Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric R/C Airplanes > Beginners
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

Beginners New to e-power flying? Get the low down in here from experienced e-power RC pilots!

Thank you for your support (hide ads)
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-02-2011, 06:56 PM   #1
NJSwede
3D wannabe
 
NJSwede's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,762
View NJSwede's Gallery1
Thanked 112 Times in 109 Posts
Club: Somerset Signal Senders & GCA
Awards Showcase

2kW  1kW 
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (10)
Default Today's lesson

Repeat 100 times after me: "Glue isn't weightless!" and "Always check CG after repairs!"

I re-maidened my A-10 after some repairs to the tail and I forgot to check the CG before flying. I know, stupid beginner mistake! The glue had added a lot of weight and the fact that I put in a 1800 battery by mistake instead of a 2200 didn't help. The plane was almost 2" tail heavy. At least the other pilots at the field got a good show from The Drunken Squirrels and their Flying Circus! And I'm actually really proud I got the plane down in one piece. The CG was aft of the chord center. That's not a good thing, right?

I'm writing this up on the bonehead list!

AMA #959089
NJSwede is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2011, 07:15 PM   #2
CrimzonRider
Fastest PropHead Crasher
 
CrimzonRider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NW Oklahoma
Posts: 1,304
View CrimzonRider's Gallery18
Thanked 100 Times in 99 Posts
iTrader: (2)
Friends: (14)
Default

Glue isnt weightless....Glue isnt.......

WoW 2" tail heavy! Never seen a 3Ding A-10! jk I learned the hard way too. Anytime I repair major damage now, to lets say the right wing, I add tape and some very small fishing weights or a washer to the left wing.
Glad at least your a-10 is not a lawn dart.

have a good one
cr
CrimzonRider is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2011, 07:20 PM   #3
NJSwede
3D wannabe
 
NJSwede's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,762
View NJSwede's Gallery1
Thanked 112 Times in 109 Posts
Club: Somerset Signal Senders & GCA
Awards Showcase

2kW  1kW 
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (10)
Default

Originally Posted by CrimzonRider View Post
Glue isnt weightless....Glue isnt.......

WoW 2" tail heavy! Never seen a 3Ding A-10! jk I learned the hard way too. Anytime I repair major damage now, to lets say the right wing, I add tape and some very small fishing weights or a washer to the left wing.
Glad at least your a-10 is not a lawn dart.

have a good one
cr
Yeah, I was surprised myself, until I started looking for my last 1800 battery and realized it was in the A-10. There's a considerable weight difference between the 1800 and the 2200, so that added to the glue made it CRAZY tail heavy. Man, it was a close call, I'll tell you that. Very close to zero control... (But the old-timers who never bring a plane to fly but spend their days making fun of other pilots didn't get a chance to give a nasty comment as I came back with the pieces of my plane. That made my day right there!)

AMA #959089
NJSwede is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2011, 07:47 PM   #4
FlyWheel
Ochroma Lagopus Tekton
 
FlyWheel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Blackstock, South Carolina
Posts: 2,537
View FlyWheel's Gallery5
Thanked 70 Times in 68 Posts
Club: Lancaster County Fliers
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (3)
Default

Good thing you reposted about using the smaller battery, I was about to ask just how much glue did you use?

"Give a man a plane and he'll fly for a day.
Teach a man to build a plane and he'll fly for a lifetime"
FlyWheel is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2011, 07:55 PM   #5
CrimzonRider
Fastest PropHead Crasher
 
CrimzonRider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NW Oklahoma
Posts: 1,304
View CrimzonRider's Gallery18
Thanked 100 Times in 99 Posts
iTrader: (2)
Friends: (14)
Default

Originally Posted by NJSwede View Post
.....as I came back with the pieces of my plane. That made my day right there!)
That always a good thing, but you know that they are still saying, Darn whippersnapper!!

I used to just pile on the epoxy when repairing, now I know that it doesnt really take that much. I also used toothpicks and small bamboo skewers to take most of the "loading" and glue them in.

have a good one
cr
CrimzonRider is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2011, 07:55 PM   #6
NJSwede
3D wannabe
 
NJSwede's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,762
View NJSwede's Gallery1
Thanked 112 Times in 109 Posts
Club: Somerset Signal Senders & GCA
Awards Showcase

2kW  1kW 
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (10)
Default

I probably used too much glue, plus I added stronger elevator pushrods and added some CF to strengthen the bridge between the elevator halves. Not much weight individually, but I guess when you add it all up, forget to hook up your brain and put in a lighter battery, you're asking for trouble...

AMA #959089
NJSwede is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2011, 07:56 PM   #7
Wrench66
Ya' need to use mo rudda!
 
