Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric R/C Airplanes > ParkFlyers
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

ParkFlyers Talk about all backyard and parkflyer aircraft here

Thank you for your support (hide ads)
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-17-2011, 02:04 AM   #1
flying dad
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default park zone corsair build questions

hey everyone...........question for you experienced folks. I built a PZ f4u Corsair using electronics and from Aprentice and a eflite power 15 with a 40 amp esc. I added weight to the back to compensate for the extra weight and it balances out perfectly. Problem is it seems to want to dive constantly and is slow to climb in level flight. Do i just need more elevator? Am I just flying a new plane to slow out of caution? Anyone with simular circustances that could through some advice my way?
flying dad is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 02:08 AM   #2
Fentonflyers
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: St Louis Mo
Posts: 24
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Friends: (1)
Default

Prop? Did you check what amp draw you are getting with current set up. Maybe you need to prop up.
Fentonflyers is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 02:12 AM   #3
flying dad
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

I put a larger 3 blade 10.5x8 off the bf109 I have the same setup in my t28 and that flys like its on rails.
flying dad is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 02:16 AM   #4
flying dad
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

the corsair just seems to fly nose heavy. Im just getting back in to RC after some time and alot has changed. The t28 with the same upgrades fly as it did stock, except a whole lot faster. the corsair just seems a bit slow to loop and climb unless at full throtle turns on a dime when banked
flying dad is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 07:15 AM   #5
JetPlaneFlyer
Super Contributor
 
JetPlaneFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
Posts: 4,375
Thanked 486 Times in 453 Posts
Awards Showcase

5kW  Outstanding Contributor Award  1kW 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (8)
Default

balance the model where the manual indicates. The manual says 62-64mm behind the leading edge of the wing at the wing root.

Being slow to climb would not except in very extreme cases be a sign of nose heaviness. Perhaps you have made the model overweight? When anyone says 'I added a heavier motor and so i added tail weight to balance' I think 'overweight model'. What does it weigh? Is the landing speed unusually high?

Or maybe you just need to fly faster, are you using full throttle?
JetPlaneFlyer is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 03:33 PM   #6
flying dad
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (0)
Default

I am beginning to think, as I expected, that I am being a bit over cautious and flying to slow. I have been flying my T28 for some time now and am more comfotable with the flight characteristics. Made the same modifications i.e. power 15, 40 amp esc , larger prop and 2 oz counter balance, and the plane air craft flys great. I think I just need to be as confident with the Corsair and "kick her in the tail" a bit and increase flying speed. Thanks for the input and I'll keep you posted. If any one has more advice my ears are open. Side note: as I am sure most of you more experienced pilots know, T28 with 15 size motor.....AWESOME
flying dad is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 07:32 PM   #7
xmech2k
Ya got any Beeman's?
 
xmech2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,606
View xmech2k's Gallery21
Thanked 247 Times in 245 Posts
Club: CVMRCC, SEFSD
Awards Showcase

1kW  Outstanding Contributor Award 
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (7)
Default

Have you checked the ESC settings? Some actually need to be set to the full throttle setting. It could cause you to reach full throttle too early, or maybe not at all.
xmech2k is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Reply

  WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric R/C Airplanes > ParkFlyers

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
$100 Scratch Build Contest "Best Looking" poll here hillbillynamedpossum Scratch and Kit Built Aircraft 107 08-26-2013 11:23 PM
Fly Zone Sensei Rx-R guapoman2000 Foamies 8 11-27-2011 09:06 PM
First Electric build questions..... Doclove524 General Electric Discussions 33 09-03-2011 03:04 AM
Park Zone Stinson SR-10 Reliant E-Challenged Foamies 4 01-22-2011 03:09 AM
New to flying, couple of foamie Build Questions Brown7 Beginners 5 12-16-2010 02:01 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:14 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 WattfFlyer.com
RCU Eflight HQ

Charities we support Select: Yorkie Rescue  ::  Crohn's & Colitis Foundation



Page generated in 0.16553 seconds with 31 queries