Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > R/C Electric Topics - General > RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Thank you for your support (hide ads)

Old 09-28-2011, 04:14 PM   #1
WVrailfan

View WVrailfan's Gallery4
Friends: (0)
Default Range test, every flight?

I am new to RC flying, about three months now. I recently joined a club and noticed that a lot of old timers don't do a range check each flight.

I am using a new Spektrum DX6i. Do I need to range check each plane I fly, every time I fly it, or just at the beginning of a flying session?

Thanks
Jim
Old 09-28-2011, 04:18 PM   #2
rcers
Community Moderator

View rcers's Gallery57
Awards Showcase

WAA-08 Pilot 
Friends: (9)

I do them (usually) only at first flight of an airplane. That tests the "installation" of the receiver and components and should tell you if there is an issue.

So I do it once - per new airplane .

Mike
Old 09-28-2011, 04:28 PM   #3
JetPlaneFlyer
Super Contributor

Awards Showcase

5kW  Outstanding Contributor Award  1kW 
Friends: (8)

Every flight would be way over the top. Once when I maiden a new plane is all I'd do, plus if I changed out the receiver or got a new transmitter, or if the plane had been crashed.

Perhaps these old timers habits were picked up in the very early days of RC when gear was much less reliable? Even so I've been involved in RC since around 1970 and even then I don’t know of anyone who routinely did a range check every flight.

Steve
Old 09-28-2011, 04:35 PM   #4
WVrailfan

View WVrailfan's Gallery4