Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > R/C Electric Topics - General > RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Thank you for your support (hide ads)
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-22-2011, 08:45 PM   #1
Grasshopper
Some Assembly Required
 
Grasshopper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 12,071
View Grasshopper's Gallery48
Thanked 422 Times in 407 Posts
Awards Showcase

AP Contest Winner  WAA-08 Pilot  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (49)
Friends: (52)
Default When do you send a transmitter in for service?

Just curious, is there a time period when you should send in a transmitter for service? Specifically, my DX7. I've not had any problems with it, but I bought it used several years ago and don't know if there are updates that should be made, general service or tuning etc.

Tom
Grasshopper is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2011, 08:48 PM   #2
JetPlaneFlyer
Super Contributor
 
JetPlaneFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
Posts: 4,325
Thanked 477 Times in 445 Posts
Awards Showcase

5kW  Outstanding Contributor Award  1kW 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (8)
Default

Never even heard of a Tx being 'serviced' if there is no fault... What would they do?.. change the oil and filter

Steve
JetPlaneFlyer is online now  
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2011, 08:54 PM   #3
Grasshopper
Some Assembly Required
 
Grasshopper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 12,071
View Grasshopper's Gallery48
Thanked 422 Times in 407 Posts
Awards Showcase

AP Contest Winner  WAA-08 Pilot  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (49)
Friends: (52)
Default

Originally Posted by JetPlaneFlyer View Post
Never even heard of a Tx being 'serviced' if there is no fault... What would they do?.. change the oil and filter

Steve
I didn't know if there were software/firmware updates that might get rid of some known "bug". Same as sending in receivers for the newest firmware.

Tom
Grasshopper is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2011, 08:58 PM   #4
JetPlaneFlyer
Super Contributor
 
JetPlaneFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
Posts: 4,325
Thanked 477 Times in 445 Posts
Awards Showcase

5kW  Outstanding Contributor Award  1kW 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (8)
Default

Having said that.. Tx's used to quite often suffer from corrosion of the battery wiring, specifically the black wires: http://bmfamid.co.uk/Docs/Black%20Wire%20Corrosion.pdf

i'm not sure if this is still the issue it once was?

You can check this yourself though, no need to send the Tx away.

Steve
JetPlaneFlyer is online now  
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2011, 08:58 PM   #5
NJSwede
3D wannabe
 
NJSwede's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,723
View NJSwede's Gallery1
Thanked 105 Times in 102 Posts
Club: Somerset Signal Senders & GCA
Awards Showcase

2kW  1kW 
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (10)
Default

Have you checked the service bulletins?

http://www.spektrumrc.com/Products/S...ProdId=SPM2731

AMA #959089
NJSwede is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2011, 09:00 PM   #6
Grasshopper
Some Assembly Required
 
Grasshopper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 12,071
View Grasshopper's Gallery48
Thanked 422 Times in 407 Posts
Awards Showcase

AP Contest Winner  WAA-08 Pilot  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (49)
Friends: (52)
Default

Originally Posted by NJSwede View Post
Have you checked the service bulletins?

http://www.spektrumrc.com/Products/S...ProdId=SPM2731
Thanks NJ,

I checked them recently. Mine doesn't even have that second sticker their picture points to.

Tom
Grasshopper is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2011, 09:54 PM   #7
firemanbill
Community Moderator
 
firemanbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Yorktown, Virginia USA
Posts: 18,835
View firemanbill's Gallery67
Thanked 716 Times in 704 Posts
Club: Newport News Park R/C Club
Awards Showcase

125mph Speed Demon  100mph Speed Demon  2kW  4kW 
iTrader: (35)
Friends: (63)
Default

Send it in Tom, they do a very thorough check on them. We just got Mason's 9303 from Horizon with the repair completed as well as a complete systems check. I don't think it ever hurts to have the pro's look at it just to make sure.

