Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric R/C Airplanes > General Electric Discussions
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

General Electric Discussions Talk about topics related to e-powered RC flying

Thank you for your support (hide ads)
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-29-2011, 11:47 PM   #1
FlyingBrick50
FlyingBrick50
 
FlyingBrick50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Florence, SC
Posts: 418
Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
Club: Gooney Birds Flo, SC
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (13)
Question rx power

Here a question I hope someone can help me with?
I have a JR SportRS6500 reciever which comes with a 4.8volt 1100 mah batt for power.
The question is this, I would like to run the rx with the flight batt already on board and not the 4.8 volt one. The problem comes in when I hook up the speed control wires (+, -, Signal) to the throttle plug on the rx nothing happens because the rx does not have power to it. Switching the wires coming from the esc to the batt plug on the rx all servos work great no motor! Can I make a jumper from spare servo wires to power the tx while still sending a signal to the esc for the motor

FlyingBrick50 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2011, 11:53 PM   #2
philipa_240sx
Super Contributor
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,046
View philipa_240sx's Gallery83
Thanked 95 Times in 91 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default

It would be helpful if you can post some information about which brand and model of ESC you are using. Reason: some ESC models do not have a BEC (battery eliminator circuit) to power the radio.

There are many ways to power the RX. Once we know what you have, it will be much easier to suggest a solution.
philipa_240sx is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 12:33 AM   #3
FlyingBrick50
FlyingBrick50
 
FlyingBrick50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Florence, SC
Posts: 418
Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
Club: Gooney Birds Flo, SC
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (13)
Exclamation

Originally Posted by philipa_240sx View Post
It would be helpful if you can post some information about which brand and model of ESC you are using. Reason: some ESC models do not have a BEC (battery eliminator circuit) to power the radio.

There are many ways to power the RX. Once we know what you have, it will be much easier to suggest a solution.
The bec is built in

FlyingBrick50 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 12:42 AM   #4
FlyingBrick50
FlyingBrick50
 
FlyingBrick50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Florence, SC
Posts: 418
Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
Club: Gooney Birds Flo, SC
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (13)
Default bec

Originally Posted by philipa_240sx View Post
It would be helpful if you can post some information about which brand and model of ESC you are using. Reason: some ESC models do not have a BEC (battery eliminator circuit) to power the radio.

There are many ways to power the RX. Once we know what you have, it will be much easier to suggest a solution.
The esc is a 60 amp e-max w/3amp bec

The rx is powered by the esc on the same plug as the throttle on the old rx, with the new rx it has throttle and a power plug?

FlyingBrick50 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 01:08 AM   #5
Shrikered
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 21
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via AIM to Shrikered Send a message via Skype™ to Shrikered
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default

Originally Posted by FlyingBrick50 View Post
The esc is a 60 amp e-max w/3amp bec
So your RX has separate power buses for the servos and the RX itself. Unusual - does the RX manual explain why? Does it caution against connecting them? If not, should be fine to connect both to the BEC.

Be careful, though, about RX current and voltage requirements. A "3 Amp BEC" may not have enough current to drive all servos at full load without voltage drop. Voltage drop ==> RX will reboot. Test the RX at full load on the servos. The new Hitec Aurora 9 and other telemetry radios are more prone to this because they contain transmitters with high load. Fortunately my T-28 floats great.
Shrikered is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 01:27 AM   #6
FlyingBrick50
FlyingBrick50
 
FlyingBrick50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Florence, SC
Posts: 418
Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
Club: Gooney Birds Flo, SC
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (13)
Default

Originally Posted by Shrikered View Post
So your RX has separate power buses for the servos and the RX itself. Unusual - does the RX manual explain why? Does it caution against connecting them? If not, should be fine to connect both to the BEC.

