Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric R/C Airplanes > Beginners
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

Beginners New to e-power flying? Get the low down in here from experienced e-power RC pilots!

Thank you for your support (hide ads)

Old 12-26-2011, 04:48 PM   #1
Langharp

Friends: (0)
Default Sky zone 182 4.2ghz 380 brushed

Fairly new to RCA flying. Bought a 4channel sky zone 182 with a 380 brushed motor and Nimh batt pack. I have a brushless 400 motor and speed controller. I've been doing hobby electronics for 20+ years but never messed w/ planes much. Any advice for converting the 182? Is the stock 380 brushed decent to leave in? Any advice helpful.
Old 12-26-2011, 09:55 PM   #2
Langharp

Question also

Any advice for my first flight with the skyzone ccessna182? Preflight checklist, etc. Will it break into a million bits if I crash it? How do I match the new 400 brushless with the right lipo? What lipo do I need for the 400 motor? Can I run a lipo with the stock 380 brushed? Should I buy a trainer before flying the cessna?
I have never flown, though I am not a 12 year old trying to fly for the first time... i've flown rc helis for years but never a plane.
Old 12-26-2011, 11:56 PM   #3
xmech2k
Ya got any Beeman's?

View xmech2k's Gallery21
Club: CVMRCC, SEFSD
Awards Showcase

1kW  Outstanding Contributor Award 
Friends: (7)

Hi Langharp. Welcome to Wattflyer. I don't have personal experience with this plane, and none with brushed motor planes. There's a sticky around here regarding sizing power systems for your plane. Here it is:

http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=24238