Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric R/C Airplanes > ParkFlyers
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

ParkFlyers Talk about all backyard and parkflyer aircraft here

Thank you for your support (hide ads)
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-27-2011, 06:35 PM   #1
jap71173
BigWatts.shutterfly.com
 
jap71173's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 382
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (8)
Default Old Electrics

I have the oppertunity to buy some 7 year old r/c stuff from someone... my questions is... "Is it worth it"??? and "how much has hadware changed in 7 years"?

Descripton: 20 unbuilt Parkflyer kits, 5 PNP (just add radio), approx 20+ brushless motors, 50+ props and other misc items

all for $500... what do you guys think

(p.s. no i havn't seen it yet)

Every takeoff is optional. Every landing is mandatory!

AMA #964800
jap71173 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 09:49 PM   #2
wolfewinde
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Clearwater, Florida
Posts: 537
Thanked 33 Times in 32 Posts
Club: Largo Flying Club
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (4)
Default

Probably somewhere between a good value and a steal - if the kits have all the pieces and the RTF's are in good shape and they are planes you will fly.

Motors are probably good - motor tech hasn't changes all that much in 5 years I don't think except that it has gotten cheaper

Wolfe
wolfewinde is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2011, 07:54 AM   #3
jap71173
BigWatts.shutterfly.com
 
jap71173's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 382
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (8)
Default OMG !!!

OMG...Holy ... WOW... What a DEAL!!!!

I just went 50/50 with my friend and we bought out everything this guy had ALL FOR $500!!!

- There something like 15 Balsa and 15 foam planes
- Dozens of motors (inrunners, outrunners, brushed w/gear boxes and brushless
- A watt's up Meter, Hobbico Tachometer, Brushless ESC programming card
- About 100 props, APC, GWS, etc., 20+ prop adapters, 40+ motor mounts

The list goes on... and on...and on... I have only gotten through about 1/2 the stuff as of this post.

Here are some photos of just a few of the planes from this SWEET deal...

(hey, maybe i can get a cool little logo by my name for the best r/c shopper, lol)


Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0273.jpg
Views:	136
Size:	77.4 KB
ID:	148777
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0272.jpg
Views:	142
Size:	71.2 KB
ID:	148778
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0269.jpg
Views:	133
Size:	84.2 KB
ID:	148779
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0268.jpg
Views:	128
Size:	90.8 KB
ID:	148780
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0270.jpg
Views:	131
Size:	84.6 KB
ID:	148781 Yes i have the wings :)

Every takeoff is optional. Every landing is mandatory!

AMA #964800
jap71173 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2011, 08:47 AM   #4
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 18,256
View CHELLIE's Gallery13
Thanked 2,112 Times in 2,022 Posts
Club: Chino Renegades RC Flying Club
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Scratchbuilders Award  Ambassador Award  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (4)
Friends: (306)
Default

you made out like a BANDIT Good for you

I may be getting Older, But I Refuse to grow Up I am Having to much Fun to Grow Up LOL
CHELLIE is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2011, 12:16 PM   #5
rcers
Community Moderator
 
rcers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Trophy Club TX
Posts: 6,160
View rcers's Gallery57
Thanked 501 Times in 491 Posts
Awards Showcase

WAA-08 Pilot 
iTrader: (4)
Friends: (9)
Default

You did good most of the time those deals are full of junk. You have some excellent planes in that group!
rcers is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 04:01 AM   #6
jap71173
BigWatts.shutterfly.com
 
jap71173's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 382
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (8)
Default Re: Old Electrics

Here's another one from the bunch... Just tried it out at the small baseball park.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C9VGE...e_gdata_player


Sent from my EVO

Every takeoff is optional. Every landing is mandatory!

AMA #964800
jap71173 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 04:06 AM   #7
Lieutenant Loughead
UNCLUB OWNER
 
Lieutenant Loughead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 4,406
View Lieutenant Loughead's Gallery35
Thanked 188 Times in 181 Posts
Club: Flown 517 days in a row!
Awards Showcase

125mph Speed Demon  Globetrotter Pilot  WAA-08 Pilot  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (3)
Friends: (24)
Default

Nice! Good for you. I wonder what possessed the seller to sell so darned cheap?

Owner of the UNCLUB flying site and hobby shop in Arcadia, OK.

AMA #930992
Lieutenant Loughead is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 07:33 AM   #8
jap71173
BigWatts.shutterfly.com
 
jap71173's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 382
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (8)
Default

Originally Posted by Lieutenant Loughead View Post
Nice! Good for you. I wonder what possessed the seller to sell so darned cheap?

