Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > R/C Electric Topics - General > Flight Simulators
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

Flight Simulators Discuss computer flight simulators here

Thank you for your support (hide ads)
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-15-2011, 02:00 PM   #1
Fishbonez
Love my Stinger
 
Fishbonez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 2,234
Thanked 107 Times in 106 Posts
Club: Cheyenne Hill Hoppers
Send a message via AIM to Fishbonez Send a message via Yahoo to Fishbonez
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (17)
Default Anyone know of the Apprentice

Looking for a the Apprentice for Realflight G5.5. I am considering purchasing this plane for my daught and myself and was hoping to find a file for the apprentice no such luck at the moment. Can anyone here help?
Thanks in advance
Fishbonez
Fishbonez is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2011, 04:18 PM   #2
BEAR-AvHistory
RDRC
 
BEAR-AvHistory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NC USA
Posts: 588
View BEAR-AvHistory's Gallery13
Thanked 54 Times in 53 Posts
Club: Raleigh Durham Radio Control AMA Club #733
iTrader: (3)
Friends: (2)
Default

posted in error

Kevin
BEAR-AvHistory is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2011, 05:01 PM   #3
NJSwede
3D wannabe
 
NJSwede's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,750
View NJSwede's Gallery1
Thanked 112 Times in 109 Posts
Club: Somerset Signal Senders & GCA
Awards Showcase

2kW  1kW 
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (10)
Default

Since nobody seems to pick up this thread, I'll give you a semi-educated guess: The generic high-wing trainer in Realflight will probably behave very similar to the Apprentice. Although I haven't actually flown the Apprentice, it looks like it's modeled after an old standard formula for high-wing trainers, including classics like the Hobbico Avistar (which I HAVE flown) etc. I'm pretty sure the generic trainers in the simulators are modeled after the same formula.

So I guess what I'm trying to say is that if you don't find what you're looking for, you're most likely going to be fine with the generic high wing trainer.

AMA #959089
NJSwede is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2011, 08:59 PM   #4
xmech2k
Ya got any Beeman's?
 
xmech2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,618
View xmech2k's Gallery21
Thanked 247 Times in 245 Posts
Club: CVMRCC, SEFSD
Awards Showcase

1kW  Outstanding Contributor Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (7)
Default

I was waiting for someone with G5 to respond as well (I'm still G3.5) but I agree. I just used the basic electric high wing trainer that came with the program, and I do have an Apprentice. It's only a sim, so it's close enough. The only difference I really noticed was the one in the sim needed a lot more power than the Apprentice.
xmech2k is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2011, 01:52 AM   #5
Fishbonez
Love my Stinger
 
Fishbonez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 2,234
Thanked 107 Times in 106 Posts
Club: Cheyenne Hill Hoppers
Send a message via AIM to Fishbonez Send a message via Yahoo to Fishbonez
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (17)
Default

Ok
Thank you. I just know the sim has been so helpful to me with my soper cub that I thought maybe just maybe...I will give the basic trainer a try thanks all
Fishbonez is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2011, 03:35 AM   #6
rcers
Community Moderator
 
rcers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Trophy Club TX
Posts: 6,175
View rcers's Gallery57
Thanked 501 Times in 491 Posts
Awards Showcase

WAA-08 Pilot 
iTrader: (4)
Friends: (9)
Default

Real flight is a Great Planes Hobbico product and the Apprentice is a Horizon Hobby plane. Since they are competitors, I don't think you will see that. ???

Mike
rcers is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2011, 03:37 AM   #7
xmech2k
Ya got any Beeman's?
 
xmech2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,618
View xmech2k's Gallery21
Thanked 247 Times in 245 Posts
Club: CVMRCC, SEFSD
Awards Showcase

1kW  Outstanding Contributor Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (7)
Default

Well, people make alot of downloadable planes, it just takes someone who wants to do it. Wish I had the skills. Might be able to go here and make a request:

http://knifeedge.com/forums/downloads.php

Edit: Well, I just visited the forums there and searched on Apprentice, and looks like people have been asking for a long time, but no one has done it yet.
xmech2k is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2011, 03:49 AM   #8
rcers
Community Moderator
 
rcers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Trophy Club TX
Posts: 6,175
View rcers's Gallery57
Thanked 501 Times in 491 Posts
Awards Showcase

WAA-08 Pilot 
iTrader: (4)
Friends: (9)
Default

I wondered about that.....
rcers is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2011, 02:45 PM   #9
Fishbonez
Love my Stinger
 
Fishbonez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 2,234
Thanked 107 Times in 106 Posts
Club: Cheyenne Hill Hoppers
Send a message via AIM to Fishbonez Send a message via Yahoo to Fishbonez
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (17)
Default

Originally Posted by rcers View Post
I wondered about that.....
Originally Posted by xmech2k View Post
Well, people make alot of downloadable planes, it just takes someone who wants to do it. Wish I had the skills. Might be able to go here and make a request:

http://knifeedge.com/forums/downloads.php

Edit: Well, I just visited the forums there and searched on Apprentice, and looks like people have been asking for a long time, but no one has done it yet.

Yea to include me. Just a thought I am sure I could use any ole trainer and be fine. However one of the reasons I went went the Gflite simulator was because I thought, when it was sold to me, that this was an advantage that before purchasing a plane you could get a downloadble/already part of the sim for any plane. To a large exten this is true just never seem to find the planes I want to purchase
Fishbonez is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Reply

  WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > R/C Electric Topics - General > Flight Simulators

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What to do with E-Flight Apprentice parts abv0377 Scratch and Kit Built Aircraft 9 12-12-2011 10:04 PM
Apprentice chases REAL EDGE 540!!! zman21 General Electric Discussions 7 05-13-2011 02:06 PM
My maiden RC flight (E-Flite Apprentice) zman21 Beginners 32 05-13-2011 05:17 AM
Painting the Apprentice megajon Beginners 19 05-04-2011 07:30 PM
Increasing wheel size on Apprentice 15e - axle size? kleecker ParkFlyers 19 04-04-2011 02:24 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:42 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 WattfFlyer.com
RCU Eflight HQ

Charities we support Select: Yorkie Rescue  ::  Crohn's & Colitis Foundation



Page generated in 0.23951 seconds with 35 queries