2012 SEFF Night Bowling Champion!
firemanbill is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2011, 09:56 PM   #8
JetPlaneFlyer
Super Contributor
 
JetPlaneFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
Posts: 4,325
Thanked 477 Times in 445 Posts
Awards Showcase

5kW  Outstanding Contributor Award  1kW 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (8)
Default

Originally Posted by Grasshopper View Post
Thanks NJ,

I checked them recently. Mine doesn't even have that second sticker their picture points to.
The photo is confusing.. The sticker with the 'PID' number is not on the back of the Tx, it's actually to be found under the battery.. remove the battery cover, lift out the battery and there it should be.

Steve
JetPlaneFlyer is online now  
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2011, 10:07 PM   #9
Grasshopper
Some Assembly Required
 
Grasshopper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 12,071
View Grasshopper's Gallery48
Thanked 422 Times in 407 Posts
Awards Showcase

AP Contest Winner  WAA-08 Pilot  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (49)
Friends: (52)
Default

Originally Posted by JetPlaneFlyer View Post
The photo is confusing.. The sticker with the 'PID' number is not on the back of the Tx, it's actually to be found under the battery.. remove the battery cover, lift out the battery and there it should be.

Steve
I did remove the battery to look. Not there.

Tom
Grasshopper is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2011, 10:08 PM   #10
Grasshopper
Some Assembly Required
 
Grasshopper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 12,071
View Grasshopper's Gallery48
Thanked 422 Times in 407 Posts
Awards Showcase

AP Contest Winner  WAA-08 Pilot  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (49)
Friends: (52)
Default

Originally Posted by firemanbill View Post
Send it in Tom, they do a very thorough check on them. We just got Mason's 9303 from Horizon with the repair completed as well as a complete systems check. I don't think it ever hurts to have the pro's look at it just to make sure.
I think I might just do that Bill. Better safe than sorry.

Tom
Grasshopper is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2011, 10:26 PM   #11
firemanbill
Community Moderator
 
firemanbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Yorktown, Virginia USA
Posts: 18,835
View firemanbill's Gallery67
Thanked 716 Times in 704 Posts
Club: Newport News Park R/C Club
Awards Showcase

125mph Speed Demon  100mph Speed Demon  2kW  4kW 
iTrader: (35)
Friends: (63)
Default

Originally Posted by Grasshopper View Post
I think I might just do that Bill. Better safe than sorry.
Yeah and it sure gives you a renewed since of assurance in your equipment.

2012 SEFF Night Bowling Champion!
firemanbill is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2011, 11:12 PM   #12
JetPlaneFlyer
Super Contributor
 
JetPlaneFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
Posts: 4,325
Thanked 477 Times in 445 Posts
Awards Showcase

5kW  Outstanding Contributor Award  1kW 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (8)
Default

Originally Posted by firemanbill View Post
Yeah and it sure gives you a renewed since of assurance in your equipment.
Probably a false one IMHO.. In the main Electronic equipment tends to be very reliable but if an electronic component is going to fail it usually does so without warning and cant be detected 'in advance'. That's why you dont get stuff like TV's and DVD players 'serviced'.. There are no 'servicable components' within!

Most likely they will give it a clean, blow out any dust, and charge you $50 for the privalage... or maybe I'm just cynical (in fact there is no maybe about it, I am cynical)

But seriously.. I'm sure if Spektrum recommended that their gear was regularly 'serviced' they would tell you so in the manual... i've checked, it says nothing about 'servicing' other than in relation to fault repairs.

