Wattflyer RC Network: RC Universe :: RCU Magazine :: RCU Forums :: RCU Classifieds :: RCU User Reviews :: RCU YouTube
Home Who's Online Calendar Today's Posts RealTime Post Spy Mark Forums Read
Go Back   WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight > Electric R/C Airplanes > Indoor & Micro Electric Planes
Register Members List Wattflyer Extras Articles Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Social Groups

Indoor & Micro Electric Planes Talk about indoor & Micro electric powered flight here

Thank you for your support (hide ads)

Old 02-03-2012, 11:50 PM   #1
RMG

Friends: (0)
Default Motor cooling question

Hiya everyone, I am a newbie to the site, and nearly the same with RC planes in general.

I tried to fly about 15 years ago, had a ARF 40 trainer I put together, and promptly wrecked it on every flight.. lol.. it was more epoxy in the end than wood, and I stopped trying.

Recently (after getting an MCX blade as a gift).. I downloaded FMS's free flight simulator, flew about 10 hrs on it, and bought a parkzone UMP51. I have now about 40 flights on it, and crashed it once (broke the vert stab, glued it back on, carbon fiber 1mm rods and tape, now better than new). I LOVE this thing.. just wish the wind would die.. seems every morning on the way to work it's calm, in the afternoon too windy (on lunchbreak), and in the evening I get off at dark and calm again.. so no flight time.

Onto my question though... I am running 1500 Mah batteries, and have about 5. Do I need to let the planes motor cool between batteries, and how long. I do not want to burn it up any quicker than needed, but do like to fly battery after battery. Lastly.. what kind of life can I expect for the little motor in my mustang?

Thanks everyone.

Ray
Old 02-04-2012, 12:22 AM   #2
Sakai's Freedom Flight
aka: "Jim"

Friends: (2)

Originally Posted by RMG View Post