
Default

Originally Posted by cbatters View Post
With elevator stick at neutral, sub trim 0, travel range 100%, digital trims c entered. Monitor = -.80

Pulling back on elevator , Monitor = -2.00

Pushing elevator forward, Monitor = +.50


Thanks for help,

Clint
One thing to check first: Does the servo arm deflect the same degree either side of neutral when you give it full up and down at the transmitter?

If so, then check this: when the stick and elevator are neutral is the pushrod at a 90 degree angle to the servo arm and is the control horn is 90 degrees to pushrod and at 90 degrees (ie directly below) the elevator hinge pivot point?

If not, you've built the differential into your linkage.

If you have not done so already, reset that model memory. Even if the mix is inhibited, I've had weird offsets when trying to do exotic mixes, especially when trying to map a proportional signal to an on/off channel like gear or flaps.

It's never too late to have a happy childhood.
pmullen503 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Reply

  WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric R/C Airplanes > Beginners

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bind MSR to DX6i ? nam6869usmc E-Flite Helicopters 4 02-20-2011 10:55 AM
Wanted Dx6I or Dx7 TylerJCooper Radio Equipment For Sale & WTB 2 02-09-2011 06:06 PM
R/C transmitter mods question sschevel Beginners 11 01-07-2011 05:21 AM
Nice problem to have... NJSwede Beginners 32 01-02-2011 12:22 PM
Yet another battery related question... Flyer_One Batteries & Chargers 10 12-30-2010 10:27 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:31 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 WattfFlyer.com
RCU Eflight HQ

Charities we support Select: Yorkie Rescue  ::  Crohn's & Colitis Foundation



Page generated in 0.23413 seconds with 55 queries