Steve
JetPlaneFlyer is online now  
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 02:25 AM   #13
swimmer
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Derby, Kansas
Posts: 225
Thanked 11 Times in 9 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (2)
Default

Sent my DX6i to Horizon to replace a broken trim switch. They replaced it and three others plus replaced both gimbals. All I read said I could replace it on my own but the PC board plugs were so tight I broke a wire removing one. Glad I sent it in and will from now on. Didn't take long and they made all repairs and checks FREE.

swimmer
swimmer is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 03:26 AM   #14
FlyWheel
Ochroma Lagopus Tekton
 
FlyWheel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Blackstock, South Carolina
Posts: 2,537
View FlyWheel's Gallery5
Thanked 70 Times in 68 Posts
Club: Lancaster County Fliers
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (3)
Default

There is an age old maxim that starts with the words "If it ain't broke..."
Posted via Mobile Device
FlyWheel is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 04:39 AM   #15
hillbillynamedpossum
Rode the short bus
 
hillbillynamedpossum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: West Plains MO USA
Posts: 721
View hillbillynamedpossum's Gallery5
Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts
Club: Is under the seat
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (8)
Default

If it aint broke, give it to an oakie....he'll find a way!

Possum

Founder, Chief Builder, Head Designer, an Lead Test Pilot of Possum Holler Aircraft Company. (A made up company that transforms styrofoam into packing peanuts, and balsa wood into toothpicks)
hillbillynamedpossum is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 07:42 AM   #16
baz49exe
Super Contributor
 
baz49exe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Devon. England
Posts: 1,101
View baz49exe's Gallery15
Thanked 135 Times in 130 Posts
Club: East Devon Radio Control Club
Awards Showcase

Outstanding Contributor Award  Scratchbuilders Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (15)
Default

I'm with the " If it ain't broke" brigade on this one. Up until I bought my 6i tx last year I was using my trusty old Futaba Challenger bought when I started flying R/C back in 1988. It was used full time up to the arrival of the 6i without any issues and is still in full working condition. Never had the back off it let alone a "service" I bet there are many stories like mine.
baz49exe is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 08:08 AM   #17
JetPlaneFlyer
Super Contributor
 
JetPlaneFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
Posts: 4,325
Thanked 477 Times in 445 Posts
Awards Showcase

5kW  Outstanding Contributor Award  1kW 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (8)
Default

Originally Posted by swimmer View Post
Glad I sent it in and will from now on. Didn't take long and they made all repairs and checks FREE.

swimmer
swimmer,
That would be, i assume, because it was still under warantee (unlike the one that's subject of this thread)... Very good service none the less, but still not a reason to send your Tx in if there was no fault IMHO.
JetPlaneFlyer is online now  
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 04:32 PM   #18
swimmer
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Derby, Kansas
Posts: 225
Thanked 11 Times in 9 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (2)
Default Out of Warranty DX6i Repaired FREE

Originally Posted by JetPlaneFlyer View Post
swimmer,
That would be, i assume, because it was still under warantee (unlike the one that's subject of this thread)... Very good service none the less, but still not a reason to send your Tx in if there was no fault IMHO.
You are incorrect but only because I did not mention the age of my DX6i in my original post. My DX6i is at least three to four years old and is way out of warranty. If I hadn't broken a trim switch I would not have sent it in. Replacement of the gimbals is something I did not think about but considering the yanking and cranking that this mechanical part of the tx is exposed to maybe they should be replaced every so often. As to why they repaired it free I don't have an answer only that Horizon has always provided excellent service whenever I needed anything. I gladly would have paid them for the repairs but I really appreciate them doing it for free.

By the way, broken trim switches are common on Spektrum transmitters as you can see for yourself by "searching" on the RCG forum. Horizon replaces them with a more "robust" component as they call it.

I agree. If it "ain't" broke leave it alone but mine was broken and Horizon repaired it to what I consider like new condition. Fixing it for free when I did not expect it was icing on the cake.

swimmer
swimmer is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 04:59 PM   #19
cbatters
Super Contributor
 
cbatters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,050
Thanked 84 Times in 81 Posts
iTrader: (7)
Friends: (4)
Default

Need to separate firmware updates (BIOS) as transmitters and protocols get more sophisticated from any non-sealed electrical components. Even the analog transmitters I have from 30 years ago that I have sealed potentiometer for varying electrical resistance. That said, the mechanical movement of all transmitters may benefit from a little lubrication on the gimbal movement once in a while or adjustment if you notice it binding.