Be careful, though, about RX current and voltage requirements. A "3 Amp BEC" may not have enough current to drive all servos at full load without voltage drop. Voltage drop ==> RX will reboot. Test the RX at full load on the servos. The new Hitec Aurora 9 and other telemetry radios are more prone to this because they contain transmitters with high load. Fortunately my T-28 floats great.
let me try again, hmmmm the old rx was powered by the esc and the throttle/power plug were on the same plug that pluged into the rx, the new rx has only one power plug in(servos work great), and the throttle is just another plug going out back to the esc. I need to power the batt plug on the rx and still have throttle?


I have a JR SportRS6500 reciever which comes with a 4.8volt 1100 mah batt for power.
The question is this, I would like to run the rx with the flight batt already on board and not the 4.8 volt one. The problem comes in when I hook up the speed control wires (+, -, Signal) to the throttle plug on the rx nothing happens because the rx does not have power to it. Switching the wires coming from the esc to the batt plug on the rx all servos work great no motor! Can I make a jumper from spare servo wires to power the tx while still sending a signal to the esc for the motor

ohh and no manual,.....will cutting the red wire coming from the esc to the throttle splicing it into the power plug and powering the rx that way (ground wire as well)?
as long as theres power to the rx all the throttle plug would need to do was send a signal,.......................

FlyingBrick50 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 02:23 AM   #7
kyleservicetech
Dennis V
 
kyleservicetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 8,348
Thanked 722 Times in 704 Posts
Club: www.racinercclub.com (I'm the newsletter editor)
Awards Showcase

Outstanding Contributor Award  3kW  2kW  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (20)
Default

Originally Posted by FlyingBrick50 View Post
let me try again, hmmmm the old rx was powered by the esc and the throttle/power plug were on the same plug that pluged into the rx, the new rx has only one power plug in(servos work great), and the throttle is just another plug going out back to the esc. I need to power the batt plug on the rx and still have throttle?


I have a JR SportRS6500 reciever which comes with a 4.8volt 1100 mah batt for power.
The question is this, I would like to run the rx with the flight batt already on board and not the 4.8 volt one. The problem comes in when I hook up the speed control wires (+, -, Signal) to the throttle plug on the rx nothing happens because the rx does not have power to it. Switching the wires coming from the esc to the batt plug on the rx all servos work great no motor! Can I make a jumper from spare servo wires to power the tx while still sending a signal to the esc for the motor

ohh and no manual,.....will cutting the red wire coming from the esc to the throttle splicing it into the power plug and powering the rx that way (ground wire as well)?
as long as theres power to the rx all the throttle plug would need to do was send a signal,.......................
As others have indicated, you've got to be careful when using the built in BEC (Battery Elimination Circuit) on a standard ESC (Electronic Speed Control). Problem is, most of these ESC's use a standard linear voltage regulator for providing the 5 volts DC for the receiver. These linear regulator work by dropping the voltage from your motor battery to the 5 volts for the receiver, they can get hot doing this. If they get to hot, they are designed to shut off the 5 volts DC, protecting the 5 volt regulator, and crashing your plane.

Oh, and by the way, when you get to your model, the regulator has cooled off, and is now working again.

Another option is to consider a uBEC (Switching power supply BEC), that will connect directly to the INPUT of your ESC, and its output connects directly to the battery input of your receiver. Castle Creations makes them, Common Sense makes them, I've used both for three years in kilowatt sized models with zero problems. These uBEC's run about $20-25 or so.


And, another, nother option is the Castle Creations ICE ESC's. The CC and a few others use a switching power supply in their BEC, so overheating is not a problem.

Switching power supplies are nothing new. The computer you are using to look at this thread likely has several of them. And those cell phone chargers have them, printers have them, they are used all over the place.
kyleservicetech is online now  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 03:17 AM   #8
FlyingBrick50
FlyingBrick50
 
FlyingBrick50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Florence, SC
Posts: 418
Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
Club: Gooney Birds Flo, SC
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (13)
Default ubec

Originally Posted by kyleservicetech View Post
As others have indicated, you've got to be careful when using the built in BEC (Battery Elimination Circuit) on a standard ESC (Electronic Speed Control). Problem is, most of these ESC's use a standard linear voltage regulator for providing the 5 volts DC for the receiver. These linear regulator work by dropping the voltage from your motor battery to the 5 volts for the receiver, they can get hot doing this. If they get to hot, they are designed to shut off the 5 volts DC, protecting the 5 volt regulator, and crashing your plane.

