Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric R/C Airplanes > Beginners
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

Beginners New to e-power flying? Get the low down in here from experienced e-power RC pilots!

Thank you for your support (hide ads)

Old 06-07-2011, 06:34 PM   #1
lrtrees

Friends: (0)
Default Help With A Hobby Lobby Miss 2

I am fairly new to this flying thing and am learning a lot, but have a question that I could sure use some help with.
I have recently put together a Miss 2. I am using a HK Park 480 with the Rhino 3s 2150 20C LiPo battery. As far as I can tell everything is set up correctly and the trims also appear to be as they should be.
The motor, I think, is plenty strong for a/c, but here is the question. In the air, it really wants to climb, climb, climb. Seems that no mater where I set the throttle or which prop I use, it wants to climb. Would one guess that I might not have the CG correct? It calls for a CG of 60 - 65mm from front of wing. I am right in there.
I can say that in looking at the a/c from the side, the motor does appear to be pointed in a slightly down position. The firewall pretty much sees to that. And when checking the CG, it does appear to be slightly nose heavy. Now I do need to get a device to use in checking the CG more accurately since I currently just draw a line for the min and max CG and then check between those points using my finger tips. I know, not the best, but should be close?
I know the motor I have installed is heavier than the one Hobby Lobby recommends and I even add a little weight in the nose.
With all power off it is better, but still is inclined to pitch up.