Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric R/C Airplanes > Scale E-Powered Aircraft
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

Scale E-Powered Aircraft Discuss electric powered scale models here.

Thank you for your support (hide ads)

Old 04-02-2011, 02:26 AM   #1
What Flyer

Friends: (0)
Default Has anyone converted a CMP Cessna 182 to electric?

This is my first post so first things first; Hi!

I am new to RC planes and just finished my first build, an EP 72" J3 Cub, it flies great and I love it!

So I just bought an ARF CMP Cessna 182 (82.7" wingspan) which is designed to use a gas engine but I want to build it as an electric.

I would also like to set it up using my existing 5S batteries because I already have several that I use with the Cub (and my heli), I'm just not sure how or what motor to use.

Can anyone advise me on the best EP setup for this model, or if its even possible?

Thanks!
Old 04-02-2011, 03:02 AM   #2
Nitro Blast
Community Moderator

View Nitro Blast's Gallery38
Club: Silent Electric Fliers of San Diego
Send a message via MSN to Nitro Blast
Awards Showcase

100mph Speed Demon  3kW  1kW  WAA-08 Pilot 
Friends: (67)

Welcome to Wattflyer, What Flyer.

I have been flying this for about 6 years now. Love it. This plane taught me how to fly in a scale manner. It loves coordinated turns. Bank and yank is not your friend here!

Ive got a AXI 42 series motor in it (cant see the other number) and a 80 amp controller. Performance is more than scale, but that keeps me out of trouble, and I'm not on the throttle more than I need.

(P.s, see the field behind me? check it out in RealFlight expansion pack 8 http://www.realflight.com/exppack8.html )