Wrench66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chino, Calif. aka Dairyland
Posts: 1,363
View Wrench66's Gallery33
Thanked 108 Times in 101 Posts
Club: Chino Renegades RC Flier's
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award 
iTrader: (6)
Friends: (20)
Default

Been here before..... LOL

Ultimate congrats for bringing it down in one piece, THAT'S a LOOOOONG way back from the correct CG.

--Ray

Man, gravity is ALWAYS wanting something from me
Wrench66 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2011, 08:29 PM   #8
NJSwede
3D wannabe
 
NJSwede's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,762
View NJSwede's Gallery1
Thanked 112 Times in 109 Posts
Club: Somerset Signal Senders & GCA
Awards Showcase

2kW  1kW 
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (10)
Default

Originally Posted by Wrench66 View Post
Been here before..... LOL

Ultimate congrats for bringing it down in one piece, THAT'S a LOOOOONG way back from the correct CG.

--Ray
Maybe it was 1.5", I don't know. But I had to move the battery from the very back of my extra long velcro strip to the very front. That strip is at least 6" long, so we're talking serious difference in CG here. And yes... It was doing 3D. I actually had it hovering for a few seconds (unintentionally, of course...)

AMA #959089
NJSwede is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2011, 10:27 PM   #9
road king 97
old hat
 
road king 97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: joliet il
Posts: 2,765
Thanked 205 Times in 201 Posts
Club: joliet rc club rt 66
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Outstanding Contributor Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (15)
Default

In my early years of building i desighned and built my own canard 25 size nitro plane ,pusher prop and motor in the rear, main wing also . I did some test hops to try to get the cg correct and finaly had added a couple ounces with douple sided taped lead under the nose. It flew great for a month or so then one day i was flying from a wet paved runway and the tape came loose after take off at about 100 ft and i then had a yard dart with power. lmao The lesson i learned from it was to epozy cg weight in side the fuse so it never comes loose. After you get your cg front to back balance your planes from wing tip to wing tip ,that is a true balanced plane. Nice save swede! joe
road king 97 is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2011, 01:53 AM   #10
kyleservicetech
Dennis V
 
kyleservicetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 8,048
Thanked 698 Times in 680 Posts
Club: www.racinercclub.com (I'm the newsletter editor)
Awards Showcase

Outstanding Contributor Award  3kW  2kW  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (20)
Default

Originally Posted by NJSwede View Post
Repeat 100 times after me: "Glue isn't weightless!" and "Always check CG after repairs!"

I re-maidened my A-10 after some repairs to the tail and I forgot to check the CG before flying. I know, stupid beginner mistake! The glue had added a lot of weight and the fact that I put in a 1800 battery by mistake instead of a 2200 didn't help. The plane was almost 2" tail heavy. At least the other pilots at the field got a good show from The Drunken Squirrels and their Flying Circus! And I'm actually really proud I got the plane down in one piece. The CG was aft of the chord center. That's not a good thing, right?

I'm writing this up on the bonehead list!
Wow, the cg was 2 inches behind the proper location? The little model airplane gods were really watching over you on that flight!

DennyV
Retired and the days are just too short, busier than ever!
kyleservicetech is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2011, 02:01 AM   #11
CHELLIE
Super Contributor
 
CHELLIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hesperia, So. Calif
Posts: 18,596
View CHELLIE's Gallery13
Thanked 2,162 Times in 2,070 Posts
Club: Chino Renegades RC Flying Club
Awards Showcase

Scratchbuilders Award  Scratchbuilders Award  Ambassador Award  100mph Speed Demon 
iTrader: (4)
Friends: (311)
Default

Originally Posted by NJSwede View Post
Repeat 100 times after me: "Glue isn't weightless!" and "Always check CG after repairs!"

I re-maidened my A-10 after some repairs to the tail and I forgot to check the CG before flying. I know, stupid beginner mistake! The glue had added a lot of weight and the fact that I put in a 1800 battery by mistake instead of a 2200 didn't help. The plane was almost 2" tail heavy. At least the other pilots at the field got a good show from The Drunken Squirrels and their Flying Circus! And I'm actually really proud I got the plane down in one piece. The CG was aft of the chord center. That's not a good thing, right?