Oh, and by the way, when you get to your model, the regulator has cooled off, and is now working again.

Another option is to consider a uBEC (Switching power supply BEC), that will connect directly to the INPUT of your ESC, and its output connects directly to the battery input of your receiver. Castle Creations makes them, Common Sense makes them, I've used both for three years in kilowatt sized models with zero problems. These uBEC's run about $20-25 or so.


And, another, nother option is the Castle Creations ICE ESC's. The CC and a few others use a switching power supply in their BEC, so overheating is not a problem.

Switching power supplies are nothing new. The computer you are using to look at this thread likely has several of them. And those cell phone chargers have them, printers have them, they are used all over the place.
the built in bec handles the servo load fine (2 standard, 2 micro)
I just don't want to feed power into the rx from the esc throttle/power plug as is the case with the old rx(no response @ all), if the new rx is powered by its own battery plug from the built in bec connection then all that is needed is to send the speed control a control signal for motor control simply taking the power off the esc power/throttle plug and plugging it into the new rx power plug

FlyingBrick50 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 04:07 AM   #9
HeliScRapYard
Foam Junkie
 
HeliScRapYard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Greer, SC
Posts: 787
View HeliScRapYard's Gallery3
Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
Send a message via AIM to HeliScRapYard
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (2)
Default

hey, is this the one i sent with the radio or a different rx?

Need More Glue!!!
HeliScRapYard is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 04:25 AM   #10
FlyingBrick50
FlyingBrick50
 
FlyingBrick50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Florence, SC
Posts: 418
Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
Club: Gooney Birds Flo, SC
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (13)
Default

Originally Posted by HeliScRapYard View Post
hey, is this the one i sent with the radio or a different rx?
the one you sent

FlyingBrick50 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 04:37 AM   #11
HeliScRapYard
Foam Junkie
 
HeliScRapYard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Greer, SC
Posts: 787
View HeliScRapYard's Gallery3
Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
Send a message via AIM to HeliScRapYard
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (2)
Default

Hmmmm, I've flown that one on electrics just as you are trying to do. the 4.8v pack is more for gas planes than an electric plane. although it could be used as well. did you plug the esc and the 4.8v pack in at the same time? if so i think that could damage your bec. so i've heard.

Need More Glue!!!
HeliScRapYard is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 04:38 AM   #12
HeliScRapYard
Foam Junkie
 
HeliScRapYard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Greer, SC
Posts: 787
View HeliScRapYard's Gallery3
Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
Send a message via AIM to HeliScRapYard
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (2)
Default

on my planes the power worked fine going in through the throttle port.

Need More Glue!!!
HeliScRapYard is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 04:41 AM   #13
Glacier Girl
Kamikaze Ace
 
Glacier Girl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sunny Florida
Posts: 1,940
Thanked 149 Times in 139 Posts
Club: Badius Boys Flying Club Inc. Outlaw Flyers World Wide
Awards Showcase

1kW 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (6)
Default

Boy I can't even find a listing for a JR 6500 rx on JR's site.

If this is like most JR and Spektrum rx's, they all have a separate battery socket on the rx. It's only used to plug in an rx pack or in the Spektrum units to use the bind plug.

Plugging in your esc lead to the throttle socket will feed all the sockets on the rx, if you have a working bec on the esc.

If you have to plug the esc lead into the battery socket to power up the rx it sounds more like you have a bad rx throttle socket.
Or you had the esc lead plugged in backwards.

When I die, I want to go like my Grandfather did, in his sleep...... Not screaming like the passengers in his plane.
Glacier Girl is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 05:01 AM   #14
HeliScRapYard
Foam Junkie
 
HeliScRapYard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Greer, SC
Posts: 787
View HeliScRapYard's Gallery3
Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
Send a message via AIM to HeliScRapYard
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (2)
Default

it is a JR rs600 like this one.

