Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric R/C Airplanes > Beginners
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

Beginners New to e-power flying? Get the low down in here from experienced e-power RC pilots!

Thank you for your support (hide ads)

Old 06-28-2011, 01:05 AM   #1
GTO@2

Friends: (0)
Default Need help choosing for a beginner

Hey all! When I was about 14 I used to go on this website a lot, all I could afford back then was the aero aces (are those still around??). But now I am at a point in my life where I can get back to what interests me, and with a little bit of a bigger budget.

I am a beginner at flying anything over the aero aces, and I haven't even flown one of those since they came out. I'm looking to get back into the hobby a little bit, and have it down between two planes-the Parkzone Micro Cub and the regular PZ J-3 Cub. Which, as a beginner, should I get? I am definitely going to get the J-3, but should I get the micro cub first? I am just very scared to get the J-3 and, being a complete beginner, crash it on my first or second flights.
Old 06-28-2011, 01:34 AM   #2
kenchiroalpha
Retired Master Chief USN

View kenchiroalpha's Gallery2
Awards Showcase

Outstanding Contributor Award 
Friends: (168)

Hi
Pleased to meet you
Both are fine aircraft
Larger aircraft are more stable ,can fly in higher winds and are easier to see at a distance
Smaller aircraft are twitchy and need calm weather conditions but the small size allows them to to fly in more venues backyard, indoors, ETC
With that said either one would be great for your needs so its your choice
Btw i still fly AH Bipes and jets
Take care
Yours Hank