Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Company Support Forums > FMA Direct
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

FMA Direct Discuss FMA Direct products or ask your support questions.

Thank you for your support (hide ads)
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-14-2011, 03:49 AM   #1
kyleservicetech
Dennis V
 
kyleservicetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 8,347
Thanked 722 Times in 704 Posts
Club: www.racinercclub.com (I'm the newsletter editor)
Awards Showcase

Outstanding Contributor Award  3kW  2kW  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (20)
Default Balance cable alone charge doesn't work

I've got a Powerlab 8 that has been working very well. Presets have been put in for charging 1P, 2P and 4P A123 cells.

However, I've got a two cell A123 pack for a battery backup in a giant scale model. Connecting just the balance cables doesn't work, the Cellpro charger indicates no battery is connected.

It also does not work when connecting to the balance cable of a 6S A123 battery.

I purchased the Cellpro balance cable and put my own connector that matches the A123 balance connector. I measured 3.5 volts and 7.0 volts on the second and third pin of the Cellpro Balance cable, using the black wire as a reference.

Question, is something missing on my balance cable???

Thanks.

DennyV

DennyV
Retired and the days are just too short, busier than ever!
kyleservicetech is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2011, 04:11 AM   #2
kenchiroalpha
Retired Master Chief USN
 
kenchiroalpha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,837
View kenchiroalpha's Gallery2
Thanked 300 Times in 294 Posts
Awards Showcase

Outstanding Contributor Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (168)
Default

Originally Posted by kyleservicetech View Post
I've got a Powerlab 8 that has been working very well. Presets have been put in for charging 1P, 2P and 4P A123 cells.

However, I've got a two cell A123 pack for a battery backup in a giant scale model. Connecting just the balance cables doesn't work, the Cellpro charger indicates no battery is connected.

It also does not work when connecting to the balance cable of a 6S A123 battery.

I purchased the Cellpro balance cable and put my own connector that matches the A123 balance connector. I measured 3.5 volts and 7.0 volts on the second and third pin of the Cellpro Balance cable, using the black wire as a reference.

Question, is something missing on my balance cable???

Thanks.

DennyV
Hi Denny
I dont think so as i looked over the powerlab 8 manual and it should work with those battey packs without any additional items, so i would contact FMA and tell them your issues and see what they have to say
http://www.fmadirect.com/contact_us.htm
Take care dear friend
Yours Hank

"When wild the head-wind beat,Thy sovereign Will commanding, Bring them who dare to fly, To a safe landing."
kenchiroalpha is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2011, 04:48 AM   #3
kyleservicetech
Dennis V
 
kyleservicetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 8,347
Thanked 722 Times in 704 Posts
Club: www.racinercclub.com (I'm the newsletter editor)
Awards Showcase

Outstanding Contributor Award  3kW  2kW  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (20)
Default

Originally Posted by kenchiroalpha View Post
Hi Denny
I dont think so as i looked over the powerlab 8 manual and it should work with those battey packs without any additional items, so i would contact FMA and tell them your issues and see what they have to say
http://www.fmadirect.com/contact_us.htm
Take care dear friend
Yours Hank
Thanks Hank, I've sent an email to FMA before posting in wattflyer.

Have a good day.

DennyV
Retired and the days are just too short, busier than ever!
kyleservicetech is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 09:57 PM   #4
kyleservicetech
Dennis V
 
kyleservicetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 8,347
Thanked 722 Times in 704 Posts
Club: www.racinercclub.com (I'm the newsletter editor)
Awards Showcase

Outstanding Contributor Award  3kW  2kW  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (20)
Default

Originally Posted by kyleservicetech View Post
Thanks Hank, I've sent an email to FMA before posting in wattflyer.

Have a good day.

Just an update:
FMA replied the same day, and indicated the balance cable is to be wired with the black wire connected to the negative Lithium cell connection. Then, go up in line with each wire in the balance cable to the next cell, next cell and so on.

BUT the last cell in the string MUST connect to the red Cellpro Balance cable wire. This will leave blank pins if you don't have an 8 series cell battery.

Tried, it, works perfectly

DennyV
Retired and the days are just too short, busier than ever!
kyleservicetech is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 11:08 PM   #5
kenchiroalpha
Retired Master Chief USN
 
kenchiroalpha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,837
View kenchiroalpha's Gallery2
Thanked 300 Times in 294 Posts
Awards Showcase

Outstanding Contributor Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (168)
Thumbs up

Originally Posted by kyleservicetech View Post
Just an update:
FMA replied the same day, and indicated the balance cable is to be wired with the black wire connected to the negative Lithium cell connection. Then, go up in line with each wire in the balance cable to the next cell, next cell and so on.

BUT the last cell in the string MUST connect to the red Cellpro Balance cable wire. This will leave blank pins if you don't have an 8 series cell battery.

Tried, it, works perfectly
Hi Denny
Outstanding
Great customer service i see
So happy to see you got that rectified swiftly and easily
Take care dear friend
Yours Hank

"When wild the head-wind beat,Thy sovereign Will commanding, Bring them who dare to fly, To a safe landing."
kenchiroalpha is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Reply

  WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Company Support Forums > FMA Direct

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sneak Peek at the NEW Cellpro PowerLab 8 Tim Marks FMA Direct 63 09-21-2012 06:09 AM
As to charger a battery without balance connector casuarezr Batteries & Chargers 1 02-08-2011 04:02 PM
Step up to Cellpro 10s? Albatross FMA Direct 8 01-04-2011 07:59 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:26 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 WattfFlyer.com
RCU Eflight HQ

Charities we support Select: Yorkie Rescue  ::  Crohn's & Colitis Foundation



Page generated in 0.16053 seconds with 27 queries