Need More Glue!!!
HeliScRapYard is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 06:01 AM   #15
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 18,732
View CHELLIE's Gallery13
Thanked 2,190 Times in 2,096 Posts
Club: Chino Renegades RC Flying Club
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Scratchbuilders Award  Ambassador Award  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (4)
Friends: (317)
Default

Maybe I can be of some help here, If its a 72MHz radio, Dont use the 72 MHz JR Receiver with E Power, Most JR Receivers will Glitch Like Crazy with E Power, they work Fine with Nitro, but the RFI from e Power upsets JR Receivers Big Time, Do Yourself a Big Big Favor, and get a 7 Channel Castle Creation Berg Receiver, its almost like having a 2.4 radio as the Berg receiver will lock onto your transmitter, and you will have a solid radio Link, and only use a Berg Crystal too, Berg Receivers are the best of the best for 72 MHz, its cheap insurance, hope that helps, Take care, Chellie

PS. I lost 2 planes Due to Using 2 different JR Receivers with E Power, Dont do it IMHO, I learned that the Hard Way.

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B000NC6N1U/...SIN=B000NC6N1U

http://www.castlecreations.com/suppo...user_guide.pdf

Transmitter Signal Recognition (TSR) process:
The receiver "learns" the characteristics and specific signal signatures of your transmitter when you power it up. After that, the receiver will only listen to your transmitter*.
Note: If a similar transmitter on the same channel is powered up and is CLOSERto your receiver than your own transmitter, loss of signal/fail safe may be experienced.
True Digital Signal Processing (TDSP):
TDSP is a proprietary process developed by Peter Berg. In addition to highly advanced triple-tuned RF filtering hardware, Castle Creations’ Berg receivers use a microprocessor and sophisticated software algorithms to filter the incoming signal. The system decides which signals are valid and which are not. Most standard FM receivers simply pass on the invalid signals to the servos as a "glitch".
TDSP receiver technology essentially eliminates glitches and provides a new level of confidence that you will
only get with Berg by Castle Creations.

I may be getting Older, But I Refuse to grow Up I am Having to much Fun to Grow Up LOL
CHELLIE is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 07:02 AM   #16
kyleservicetech
Dennis V
 
kyleservicetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 8,348
Thanked 722 Times in 704 Posts
Club: www.racinercclub.com (I'm the newsletter editor)
Awards Showcase

Outstanding Contributor Award  3kW  2kW  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (20)
Default

Originally Posted by FlyingBrick50 View Post
the built in bec handles the servo load fine (2 standard, 2 micro)
I just don't want to feed power into the rx from the esc throttle/power plug as is the case with the old rx(no response @ all), if the new rx is powered by its own battery plug from the built in bec connection then all that is needed is to send the speed control a control signal for motor control simply taking the power off the esc power/throttle plug and plugging it into the new rx power plug
The center pins and bottom pins of all receiver servo connections are usually all common. So, any receiver "servo" pin connection can also be used as a battery plug. The third pin is the servo signal wire. Since the battery plugs do not use the third wire, plugging in a battery into the servo plug has no effect on the receiver's third wire. (Unless you plug in the battery backwards, that is.)

This can quickly be verified on your specific receiver by running a quick continuity check with one of those inexpensive digital multimeters. All the "Black" pins should be common, all the "Red" pins should be common.

If you're not familiar on how to use those handy multimeters, take a look:

Digital Multimeters, How to use them
http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=52821
kyleservicetech is online now  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 11:04 AM   #17
slipstick
Super Contributor
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: N.Staffs, UK
Posts: 2,350
Thanked 197 Times in 191 Posts
Awards Showcase

Outstanding Contributor Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (1)
Default

So lets try again.

Your RS600 SHOULD be powered normally if you plug the wire from the ESC into the throttle socket. If it doesn't work like that then there's something wrong with the receiver...it's bad, broken, not working right.

Given that fact, any messing about you do with odd wires could do absolutely anything, possibly something really unpleasant.