The guy just hadn't flown in years since his kids got out of high school and moved on to other hobbies (girls maybe)... His wife was tired of using up a whole room in the house for just his outdated hobby... so he sold it all to keep the peace i would say... (i should go back and thank his wife....lol)

Here's another one... test flown and flies great!


Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0296.jpg
Views:	109
Size:	88.0 KB
ID:	149206

Every takeoff is optional. Every landing is mandatory!

AMA #964800
jap71173 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 08:44 AM   #9
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 18,256
View CHELLIE's Gallery13
Thanked 2,112 Times in 2,022 Posts
Club: Chino Renegades RC Flying Club
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Scratchbuilders Award  Ambassador Award  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (4)
Friends: (306)
Default

Nice Flight on the Moth take care, Chellie

I may be getting Older, But I Refuse to grow Up I am Having to much Fun to Grow Up LOL
CHELLIE is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 12:17 PM   #10
Big Johnny
Master Of The Crash
 
Big Johnny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vass, North Carolina
Posts: 955
Thanked 47 Times in 46 Posts
Club: SMAC
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (2)
Default

I once got a Killer Deal on a CanAm 250 Dirt bike. Dude didn't want his wife to get it during a DIVORCE. He also let a bass boat and other man toys go dirt cheap, then he hit her with the divorce papers ( She was sleeping around on him)
Big Johnny is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2011, 06:06 AM   #11
jap71173
BigWatts.shutterfly.com
 
jap71173's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 382
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (8)
Default

Originally Posted by CHELLIE View Post
Nice Flight on the Moth take care, Chellie
Hey Chellie,

The motor in this Moth was a inrunner w/gearbox... I'm changing it over to a direct drive brushless. This is the motor i put in it is the PJS 3D 550E (800kV)... and i'm using a 2S 1300 mAh. battery

As you know i'm still trying to get a handle on which prop goes with which motor which goes with what plane... (phew, say that 5 times)

My question is what prop would you suggest?? or am i destined to crash using that motor?

The old prop was a APC 9x6... and the plane weighs in at 16.5oz with no batt... I should also mention the prop adapter is actually a propsaver which is fused on so there’s no changing it!

Every takeoff is optional. Every landing is mandatory!

AMA #964800
jap71173 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2011, 07:17 AM   #12
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 18,256
View CHELLIE's Gallery13
Thanked 2,112 Times in 2,022 Posts
Club: Chino Renegades RC Flying Club
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Scratchbuilders Award  Ambassador Award  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (4)
Friends: (306)
Default

you will need to use a 3 cell lipo with that motor, because it has a low 800KV, a 2 cell lipo wont give you any thrust. the 9x6 with a 3 cell lipo will work great. Go to the web page that sells the motors that you are using, and they will normally tell you what prop to use with how many lipo cells to use. hope that helps, Chellie

4a * ON SALE 1/4 PRICE * FOR OUTDOOR 1m PLANES:PJS 3 D 550E OUTRUNNER MOTOR, 50g, 650g Thrust
** ON SALE, AT 1/4 PRICE ** ....For all aerobatic /3D indoor & park flyer planes, up to 500g weight. Perfect for RC-Factory FLASH EPP & YAK EPP; and for Fancy Foam Outdoor planes. ...Engineered SUPERBLY. Cost only £14 (previous retail price: £59.99)... .... Specifications:  Static thrust: up to 650g;  Number of cells: 3 to 4 Li-Po;  Max. efficiency current: 13,5A;  Weight: 50g;  Dimensions: Ø 32mm x 45mm ; ....Shaft diameter: 4mm ;...  Recommended props: APC 10/4,7; 11/4,7 – 3 to 4 Li-Po;  Suitable Speed Controller: 18A; .....These "External Rotor" (“Outrunner”) brushless motors are very powerful indeed. They are very easy to use, and very silent running. You could be only 20 feet away and all you will hear is a faint noise from the whirling prop. .....They give a different "feel" to the flying of the model airplane. At half throttle, you'll feel that the motor is silently pulling the airplane through the air at flying speeds –and effortlessly. ....Using an appropriate brushless speed controller will give you smooth and fast throttle response. Then when you open the throttle to FULL, the airplane will shoot ahead like you've never seen before.