I'm writing this up on the bonehead list!
Been there, Done that, Recently too That will sure keep you on your toes Huh, and it will sure make a great pilot out of you trying not to crash your plane LOL, Take care and have fun, Chellie

I may be getting Older, But I Refuse to grow Up I am Having to much Fun to Grow Up LOL
CHELLIE is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2011, 08:20 AM   #12
JetPlaneFlyer
Super Contributor
 
JetPlaneFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
Posts: 4,426
Thanked 490 Times in 456 Posts
Awards Showcase

5kW  Outstanding Contributor Award  1kW 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (8)
Default

Another lesson might be: 'Dont add weight to the tail of your plane because you will probably need to add several times as much to the nose to get the model to balance'

For most model a big part of keeping the overall weight down is keeping the tail end really light. A bit of strengthening here, a stiffer pushrod there, a little extra glue.. All of a sudden you add an ounce to the tail... No biggie you might think, what's an ounce between friends...... Until you find that you need to add 3 to 5 oz in the nose to get it to balance

Steve
JetPlaneFlyer is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2011, 03:45 PM   #13
NJSwede
3D wannabe
 
NJSwede's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,762
View NJSwede's Gallery1
Thanked 112 Times in 109 Posts
Club: Somerset Signal Senders & GCA
Awards Showcase

2kW  1kW 
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (10)
Default

A nice thing about the Dynam A-10 is that the battery compartment is something like 10" long, so almost anything can be compensated for by moving the battery. Moving the battery all the way to the front ALMOST did the trick. If I do that with the CORRECT battery, I'm sure she'll be a dream to fly again!

AMA #959089
NJSwede is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 06:24 PM   #14
NJSwede
3D wannabe
 
NJSwede's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,762
View NJSwede's Gallery1
Thanked 112 Times in 109 Posts
Club: Somerset Signal Senders & GCA
Awards Showcase

2kW  1kW 
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (10)
Default

Flew it with the right battery and CG today. BIIIIIG difference!

AMA #959089
NJSwede is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2011, 02:19 PM   #15
Fishbonez
Love my Stinger
 
Fishbonez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 2,272
Thanked 109 Times in 108 Posts
Club: Cheyenne Hill Hoppers
Send a message via AIM to Fishbonez Send a message via Yahoo to Fishbonez
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (17)
Default

SWEET Glad to read that. I have to admit i enjoyed that thread gave me quite the chuckle in a good way of course. I sure would like to see some pics or vid of that plane. I think the A10 is an impressive plane.

Happy flying may your crashes be limited and if they are not limited let them be cool.
Fishbonez is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2011, 05:13 PM   #16
Old Fart
Lost at LAX
 
Old Fart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,169
Thanked 78 Times in 76 Posts
iTrader: (2)
Friends: (6)
Default

Glad it worked out Swede!

Have a buddy of mine with a 42% Giles. Did some damage to the rear of the fuse (crushed several striungers picking the plane up at the wrong place), so needed repairs. He does termite tenting for a living - so had a good supply of those stainless clamps they use to hold the tarps together. We probably used a dozen of them to hold stuff in place while the thick CA was setting (my Dachshund could walk in the tail of a 42%)

You guessed it - forgot about the clamps. Plane hovered FANTASTIC with all that weight in the tail - but was "rather interesting" to fly. Managed to land it ok - but I think he had to throw some of his clothing out afterwards. I was helpful of course - told him I had 1st dibs on the RX and DA150 ......

Jeff/LAX
(don't panic - I don't land the planes)
(but I've been known to lie.....)
Old Fart is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2011, 07:17 PM   #17
rc roller
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default Where is the magic CG spot for Dynam A-10 1080 mm ?

Hello

just flew my first two flights and the instructions have the CG way too nose heavy found myself full trim up and still having to pull back to keep it in the sky. Then I tried the CGat the wire crossing and although I was still having to give it some up trim it flew like it was a little tail heavy? Has anyone found the magic spot for CG on this plane?

thanks for the help

rc roller

Pics
first pic is for you fishbonz
you can see how much up trim was needed with CG
battery place ment to make CG at wire under wing
and a hole cut out of window and foam to help cool battery


Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	HPIM1029.jpg
Views:	64
Size:	229.3 KB
ID:	150833
Click image for larger version

Name:	HPIM1037.jpg
Views:	62
Size:	90.4 KB
ID:	150834
Click image for larger version

Name:	HPIM1033.jpg
Views:	66
Size:	115.1 KB
ID:	150835
Click image for larger version

Name:	HPIM1039.jpg
Views:	69
Size:	92.9 KB
ID:	150836
rc roller is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Reply

  WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric R/C Airplanes > Beginners

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help with my transitional strategy.. OUT COME OF TODAYS FLIGHT! Fulanito_uk General Electric Discussions 10 07-25-2009 09:32 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:18 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 WattfFlyer.com
RCU Eflight HQ

Charities we support Select: Yorkie Rescue  ::  Crohn's & Colitis Foundation



Page generated in 0.43403 seconds with 57 queries