Steve
slipstick is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 12:22 PM   #18
FlyingBrick50
FlyingBrick50
 
FlyingBrick50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Florence, SC
Posts: 418
Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
Club: Gooney Birds Flo, SC
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (13)
Default

Originally Posted by slipstick View Post
So lets try again.

Your RS600 SHOULD be powered normally if you plug the wire from the ESC into the throttle socket. If it doesn't work like that then there's something wrong with the receiver...it's bad, broken, not working right.

Given that fact, any messing about you do with odd wires could do absolutely anything, possibly something really unpleasant.

Steve
The rx comes with a batt for the battery power to the rx and has its own plug in on the rx and plugs for 6 channels well!
I think chellie has gone down this road before and I'm think I'm going to change the rx to a corona rx 4 ch I already have in stock!!!???

FlyingBrick50 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 12:41 PM   #19
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 18,732
View CHELLIE's Gallery13
Thanked 2,190 Times in 2,096 Posts
Club: Chino Renegades RC Flying Club
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Scratchbuilders Award  Ambassador Award  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (4)
Friends: (317)
Default

With That receiver, use a UBEC plugged into the Battery port, remove the Red battery wire from the ESC to Receiver, use a pin to remove the wire out of the plug, so you dont have to cut it, and it can be reused later on, you may be able to make a jumper/y connection and use your esc/bec, you will just need the pos and neg to feed at the battery port, you will need to get the center signal wire to the throttle, and maybe a ground wire, but thats a lot of hassel, WHY do that, use a UBEC, remove the red wire on the ESC/BEC plug and your done, check the JR Receiver very close for glitching, and good luck to you, Did i mention that i dont Like JR Receivers for E Power I think the reason that receiver comes with its own battery, is to try to eliminate glitching by not allowing a BEC to power the Receiver, because the voltage from a bec is somewhat Dirty with RFI, and the voltage comeing from a Battery is Clean with no RFI, I think your going to Have glitching problems using a BEC or even a UBEC with a JR receiver IMHO, If you do, Get a BERG Receiver,Take care and Have fun, Chellie

I may be getting Older, But I Refuse to grow Up I am Having to much Fun to Grow Up LOL
CHELLIE is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 08:13 PM   #20
FlyingBrick50
FlyingBrick50
 
FlyingBrick50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Florence, SC
Posts: 418
Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
Club: Gooney Birds Flo, SC
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (13)
Default rx power

Originally Posted by FlyingBrick50 View Post
The rx comes with a batt for the battery power to the rx and has its own plug in on the rx and plugs for 6 channels well!
I think chellie has gone down this road before and I'm think I'm going to change the rx to a corona rx 4 ch I already have in stock!!!???
Well I'm back to square one got my original setups back working as they were prior to the changes, cannot seem to get anything working as it should with the new equipment, ,,,,,,,,,,,

man this is depressing

Click image for larger version

Name:	PICT0009.jpg
Views:	45
Size:	168.8 KB
ID:	142596

Going fishing!!!!!!!!!



FlyingBrick50 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 10:07 PM   #21
FlyingBrick50
FlyingBrick50
 
FlyingBrick50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Florence, SC
Posts: 418
Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
Club: Gooney Birds Flo, SC
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (13)
Talking OK OK OK Biting the bullet

Well UBEC looks like the way to go, should solve the issue at least on the Fairchild F22 (Ms.Millie) and thanks to Chellie I got the answer I was looking for in regards to the wiring, it can be done just not the best.....why fight it breakdown and send the money! HK has them real cheap just don't want to wait up to 45 days for it!

Thanks everyone Happy Trails

PS: caught half a dozen or so pretty redbreast (fish) LTR

FlyingBrick50 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 10:57 PM   #22
HeliScRapYard
Foam Junkie
 
HeliScRapYard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Greer, SC
Posts: 787
View HeliScRapYard's Gallery3
Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
Send a message via AIM to HeliScRapYard
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (2)
Default

i use the ones from RCTimer.com cheap and get here in about a week. but i will send you an RX from headsup to replace it.