I may be getting Older, But I Refuse to grow Up I am Having to much Fun to Grow Up LOL
CHELLIE is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2011, 07:29 AM   #13
jap71173
BigWatts.shutterfly.com
 
jap71173's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 382
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (8)
Default

Originally Posted by CHELLIE View Post
you will need to use a 3 cell lipo with that motor, because it has a low 800KV, a 2 cell lipo wont give you any thrust. the 9x6 with a 3 cell lipo will work great. Go to the web page that sells the motors that you are using, and they will normally tell you what prop to use with how many lipo cells to use. hope that helps, Chellie

4a * ON SALE 1/4 PRICE * FOR OUTDOOR 1m PLANES:PJS 3 D 550E OUTRUNNER MOTOR, 50g, 650g Thrust
** ON SALE, AT 1/4 PRICE ** ....For all aerobatic /3D indoor & park flyer planes, up to 500g weight. Perfect for RC-Factory FLASH EPP & YAK EPP; and for Fancy Foam Outdoor planes. ...Engineered SUPERBLY. Cost only £14 (previous retail price: £59.99)... .... Specifications:  Static thrust: up to 650g;  Number of cells: 3 to 4 Li-Po;  Max. efficiency current: 13,5A;  Weight: 50g;  Dimensions: Ø 32mm x 45mm ; ....Shaft diameter: 4mm ;...  Recommended props: APC 10/4,7; 11/4,7 – 3 to 4 Li-Po;  Suitable Speed Controller: 18A; .....These "External Rotor" (“Outrunner”) brushless motors are very powerful indeed. They are very easy to use, and very silent running. You could be only 20 feet away and all you will hear is a faint noise from the whirling prop. .....They give a different "feel" to the flying of the model airplane. At half throttle, you'll feel that the motor is silently pulling the airplane through the air at flying speeds –and effortlessly. ....Using an appropriate brushless speed controller will give you smooth and fast throttle response. Then when you open the throttle to FULL, the airplane will shoot ahead like you've never seen before.
Thanks Chellie... The one i have says 550E... I think the 550 is a 1225kv, but mine is only 800kv... ok, so with a 3S batt would it hurt to put a 10x7SF or is that way too much pitch?

Every takeoff is optional. Every landing is mandatory!

AMA #964800
jap71173 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2011, 07:41 AM   #14
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 18,256
View CHELLIE's Gallery13
Thanked 2,112 Times in 2,022 Posts
Club: Chino Renegades RC Flying Club
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Scratchbuilders Award  Ambassador Award  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (4)
Friends: (306)
Default

Originally Posted by jap71173 View Post
Thanks Chellie... The one i have says 550E... I think the 550 is a 1225kv, but mine is only 800kv... ok, so with a 3S batt would it hurt to put a 10x7SF or is that way too much pitch?
thats way to much pitch/prop for a 3 cell, the specs say 10 x 4.7 on 3 cells that may burn your motor up, you could use that 10x7 prop with a 2 cell if your going to use that much pitch on the prop, do you have a Wattmeter, if you do, always check the amp draw and keep it with in the MFG specs. i belive you can use the 9x6 with a 3 cell

a 10 x 4.7 prop is close to a 10 x 5 prop

I may be getting Older, But I Refuse to grow Up I am Having to much Fun to Grow Up LOL
CHELLIE is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2011, 07:46 AM   #15
jap71173
BigWatts.shutterfly.com
 
jap71173's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 382
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (8)
Default

Originally Posted by CHELLIE View Post
thats way to much pitch/prop for a 3 cell, the specs say 10 x 4.7 on 3 cells that may burn your motor up, you could use that 10x7 prop with a 2 cell if your going to use that much pitch on the prop, do you have a Wattmeter, if you do, always check the amp draw and keep it with in the MFG specs.

a 10 x 4.7 prop is close to a 10 x 5 prop

Ok, thanks again... i will heed your warning and stick with a 10x4.7 and a 3S and see what happens.

I did score a Watts Up meter in my bulk deal but theres no manual and i just havn't had the time to download and read a pdf on how to use it yet... guess i should now!

Every takeoff is optional. Every landing is mandatory!

AMA #964800
jap71173 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2011, 08:43 AM   #16
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 18,256
View CHELLIE's Gallery13
Thanked 2,112 Times in 2,022 Posts
Club: Chino Renegades RC Flying Club
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Scratchbuilders Award  Ambassador Award  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (4)
Friends: (306)
Default

this info may be of help



http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...980a9ce857285c

http://www.rc-electronics-usa.com/am...simulator.html

I may be getting Older, But I Refuse to grow Up I am Having to much Fun to Grow Up LOL
CHELLIE is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2011, 08:24 PM   #17
jap71173
BigWatts.shutterfly.com
 
jap71173's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 382
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (8)
Default

Thanks again... so what does "Max efficiency 13.5 amps" mean?

I ran the wattmeter on her this morning with a 3S 1000mAh 30C battery and a 10x4.7SF prop and got only 8.36 Amps @ 89 watts... Does this mean she can handle a larger prop no problem??

Every takeoff is optional. Every landing is mandatory!

AMA #964800
jap71173 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2011, 11:45 PM   #18
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 18,256
View CHELLIE's Gallery13
Thanked 2,112 Times in 2,022 Posts
Club: Chino Renegades RC Flying Club
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Scratchbuilders Award  Ambassador Award  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (4)
Friends: (306)
Default

Originally Posted by jap71173 View Post
Thanks again... so what does "Max efficiency 13.5 amps" mean?