So I agree... If it it ain't broke don't fix it!



Clint

Current - Ventura, HZ SuperCub-Freedom-Swift-AB3, PZ Typhoon, T-28 Trojan, Radian, AeroAce Biplane
Maiden - F-27C Stryker
10 years Ago - ElectroSoar 2M Glider, 2M Foam Glider, Mirage 550
Retired - Sky Fly, Red Hawk, Extreme, Challenger
cbatters is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 07:03 PM   #20
Octavius
Alien Surfer
 
Octavius's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 675
Thanked 35 Times in 33 Posts
Club: Renegade Air Force
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (3)
Default

Modern economy seems to make most electronics disposable by default. Not always but it's pretty common.

i.e. An item might cost $200, and minimum service is $99, plus shipping, plus if they find it needs labor and/or parts.

Octavius is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 07:36 PM   #21
krtf4u_corsair
Psalms 1:1-2
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NC
Posts: 52
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (2)
Default

I'm not sure they would do much to really benefit ya, except for peace of mind of course.
krtf4u_corsair is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 07:58 PM   #22
JetPlaneFlyer
Super Contributor
 
JetPlaneFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
Posts: 4,325
Thanked 477 Times in 445 Posts
Awards Showcase

5kW  Outstanding Contributor Award  1kW 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (8)
Default

Originally Posted by swimmer View Post
You are incorrect but only because I did not mention the age of my DX6i in my original post. My DX6i is at least three to four years old and is way out of warranty. ......
That's outstanding service!.. Of course it could not be taken for granted that they would always do repairs for free, they arent a charitable institution after all.

Steve
JetPlaneFlyer is online now  
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 09:43 PM   #23
firemanbill
Community Moderator
 
firemanbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Yorktown, Virginia USA
Posts: 18,835
View firemanbill's Gallery67
Thanked 716 Times in 704 Posts
Club: Newport News Park R/C Club
Awards Showcase

125mph Speed Demon  100mph Speed Demon  2kW  4kW 
iTrader: (35)
Friends: (63)
Default

Originally Posted by JetPlaneFlyer View Post
That's outstanding service!.. Of course it could not be taken for granted that they would always do repairs for free, they arent a charitable institution after all.

Steve
They just repaired my Son's 9303 for free too! Best customer support in the industry!

http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=60940

2012 SEFF Night Bowling Champion!
firemanbill is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 03:30 AM   #24
swimmer
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Derby, Kansas
Posts: 225
Thanked 11 Times in 9 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (2)
Default

Originally Posted by firemanbill View Post
They just repaired my Son's 9303 for free too! Best customer support in the industry!

http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=60940
Forgot to mention, Horizon did not charge me return postage. The repair was made in the time quoted on their repair website.

swimmer

Allan
swimmer is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Reply

  WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > R/C Electric Topics - General > RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale Cold weather Transmitter glove. Dannyrevs General RC items For Sale and WTB 4 08-31-2011 03:28 PM
is it necessary to remove battery pack out of transmitter?? Flysohigh Batteries & Chargers 12 02-11-2011 04:36 PM
J3 Cub not responding to the transmitter. CHEVELLESS Beginners 12 02-11-2011 04:40 AM
Sold Heli-Max walkera 6-Channel TX6024 2.4GHz Transmitter reduced electrodude71 Radio Equipment For Sale & WTB 1 01-14-2011 01:58 AM
Transmitter pack question - changing from 9.6V NiCd to 11.1VLipo DanWard Beginners 16 12-24-2010 12:16 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:31 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 WattfFlyer.com
RCU Eflight HQ

Charities we support Select: Yorkie Rescue  ::  Crohn's & Colitis Foundation



Page generated in 0.73402 seconds with 65 queries