Need More Glue!!!
HeliScRapYard is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 03:07 AM   #23
FlyingBrick50
FlyingBrick50
 
FlyingBrick50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Florence, SC
Posts: 418
Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
Club: Gooney Birds Flo, SC
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (13)
Default

Originally Posted by HeliScRapYard View Post
i use the ones from RCTimer.com cheap and get here in about a week. but i will send you an RX from headsup to replace it.
Have not heard RCTimer.com

FlyingBrick50 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 12:55 AM   #24
FlyingBrick50
FlyingBrick50
 
FlyingBrick50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Florence, SC
Posts: 418
Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
Club: Gooney Birds Flo, SC
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (13)
Default rx power

Well, waiting on my ubec, very excited and looking forward to checking out my new/used TX with the upgraded components!!! Going to revamp the ailerons not happy with the way they are acting, concerned about flutter!


Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCI0180 (2).jpg
Views:	75
Size:	135.6 KB
ID:	142740  

FlyingBrick50 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 01:25 PM   #25
solentlife
Super Contributor
 
solentlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ex UK Brit now in Latvia west coast - Ventspils
Posts: 6,413
View solentlife's Gallery47
Thanked 277 Times in 274 Posts
Club: Founder Member Ventspils RC Club. Ex Waltham Chase and Meon Valley Soaring.
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Scratchbuilders Award  Outstanding Contributor Award  125mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (15)
Default

Originally Posted by FlyingBrick50 View Post
The rx comes with a batt for the battery power to the rx and has its own plug in on the rx and plugs for 6 channels well!
I think chellie has gone down this road before and I'm think I'm going to change the rx to a corona rx 4 ch I already have in stock!!!???
I don't know of any Rx that doesn't have a power and other sockets for servos ... and I don't know of any that cannot be powered via any servo socket ....

BUT you should never plug in BOTH batt and ESC BEC at same time - in theory they should parallel - but they have been known to fry internals in the RX.

Sorry to say this - but you have nothing strange in your Rx layout and many replies have already answered that you can choose ... battery to Batt in OR ESC supply BEC to throttle servo position.
IF you want to use battery AND ESC .... then remove the RED / +ve lead of the ESC plug to Rx ... then it will not try to power Rx ....

If above doesn't work - you have a problem with your Rx .... and as I assume that having another person ask if it's one he supplied you - appears it worked when it left his hands ... so what did you do ? Plug in wrong way ? Connect both ESC and battery ? Somethings wrong .....

There is one other little matter ... if you plug in ESC ... switch on ... Tx and Rx ... you have to arm system before motor will work .... some brushed have a press button on plane ... brushless is usually via the throttle stick.

222kph PKJ,EDF Concorde, Mini4,Mig3,T45,PKJ twin,ME109,Edge540,Cessna182,Skymaster Biplane,F15,F16,Badius,Ultimate,SE5,Qbee10,450 Heli,V911,J3 Cub Founder 9x forum: http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Flysky_RC_radio/
- Subscribe my Youtube: "solentlifeuk"
solentlife is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Reply

  WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric R/C Airplanes > General Electric Discussions

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sneak Peek at the NEW Cellpro PowerLab 8 Tim Marks FMA Direct 63 09-21-2012 06:09 AM
For Sale Thunder Power TP-1010C Lipo charger and Thunder Power TP-210V Balancer flyingbumma Batteries and Chargers Forsale/WTB 5 10-22-2011 12:51 AM
Help with power setup crobar Power Systems 19 01-26-2011 05:01 AM
For Sale Rx crystals-Berg-Gws-Hitec $4 each gone2fly2 Radio Equipment For Sale & WTB 0 01-14-2011 05:30 AM
Tx & Rx general info please? Red Baron RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros 2 01-07-2011 10:59 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:42 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 WattfFlyer.com
RCU Eflight HQ

Charities we support Select: Yorkie Rescue  ::  Crohn's & Colitis Foundation



Page generated in 0.44941 seconds with 70 queries