I ran the wattmeter on her this morning with a 3S 1000mAh 30C battery and a 10x4.7SF prop and got only 8.36 Amps @ 89 watts... Does this mean she can handle a larger prop no problem??
yes you can load it up to around 14 Amps and be ok, yes you can use a bigger prop or more pitch, be carefull because with a larger MAH lipo, that could change, Take care and have fun, Chellie

I may be getting Older, But I Refuse to grow Up I am Having to much Fun to Grow Up LOL
CHELLIE is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2011, 12:36 AM   #19
jap71173
BigWatts.shutterfly.com
 
jap71173's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 382
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (8)
Default

Originally Posted by CHELLIE View Post
yes you can load it up to around 14 Amps and be ok, yes you can use a bigger prop or more pitch, be carefull because with a larger MAH lipo, that could change, Take care and have fun, Chellie

Thanks Chellie, your always a helpful blessing to me and Wattflyer

Every takeoff is optional. Every landing is mandatory!

AMA #964800
jap71173 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2011, 05:45 AM   #20
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 18,256
View CHELLIE's Gallery13
Thanked 2,112 Times in 2,022 Posts
Club: Chino Renegades RC Flying Club
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Scratchbuilders Award  Ambassador Award  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (4)
Friends: (306)
Default

Originally Posted by jap71173 View Post
Thanks Chellie, your always a helpful blessing to me and Wattflyer
Awe Shucks Thank You

I may be getting Older, But I Refuse to grow Up I am Having to much Fun to Grow Up LOL
CHELLIE is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2011, 03:51 PM   #21
texasclouds
Super Contributor
 
texasclouds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 1,375
View texasclouds's Gallery472
Thanked 73 Times in 72 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (12)
Default

those are some nice looking Mountain Models builds...

texasclouds is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2011, 05:56 PM   #22
jap71173
BigWatts.shutterfly.com
 
jap71173's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 382
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (8)
Default

Thanks... There were just so many planes i never got the chance to open all the boxes and go through them... I just found a few more cool NIB kits like the EVA w/interchangable wings for sport or Bipe and also a Pitts Special Bipe!

So i just started putting together my first ever balsa kit... fun fun fun!!!


Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	EVA.jpg
Views:	63
Size:	98.2 KB
ID:	149635

Every takeoff is optional. Every landing is mandatory!

AMA #964800
jap71173 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 12:20 AM   #23
dkrhardy
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wetumpka AL (Montgomery area)
Posts: 543
Thanked 44 Times in 41 Posts
Club: AMA & ECRCC & RAMM
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (3)
Default

Jeeeeeez! Stop bragging! You did well, eh?
dkrhardy is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 12:41 AM   #24
road king 97
old hat
 
road king 97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: joliet il
Posts: 2,634
Thanked 193 Times in 189 Posts
Club: joliet rc club rt 66
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Outstanding Contributor Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (14)
Default

I was doing fine till i seen you flying the moth around . lmao Good for you! ,i hope you find more. I have been hitting estate sales and garage sales for 20 + years and buying of a guys getting out of the hobby,you can find great deals on rc that way. joe
road king 97 is online now  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 08:34 AM   #25
jap71173
BigWatts.shutterfly.com
 
jap71173's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 382
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (8)
Default

ok, so now that i finished most of the build...i'm at the step where it says to cover it. I got about 50+ rolls of the kote stuff in my deal, i even got the iron (but no heat gun)...

Can someone point me to a thread that instructs on how to apply the kote... i'm as newb as they come with this stuff (never done it)

i started testing my unskill on some scraps and failed. I get it to stick but i get major crinkles and how do i do the edges?

Every takeoff is optional. Every landing is mandatory!

AMA #964800
jap71173 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Reply

  WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric R/C Airplanes > ParkFlyers

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Welcome New Members to Wattflyer - We ONLY do electric flight here! admin General Electric Discussions 4982 08-21-2014 10:40 AM
Can a bigger battery damage the electrics? HobbyJumper Indoor & Micro Electric Planes 2 05-16-2011 05:54 PM
help with the electrics! whitedeath Electric Ducted Fan Jets 7 03-20-2011 07:37 PM
nitro guy flirting with electrics hans borg Beginners 11 02-19-2011 05:12 PM
I've had it!!!! NJSwede Beginners 64 02-10-2011 12:33 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:49 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 WattfFlyer.com
RCU Eflight HQ

Charities we support Select: Yorkie Rescue  ::  Crohn's & Colitis Foundation



Page generated in 0.82084 seconds with 80 queries