Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > R/C Electric Topics - General > RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Thank you for your support (hide ads)
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-02-2012, 11:20 PM   #1
yorkiepap
Member
 
yorkiepap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: SW Pa.
Posts: 61
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
Club: AMA/LHMAC
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (2)
Default Tx Air/Heli differences.....

Hey guys,
Since I'm a retread into RC again, I'm in the "re-learning" phase of the newer Tx computer radios & have a question as to Mfg. attributes with the Tx designations of "Air" & "Heli".

I recently acquired a JR10X that can be used for plane, heli, & glider. I was wanting to get another as a backup unit for a "just-in-case" for emergency duty if necessary. I see some listed as "Heli" only. Why were they made so that usage for a plane or glider was not possible & IS that the case? Can these be programmed or re-programmed for all 3 as the one I have? I'm new to the computer radios, although being a bit computer saavy, I can't find a reasonable explanation for a computer radio to be limited in such a manner. Could the "Heli" unit be sent to HH's JR Service Center for such re-programming? Thanks for any help & answers...

Denny

* "To Be Old and Wise You Must First Be Young and Stupid." *

* "A mans' word is his honor....without honor, there is nothing." *
yorkiepap is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 11:42 PM   #2
Old Fart
Lost at LAX
 
Old Fart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,169
Thanked 78 Times in 76 Posts
iTrader: (2)
Friends: (6)
Default

Can't speak to the JR 10X, but on the JR9303's it's a matter of the throttle stick having no detents, and some differences in the switch placement and type. I fly all three from my 9303's - and they're both A/S radios

Jeff/LAX
(don't panic - I don't land the planes)
(but I've been known to lie.....)
Old Fart is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 11:58 PM   #3
yorkiepap
Member
 
yorkiepap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: SW Pa.
Posts: 61
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
Club: AMA/LHMAC
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (2)
Default

Hey Jeff,
Thanks for your response. I guess I forgot to mention that, I believe the throttle may be on the right side for helis? Mode 1/Mode 2 configurations. I'd still like to find out if there may be the possibility to have it re-configured. I have a call into HH/JR presently & awaiting a callback. Thanks....

Denny

* "To Be Old and Wise You Must First Be Young and Stupid." *

* "A mans' word is his honor....without honor, there is nothing." *
yorkiepap is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 12:03 AM   #4
Old Fart
Lost at LAX
 
Old Fart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,169
Thanked 78 Times in 76 Posts
iTrader: (2)
Friends: (6)
Default

Same mode as fixed wing, unless you're from the other side of the pond. Throttle is on the same place for Heli's. Now for my bigger sailplanes - that's the flap or crow lever

Jeff/LAX
(don't panic - I don't land the planes)
(but I've been known to lie.....)
Old Fart is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 01:08 AM   #5
yorkiepap
Member
 
yorkiepap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: SW Pa.
Posts: 61
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
Club: AMA/LHMAC
iTrader: (0)
Friends: (2)
Default

Hey Jeff,
Thanks so much for your input. I just got a call back from HH/JR & spoke to the service rep, Lane, who gave me a very comprehensive explanantion of why certain Tx units were mf'd that way. So, my questions are answered & now I can understand what/why the programming functions are set up in a particular configuration. BTW, the "Heli" Tx units(10X) cannot be re-programmed in any manner. Good to know.

Denny

* "To Be Old and Wise You Must First Be Young and Stupid." *

* "A mans' word is his honor....without honor, there is nothing." *
yorkiepap is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Reply

  WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > R/C Electric Topics - General > RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UM Polecat wont stay bound to TX Davethebluessinger Indoor & Micro Electric Planes 1 11-28-2011 04:55 AM
Parkzone 2.4ghz spektrum dsm2 tx: RONALDO_UK Beginners 7 08-16-2011 08:35 AM
Tx & Rx general info please? Red Baron RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros 2 01-07-2011 09:59 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:44 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 WattfFlyer.com
RCU Eflight HQ

Charities we support Select: Yorkie Rescue  ::  Crohn's & Colitis Foundation



Page generated in 0.16137 seconds with 29 queries